We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajmal

Save Saved
You added Riad Ajmal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Albacete, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful looking riad once inside, room comfortable and clean, nice terrace to relax and unwind, staff friendly and breakfast was lovely and fresh and served to you rather than buffet.

Quite difficult to find and about a 15 min walk to square.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
166
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Riad Ajmal is a tranquil haven amid the madness of the Medina and Marrakech. It has an excellent location inside the medina walls not far from the Bab Doukkala gate Our room was very comfortable - especially the bed. The shower ws always hot and there were towels,robes and slippers provided. (Along with shower gel and hairdryer.) It was lovely and cool in the bedroom away from the heat (the average temperature was 30 whilst we were there). It could be a little noisy; hearing other guests come and go - probably to due to the Riad's layout - but nothing to spoil your stay in any way. The whole Riad was beautifully clean with authentic decoration. The roof top was particularly relaxing and we spent 2 or 3 days just lazing in the sun with a book, fresh coffee and the chirping of birds. Our host Mustapha was very helpful and had organised transfers to and from the Airport - which we highly recommend. He also arranged a trip to Essaouira for us. The 2 maids were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts (served from 8:30 to 10:00am) were fresh and wholesome consisting of fresh fruit juices, yoghurt, fresh fruit, bread, croissants, cheese and fresh coffee (mmmm forgot to ask what was added to the coffee - either cinnamon or cumin?) but very delicious! We also had an evening meal at the Riad which was very reasonably priced - we chose a traditional Tagine of rabbit and vegetables along with Morroccan salad. I would defintely recommend this Riad due the friendly welcome and service and the location.

Room Tip: Our room was last along the corridor at the front and from what I could see of the the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this riad in Feb. We arrived late and booked the airport pick up well worth it as it would have been hard to find otherwise definitely recommend this for 15E. Approaching in the dark the dark quiet narrow streets look a little intimidating especially as on some corners there are small groups of young men. However do not let that put you off they are completely safe and behind the small wooden door is a wonderful tranquil Riad. Mustapha the Manager will give you a map and explain where to go on day one after this explanation we had no problem getting to and from the Riad. The breakfast is simple but plentiful and other food can be ordered if you like we didn't as there are so many lovely places to sit and eat. Do try where the locals go the food is cheap plentiful and delicious otherwise it is English prices!!! Beer is expensive and can be 3 to 4 pounds for a small bottle we found a lovely little bar up on a roof terrace where a small bottle was less than 2 pounds so we often had a couple of drinks here in the evening before heading out to eat. The square is mad no doubt about it and is a full assault on your senses! However if must be experienced. Don't be put off by dark doorways they often lead to amazing terraces and experiences. Back to the Riad it is clean calm and the staff are very friendly. It has a beautiful very top terrace which is glorious spot to relax after wandering through the souks for hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Perfect location to get real insight into Marrakech. Very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful with excursions organized for you.

Breakfast included is a great start to the day.

Coffee on the roof terrace with the mountains in the distance.

Very highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Found this riad through tripadvisor. Lovely riad, well equipped rooms, decent breakfast and perfect location for souks and the square. Rooftop is great in the sun, too cold to jump in the plunge pool. Sound travels from other noisy guests, If you fancy sleeping after 5.30am (first call to prayer) take some earplugs. Otherwise ideal, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in October 2013 at the Riad Ajmal. The GM and staff were very gracious, patient with my questions and went out of their way to make my trip memorable. When a driver canceled the half-day booking due to sickness, the GM took me around to see the sights around the Medina. They gave us tea and food whenever asked and arranged for a Hammam. It was a lifetime bucket list experience, the type I would never find in a larger business hotel or resort chain. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in the evening so used the Riad's transfer service which was worth it as we would never have found it ourselves (and neither would most taxi drivers, based on our later experiences). Mustafa was very welcoming and talked us through all the attractions and suggested itineraries, all accompanied by a refreshing drink of mint tea (the best you will taste in Marrakech!). He is able to arrange guides and excursions if you like. Room very comfy and spacious, though a bit dark if you wanted to read. However we spent most time on the roof terrace when we were there, enjoying the perfect weather and views across the city. Breakfasts were great - fresh bread and pastries, orange juice, coffee, yoghurt etc. I found the wifi a bit intermittent, but other customers found it OK so maybe it was just me. All in all it is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.