We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet and Peaceful Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajmal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ajmal to your Saves list
Riad Ajmal
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Quiet and Peaceful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a few days. Amongst all the craziness and noise of Marrakech this was a welcome oasis of calm. It can be a little tricky to find at first, but once you get it down its quite easy, especially at night when its pitch black. Its also very close to the souk. What made it really special was the helpfulness of the manager, Moustapha who arranged for anything that we needed in terms of guides, drivers, airport pickup, etc. He also made our breakfast every morning, and the french press coffee was always perfect. In short, he took care of our every need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
169
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Beautiful Riad, friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast, large rooms, comfortable roof terras! A real pleasure to stay here and good location to discover Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This riad is the real deal. It's so close to the heart of things in Marrakech: the souks, jardins, ville nouvelle, etc.

The staff is very friendly and kind. Case in point: when my friend and I arrived, we didn't have enough money to tip the locals who guided our way to Riad Ajmal. Marie, the riad owner, came to the rescue and loaned us some money.

The house manager, Mustafa, is a very kind local with much knowledge about Morocco, Marrakech, culture, history, etc. Plus, his breakfasts are amazing.

Clean, friendly, great location, a must-stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

A friend and I traveled to Marrakech in mid May during a trip to Spain and we completely enjoyed our stay at Riad Ajmal. The owners greeted us warmly upon our arrival and provided us with water and pastries before showing us to our room. The room had a beautiful view of the courtyard! It amazing me that you are so close to the medina but I had no problem sleeping, you couldn't hear a thing! We had breakfast every morning at whatever time we specified which was of course great, a perfect way to start the day. The riad manager, Mustafa, is the key person here. He was so nice and willing to answer our questions or suggest places to visit...he even offered to help us find quality Argan Oil. I would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech wanting to stay at an affordable place that has an extremely friendly staff. Loved my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

In May 2011we decided to spend a week in Marrakech and were expecting a week of glorious blue skies and sun. Unfortunately the weather was very unseasonal and rather wet. Riad Ajmal was not, however, a disappointment. We were met at the airport and driven back to the Medina where we had to walk the last hundred yards or so along very small,narrow streets to the Riad. We stepped through a lowered door into an oasis of calm. We were met at the Riad by Mostaffa with a pot of wonderful mint tea and a plate of pastries. After a chat we were shown to our room which was lovely. We had a sitting area, a bed area and a shower room. The sitting area had windows looking over the court yard.There was plenty of space for us and our luggage. Each morning we had a great breakfast (at a time to suit us) in the courtyard; moving under cover when it rained! We chose to eat at the Riad on three evenings and these meals were some of the best food that we had in Marrakech. We were made very welcome by everyone at the Riad and it was in a great location for exploring the Medina. I would have no trouble in recommending the Riad Ajmal for reasonably priced accommodation in Marrakech. It was certainly far more preferable that staying in a "modern hotel" in the French area. We felt that we got to see the real Marrackech and despite the weather really enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Riad ajmal achieves everything as described on the homepage. The owner couple and their staff are very cooperative, friendly and always good-humored. The ambiance is very familial and quiet. The Riad is near (if you don't get lost in the souks...) to most of the attractions in the medina. Taxi station Dar el Bacha is only a few minutes from the Riad. In the neighbourhood are serveral small shops you can buy fruits, bred, water, coke and whatever you need. We will come back to Riad Ajmal, that's no question.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

It was a nice stay in riad ajmal. We also went to the Hamman with the help of the very friendly staff. The went first shopping with us for badcloths and soap, was really nice. the riad has a terrific roofterrace and Marie is a superb host. You can also have dinner there, the most lovely tajine i had in Marocco! And also free and good wifi! Just one minor point, the beds are a little hard.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajmal

Address: 75 Arset Aouzal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ajmal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ajmal - an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the buzzing city. We are here to do all we can to make sure you enjoy an excellent stay. Located in one of the most pleasant neighborhoods in the Medina of Marrakech, in Bab Doukkala, the riad is particularly well situated, within close distance of the Pacha Palace, the road of the antiquaries, and only a few minutes walk from the traditional market and the Jemma-el-Fna Square.Once the home of nobles, the riad has been entirely renovated in 2006, in the spirit of its rich tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Ajmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.