We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, authentic and relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Amira et SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Amira et SPA to your Saves list
Villa Amira et SPA
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   78, rue Sakia El Hamra, Semlalia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #507 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, authentic and relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Highly recommending, great hotel - great value for money!
Nice - Riad (like boutique) hotel. Design is stunning, purely Moroccan style. Hotel is small, not crowded at all which means you have more space and spend your time at the pool or on the roof in pleasant quietness. Room was nice and clean with balcony, my friends got nice room too (different style).
Hotel is 35 - 40 minute walk from Medina. Waitresses/cleaners don't speak english, only french, so please make sure you have Google translator on your phone (helps a lot). As i bought 2 nights in this hotel through Moroccan groupon i got massage for free, which was really great and relaxing! As well as you can get there good manicure and pedicure, as i did.

If you are looking for more tourist orientated hotel with 5 stars (big pool, buffet breakfast/dinner) go for Les Jardins De`l Agdal, as we have done on our last night in Morocco to spend a bit of time at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at the Villa Amira Et Spa 14th to 17th February 2014. Welcomed by the owner Paola and excellent staff, enjoyed and celebrated my birthday in wonderful Marrakech. Rooms are lovely and well fitted, pool area excellent just a little too cold for me to enter the pool. Breakfast selection boiled eggs, bread, jam, honey and butter, yogurt, fruit tea and coffee. We has a steam, scrub and massage which was excellent. We would highly recommend the Amira for relaxation and pampering.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We took a well-needed trip away from the floods of the Somerset levels 8 -15 Feb.
I must admit, we initially chose Villa Amira as there was a Groupon offer at a substantially lower price and Easyjet has just started flying to Marrakech from Bristol airport. However - Villa Amira was everything it said on the tin and was perfect for us.
It is a longish walk (35 - 40 mins) to the walls of the Medina and so, a lot more walking once you get into the centre of the old town, but taxis are cheap, even when you feel you might have been done! They varied in price from 25MAD day time to 50 at night, but when you are talking about £2 - 4 then that's really not so bad.
We had fantastic weather of 23 - 27C which was just about perfect during the day for wandering the souks without getting heat exhaustion and Villa Amira proved a haven of peace away from the noise, bustle and hassle of the city. I can imagine that it would be even more so in the heat of the summer.
Our room was lovely. It was airy, had a staggeringly comfortable bed, beautiful copper washbasins and plenty of hot water, though the shower head power and position left a bit to be desired. Within our Groupon package we had breakfast - pancakes, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit and yoghurt - setting us up well for the day.
A wonderful 40 massage was also included and one full moroccan evening meal with two types of meat tagine, couscous, salads and all the works. So much food, but it was freshly cooked and as good as I think you could have got anywhere.
We did sample street food in the night market and we can recommend it. It too is tasty, freshly cooked and served boiling hot and is stupidly cheap! It's an experience that is well worth it if you can stand the hassle from all the stalls trying to vie for your custom and the night market is just so exciting.
All in all, we had a wonderful time experiencing Marrakech in all its glory and even with the low points of being constantly hassled! If you like to make eye contact and chat and don't like bargaining or hassle, then maybe Marrakech isn't for you. To do both lays you open to being led down alleys and taken to places that you are quite able to find on your own and of being asked for money for the priviledge - it's OK once, but after a bit it just becomes tiring. Still, made the return to the peace within the carved double doors of the Villa even more welcome.
Downside to the Villa? Paola was really lovely and helpful with places to visit, but her suggestions of places to eat were very up-market and expensive and way beyond our budget. Also, as she was out of the building when we came to pay extras on our bill, the staff said they could not take cards despite the fact that the machine was just inside Paola's office door. We had to pay with Euros and the rate was 1euro - 10 MAD which is pretty appalling.
I can however, recommend Villa Amira unreservedly. It was beautiful, relaxing and just what we needed!
PS beware the pool in February - so cold I thought I was having a heart attack, but did feel tingly afterwards!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Villa Amira is to be recommended. Although it is a bit of a walk out of the main centre (about 30/40 mins), its close to nice restaurants and shops of the Gueliz area. The breakfast is simple but enough to get you started and the evening meals are worth staying in for. Paola, the owner is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the best places to go, the things to see, the Red Bus trip (a good way to see the city and to get around once you have a 24hr ticket). The staff are very warm and friendly - and little bit of French goes a long way! We had a hammam (wash, steam and scrub!) and a good massage there as part of our deal. The experience was marred somewhat by the luke warm water - but we did go in January! - so a warmer experience would have been nicer. I'm sure the same thing later in the year would be great! It is worth just emailing Paola just before you leave to confirm their taxi to pick you up from the airport, otherwise you can get stung at the airport taxi rank. Be prepared to haggle - 100-150 MAD should be what you aim at. Taxis from the medina to the Villa are 25 MAD local prices. Tell them this is what you know it costs and what you're prepared to pay and you're more likely to get it for that price - that's Paola's advice and it works!

Room Tip: Some reviews talk about noise over looking the street, but we didn't notice it that much. It ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was all that we could have expected. Such a lovely place with such lovely staff. It was the perfect stay for a perfect travel! I recommend this hotel, and me and my friend would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The villa amira presented a tranquil escape from the busy medina and although there were many positives, it could certainly be improved. The decor was quite nice, essentially in the style of a traditional riad accommodation outside the centre and is therefore run in a similar way. The downstairs part and the pool are certainly very pretty. We arrived later on in the day and were met by a lady who was pleasant but could only speak little English. We filled in the tourist forms and were shown to our rooms without much further information. It was only the 2nd afternoon after a day of sightseeing that we met the owner who is very welcoming and helpful but often not present. The rest of the staff are lovely but speak little English so it can be difficult unless you know some French. The room was the main disappointment which feels a little rickety. The heater didn't really work to warm the room so it was often cold. The shower was a pain as temperature not stable and had to be held up. The food and massage were better than expected. Do be aware if you have a group on voucher which says dinner and breakfast included as we were only allowed one dinner - certainly not clear. Location isn't great if you plan to walk around, especially when it's hot but can use taxis quite cheap. On the whole, for the price, this isn't bad but certainly not a luxury stay. With a few changes e.g. English speaking contact always available and updated rooms, this could compare to the nicer riads in the medina.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

As a twenty-something female who was traveling to Marrakech alone, I researched a lot of hotels and riad's and decided that staying in the newer part of town might be safer. I found the Villa Amira and read you had to take taxi's but it was worth it.
Yes, you do have to take taxi's, but they are so cheap and the Villa Amira definitely made it worth it! The women who work there were so welcoming (they all spoke english and french) and when I asked one employee about taking the bus to go to the Jardin Majorelle, she took it with me! I got a hamman and a message in the spa and was really impressed by the service and the price. Breakfast came included and was a traditional Moroccan breakfast (and delicious!) The hotel has wifi and the room had heaters, which surprisingly I needed to use a few nights during late December. I never write reviews, but I was so happy with this place and thought I'd put in a good word. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, this might be a nice thing to request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Amira et SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amira et SPA

Address: 78, rue Sakia El Hamra, Semlalia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Amira et SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Amira et SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Amira Et Spa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Amira et SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.