We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ajmal to your Saves list
Riad Ajmal
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Perfect place to stay to visit Marrakech.

The Riad only has 5 rooms however this ensures a personal touch.

Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is fantastic (especially the coffee!).

All the sights are within walking distance of the riad.The Riad is a 20 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna square therefore away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The rooftop terrace is very peaceful and quiet.

Mustafa (the manager) recommended several restaurants - all of them were fantastic

Definitely recommend that you arrange for a pickup from the airport - it would have been impossible to find down the little streets especially as we arrived at night (street names are not commonplace throughout the whole of Marrakech!)

Excursions are offered through the riad but we found them expensive compared to those offered around the Djemaa el Fna square (we took daytrips to Ourika valley and Ouzoud waterfall with Safari Excursions who were very good). Admittedly the riad excursions are with your own personal tour guide and minibus and the outside ones are in larger groups so it depends really what you are looking for.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
169
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we made most welcome. The mint tea and pastries when we checked in were deliciously refreshing and "just what the doctor ordered" Dinner on the first night was just as good as others have described as were the breakfasts with the crepes. The peace and quiet of the Riad after the hustle and bustle of the souks was very wlecome as was its free wi fi access especially when others charge for this basic service. Its location made getting to the sights easy but at night, apart from the call to prayer at regular intervals, it was a haven of peace. We both had the Hammam and the massage and felt so much better for it even if it was a shock to a novice's system. We were alowed to keep our room right up to the time our taxi arrived - no throwing you out after breakfast. We cannot recommend this Riad too highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Riad Ajmal was the perfect place to stay - close to the centre of the action, but in a peaceful back street. As other reviewers have commented, you arrive via the hurly burly of the medina through a small door into an oasis of calm. (Do arrange a transfer from the airport, to make finding the riad easier!) We received a very warm welcome from Moustapha, who over mint tea and almond pastries helped us plan how to make the most of our very short stay. He arranged a guide for us to take us round Marrakesh; a trip to the waterfalls at Ouzoud in the Atlas Mountains (the second highest in Africa); a booking at a stylish restaurant; and we still had time to wander around this amazing city, take a hamman at the riad (great - thank you!), and just chill on the roof terrace in the sunshine. Although we enjoyed the meal we had at the restaurant (to which Moustapha kindly guided us and from which he collected us!), we would thoroughly recommend eating at the riad. Fatima's cooking is wonderful and we are missing it already! All in all, a great stay. Thank you so much to Moustapha and his fantastic team for making it so special. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is small, well situated, very quiet and comfortable riad.

We have arranged our pick up at the train station via riad. Riad manager himself came to pick up us. He was present at the riad permanently and very helpful.

This riad has only few rooms so there was calm and qiet atmosphere all the time. In addition, riad is situated in the very quiet part of medina. On the other hand, everything from the riad is reacheable within a walking distance. You can reach Jemaa El Fna in 15 minutes, and we managed it in 30 minutes to get to Jardin Marorelle for expamle (which is the opposite direction).

Our apartment was consisting of two rooms, Apartment was very clean, with very comfortable bed and very nice bathroom (check out the photos). Riad has terraced roof, where you can have a rest, sunbath or have a party at the evening.

Hotel has a small pool, whis is looking more like big bath. But even big bath is more than nothing ;-)

Breakfast were nice, consisting of variety of breads, butter, jam, and pancakes.

There were no deficiencies regarding the hotel. I plan to go to Marrakech in two months and will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a few days. Amongst all the craziness and noise of Marrakech this was a welcome oasis of calm. It can be a little tricky to find at first, but once you get it down its quite easy, especially at night when its pitch black. Its also very close to the souk. What made it really special was the helpfulness of the manager, Moustapha who arranged for anything that we needed in terms of guides, drivers, airport pickup, etc. He also made our breakfast every morning, and the french press coffee was always perfect. In short, he took care of our every need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Beautiful Riad, friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast, large rooms, comfortable roof terras! A real pleasure to stay here and good location to discover Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This riad is the real deal. It's so close to the heart of things in Marrakech: the souks, jardins, ville nouvelle, etc.

The staff is very friendly and kind. Case in point: when my friend and I arrived, we didn't have enough money to tip the locals who guided our way to Riad Ajmal. Marie, the riad owner, came to the rescue and loaned us some money.

The house manager, Mustafa, is a very kind local with much knowledge about Morocco, Marrakech, culture, history, etc. Plus, his breakfasts are amazing.

Clean, friendly, great location, a must-stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.