We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A interesting dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Hivernage

La Villa Hivernage
Angle Avenue Jnane El Harti et rue Qsar El Kebir | face Hotel kenzi farah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
(0)664 34 33 56
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #95 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A interesting dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The night we visited this restaurant it was full to the rafters with a large French party. We were lucky enough to order our meal before they arrived. My partner ordered a beef tagine and I a tenderloin steak which was cooked to perfection. Unfortunately the beef tagine was a little chewy for my partners liking. The maitre'd acted promptly and offered us desserts on the house.
My overall experience of the restaurant was quite positive, beautiful surrounding, attentive waiting staff but unfortunately not a wide selection of affordable wines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    31
    16
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We actually visited this restaurant twice during our 8 days in Marrakech. Great ambience. great food and fab music. Staff was attentive in a discreet way like someone else mentioned. Unbelievable that there were only two other tables seated besides ours....perhaps due to it being low season. The lounge music they played and the interior made a big impact on the ambience...well we loved it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A large group of us visited this beautiful restaurant last Saturday and had a wonderful evening. The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. Surprisingly there were no other guests and we were all at a huge table in the centre of the room. When we arrived there was no cover to the roof and it was lovely. As the evening wore on the awning was lowered. There was a great atmosphere and we cannot fault this super restaurant and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice Morrocan food in good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the Hivernage hotel so on few days dined in their resturant. the Morroccan cuisine is very good. their Tajine was better than what we had in most of the places in Morrocco. (in 8 days which had 16 meals, we had Tajine about 8-9 times and at 5-6 different places. This I would rank in top 2.)
Also they have a fantastic ice cream and dessert bar just adjacent to the resturant. On the 7th floor of the hotel is a terrace bar which is also fantastic in its ambience and the variety and quality of drinks.
the waiters and waitresses are very friendly. I wish some of them understood English. But who ever does not understand does a very sincere attempt to understand the customer and/or call another waiter or the floor manager. Their are lots of places in Italy and spain where they would not even bother. This was much different.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentonville AR
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“French Dining Treat in Open air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This restaurant is on a small side street close to all the major western hotels. It is in an open air villa that is perfect for a romantic dinner, or special occasion. Not cheap but the food was 1st class served by discrete and polite staff.

Decent wine list, and white table cloths made it our best meal by far.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Hivernage also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Villa Hivernage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Hivernage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.