We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Amira et SPA

Save Saved
You added Villa Amira et SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Amira et SPA
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78, rue Sakia El Hamra, Semlalia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #497 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Villa Amira for a long weekend with my mum. The decor was beautiful - authentic Morrocan throughout. Rooms were clean, although our room was right next to a noisy road so we couldn't sleep with the windows open - was therefore grateful for the aircon! The rooms toward the back and pool area were not affected by the road noise. Breakfast was pretty standard; just fruit and bread with jam, a boiled egg and a yoghurt. We didn't have dinner there as we heard from another guest it wasn't very good.. The pool area was pretty but lots of shaded areas - the sun disappears completely at around 4pm so the roof terrace comes in handy if you want to continue sunbathing. If you are a cat lover (like me) there's plenty of friendly felines, and also 3 tortoises! Most of the staff were lovely, bar one lady on our arrival who was very rude, and rude again the following morning, chosing to ignore us twice when we needed help with the safe in our room, opting to do the washing up instead! And was quite aggressive when she spoke. (the safe didn't work throughout the entirety of our visit) Thankfully we didn't see her again! The owner was very nice however, and so were the rest of the staff. Service is quite slow, for example we asked for a peice of fruit and after 45mins waiting and then having to chase it up we finally got it! Also when we asked for a sandwich at lunch time we was told we had to wait for them to finish cleaning the rooms and would be a couple of hours, so we ended up going out for lunch. Other than that we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fab place, great value for the money and just lovely.
Marrakech was a first for my friend and i. The lovely small , beautifully designed hotel made it a great start when we arrived. Room was clean and spacious enough for us. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They all spoke English( some more than others, but that did not matter) .
The pool area was blissful and clean. Great place to relax. We found the roof top terrace which was lovely and peaceful, The atmosphere of the whole place was relaxing. Food was great, ( loved the breakfast)
Paola was helpful with where to go etc and happy to arrange Taxis for us ( as were the other staff)

Would definitely return for longer next time... .

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms over looking the pool are quieter, We had the room by the front door, no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel lobby was very pretty, the room was comfortable, and the owner, Paula was helpful in advising us about local attractions and restaurants.
However, I only gave the hotel a rating of two due to several disappointments we faced while there. Firstly, we arrived with several perishable items, and Paula advised that there was no way to have them refrigerated. She wanted to charge us for a small bag of ice. The items were vital for us, and luckily her kitchen staff had no problem refrigerating them. Additionally, while the room was comfortable and well furnished, albeit slightly run down, we did notice a dead roach on the floor. Upon departure, we wanted to pay our balance using a credit card, but Paula informed us that she only accepts cash and incidentally her credit card machine just broke. We didn't have cash on us, and being that we booked via Expedia we were never informed of the no cash rule. After twenty minutes of telling her that we had no access to such a large amount of cash, she tried her credit card machine again and it worked.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the building will hear traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Highly recommending, great hotel - great value for money!
Nice - Riad (like boutique) hotel. Design is stunning, purely Moroccan style. Hotel is small, not crowded at all which means you have more space and spend your time at the pool or on the roof in pleasant quietness. Room was nice and clean with balcony, my friends got nice room too (different style).
Hotel is 35 - 40 minute walk from Medina. Waitresses/cleaners don't speak english, only french, so please make sure you have Google translator on your phone (helps a lot). As i bought 2 nights in this hotel through Moroccan groupon i got massage for free, which was really great and relaxing! As well as you can get there good manicure and pedicure, as i did.

If you are looking for more tourist orientated hotel with 5 stars (big pool, buffet breakfast/dinner) go for Les Jardins De`l Agdal, as we have done on our last night in Morocco to spend a bit of time at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at the Villa Amira Et Spa 14th to 17th February 2014. Welcomed by the owner Paola and excellent staff, enjoyed and celebrated my birthday in wonderful Marrakech. Rooms are lovely and well fitted, pool area excellent just a little too cold for me to enter the pool. Breakfast selection boiled eggs, bread, jam, honey and butter, yogurt, fruit tea and coffee. We has a steam, scrub and massage which was excellent. We would highly recommend the Amira for relaxation and pampering.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We took a well-needed trip away from the floods of the Somerset levels 8 -15 Feb.
I must admit, we initially chose Villa Amira as there was a Groupon offer at a substantially lower price and Easyjet has just started flying to Marrakech from Bristol airport. However - Villa Amira was everything it said on the tin and was perfect for us.
It is a longish walk (35 - 40 mins) to the walls of the Medina and so, a lot more walking once you get into the centre of the old town, but taxis are cheap, even when you feel you might have been done! They varied in price from 25MAD day time to 50 at night, but when you are talking about £2 - 4 then that's really not so bad.
We had fantastic weather of 23 - 27C which was just about perfect during the day for wandering the souks without getting heat exhaustion and Villa Amira proved a haven of peace away from the noise, bustle and hassle of the city. I can imagine that it would be even more so in the heat of the summer.
Our room was lovely. It was airy, had a staggeringly comfortable bed, beautiful copper washbasins and plenty of hot water, though the shower head power and position left a bit to be desired. Within our Groupon package we had breakfast - pancakes, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit and yoghurt - setting us up well for the day.
A wonderful 40 massage was also included and one full moroccan evening meal with two types of meat tagine, couscous, salads and all the works. So much food, but it was freshly cooked and as good as I think you could have got anywhere.
We did sample street food in the night market and we can recommend it. It too is tasty, freshly cooked and served boiling hot and is stupidly cheap! It's an experience that is well worth it if you can stand the hassle from all the stalls trying to vie for your custom and the night market is just so exciting.
All in all, we had a wonderful time experiencing Marrakech in all its glory and even with the low points of being constantly hassled! If you like to make eye contact and chat and don't like bargaining or hassle, then maybe Marrakech isn't for you. To do both lays you open to being led down alleys and taken to places that you are quite able to find on your own and of being asked for money for the priviledge - it's OK once, but after a bit it just becomes tiring. Still, made the return to the peace within the carved double doors of the Villa even more welcome.
Downside to the Villa? Paola was really lovely and helpful with places to visit, but her suggestions of places to eat were very up-market and expensive and way beyond our budget. Also, as she was out of the building when we came to pay extras on our bill, the staff said they could not take cards despite the fact that the machine was just inside Paola's office door. We had to pay with Euros and the rate was 1euro - 10 MAD which is pretty appalling.
I can however, recommend Villa Amira unreservedly. It was beautiful, relaxing and just what we needed!
PS beware the pool in February - so cold I thought I was having a heart attack, but did feel tingly afterwards!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Villa Amira is to be recommended. Although it is a bit of a walk out of the main centre (about 30/40 mins), its close to nice restaurants and shops of the Gueliz area. The breakfast is simple but enough to get you started and the evening meals are worth staying in for. Paola, the owner is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the best places to go, the things to see, the Red Bus trip (a good way to see the city and to get around once you have a 24hr ticket). The staff are very warm and friendly - and little bit of French goes a long way! We had a hammam (wash, steam and scrub!) and a good massage there as part of our deal. The experience was marred somewhat by the luke warm water - but we did go in January! - so a warmer experience would have been nicer. I'm sure the same thing later in the year would be great! It is worth just emailing Paola just before you leave to confirm their taxi to pick you up from the airport, otherwise you can get stung at the airport taxi rank. Be prepared to haggle - 100-150 MAD should be what you aim at. Taxis from the medina to the Villa are 25 MAD local prices. Tell them this is what you know it costs and what you're prepared to pay and you're more likely to get it for that price - that's Paola's advice and it works!

Room Tip: Some reviews talk about noise over looking the street, but we didn't notice it that much. It ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Amira et SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amira et SPA

Address: 78, rue Sakia El Hamra, Semlalia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Amira et SPA 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Amira et SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Amira Et Spa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Amira et SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.