We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Ajmal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajmal

Save Saved
You added Riad Ajmal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ajmal
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Riad Ajmal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at riad Ajmal in aug got to marrakech in the morning which is good because the riad is in a maze of alleys and small streets and u have time to explore the area and find your bearings contact the riad and get picked up at the airport and get taken to the riad as u will have trouble finding it yourself .the riad is amazing when u open the door it is an oasis in the madness of marrakech mustapha and the other staff are excellent he could not be more polite and helpful I think u would be hard pressed to find a better place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
165
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First ever visit to Marrakech (and Morocco) so my partner and I had no idea what to expect. The advice on the net said to stay in a Riad for an authentic experience, and in Medina. I can definitely say those pieces of advice were spot on, and that Riad Ajmal met and exceeded every expectation.

Mustafa and his team were welcoming, friendly, helpful and had everything in the Riad prepared exactly as you need it, when you needed it and organised perfectly. Mustafa gives you great advice on what to do and how to get everywhere and can organise any activities for you.

The rooms were distinctive, unique, large and comfortable. Free, fast wifi everywhere in the Riad tops of the deal - the only improvement I could suggest would be better lighting as they were very dark.

The Riad itself was multi-leveled with a fantastic rooftop terrace and comfortable lounge area. Breakfast in the courtyard every morning with the orange trees was a fabulous way to start the day.

A couple of tips:

Have a home cooked meal at least one night - lovely food and it was great to meet fellow travellers!

Add to the unique experience and organise a hammam, which will take place in a small room/spa up on the rooftop and follow it up with a massage in your room.

Also I would highly recommend getting a transfer organised as it is difficult to find down dark narrow alley ways the first time you arrive (easy once you know where it is). The transfer driver can only drop you off so far and there are guys there with trolleys to help you to your Riad. They obviously expect to be paid for their service, however don't give them 100 dirhams each like they ask for (there is always two of them per trolley)... 20 each is enough however if you don't have any small denominations then 100 between them is MORE than enough.

My partner and I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

When we got out of the taxi from the airport and then were taken for what seemed an interminable trek through a maze of alleys we wondered where on earth we were being taken. But once you have got your bearings it is really quite easy to find your way in and out of the Riad Ajmal. We were greeted by Mustapha with mint tea and pastries, and he showed us where to visit on our short stay. Our room was fairly basic but fulfilled our needs for our stay. We had dinner in the Riad on the first night and it was good home cooked chicken tagine - very tasty! dinner and breakfast are served in the courtyard under the orange trees and by the plunge pool. It is so peaceful and quiet you find yourself whispering to each other so as you do not disturb anyone! There is a very nice roof terrace with different areas on different levels so that you can relax after a busy day in the souks. We also had the hammam treatment - very refreshing!

All in all there may be smarter places to stay in Marrakech, but if you want to get a true taste of Morocco I would recommend that you stay here. Everybody made you feel very welcome and nothing was too mucj trouble. Thank you Mustapha and your team for making it a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, NV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful 5-night stay at the Riad Ajmal the last week of March. Mustafa and his staff were so friendly and helpful. My friend and I were a little flaky about some of the side trips we wanted to take, changing our mind a few times at the last minute. Mustafa's response: "Of course". He even drove us himself to a rug store outside of Marrakesh and to our next hotel near the Cascades d'Ouzoud. The hotel is beautiful, tucked away in a non-descript alley. Our room was quaint and comfortable. The staff waited on us as we needed. We ate at the hotel two nights and Muna cooked us delicious local cuisine. The location was perfect - we were a few blocks from the souk and 10 minutes from the main square. I would highly recommend Riad Ajmal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Mustafa and his team are the most extraordinary hosts and made us stay memorable. We spent 4 nights here and highly recommend it. The beds were very comfortable, the room and general decor perfect and the place was spotless. A real oasis that you can't wait to return to after hours walking around the medina. You can't go wrong with this riad.

Room Tip: We had the largest room just above the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We staied in this Riad vor two nights. It is a beautiful Riad, with orange treas growing in the middle. It also has a nice hammam.
It is a very nice place to escape the loud and sometimes stressful Marrakesh. The Room we had was big and lovely decorated.
The owner and staff that work there are very friendly and helpful.

We highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay in the Medina and enjoy a riad, Ajmal is definitely a good choice. But next time I would think twice before booking something in the Media. The place is not safe at all and peple were following us everytime we came back at the riad during the night.

Next time,I would probabely chose to live in Gueliz and come to the medina to visit during the day. It s gonna be much more safer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.