We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Morrocan food in good ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Hivernage

La Villa Hivernage
Angle Avenue Jnane El Harti et rue Qsar El Kebir | face Hotel kenzi farah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
(0)664 34 33 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice Morrocan food in good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the Hivernage hotel so on few days dined in their resturant. the Morroccan cuisine is very good. their Tajine was better than what we had in most of the places in Morrocco. (in 8 days which had 16 meals, we had Tajine about 8-9 times and at 5-6 different places. This I would rank in top 2.)
Also they have a fantastic ice cream and dessert bar just adjacent to the resturant. On the 7th floor of the hotel is a terrace bar which is also fantastic in its ambience and the variety and quality of drinks.
the waiters and waitresses are very friendly. I wish some of them understood English. But who ever does not understand does a very sincere attempt to understand the customer and/or call another waiter or the floor manager. Their are lots of places in Italy and spain where they would not even bother. This was much different.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bentonville AR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“French Dining Treat in Open air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This restaurant is on a small side street close to all the major western hotels. It is in an open air villa that is perfect for a romantic dinner, or special occasion. Not cheap but the food was 1st class served by discrete and polite staff.

Decent wine list, and white table cloths made it our best meal by far.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice place, smiling staff but expensive and poor plates. First bottle of wine about 40 usd !!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I've eaten here three timess.

Each dinner we've had Pastilla. It varied in quality each time, from passable to really excellcent, one of the best. The artichoke dishes are very good.

Tonight my daughter had the camel shoulder and pronounced it excellent. I choked down a bite while trying not to think what it was, and it really is good.

The cocktails are sub par. The barmen try hard. Your drink will most likely only bare a passing resemblance to whatever you ordered, compared to London or SF, but it might be good. The wine list has some great Morrocan wines and the prices for Volubilis, for example are reasonably good.

The atmosphere is really great. The roof opens above the dining area and suddenly you're eating under the stars.

Pricey by Moroccan standards, but not by those of a major european city. Our bill for two was 560 MAD, but we went easy on the alcohol and just had two coctails (me) and a milk (her).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow fantastic food and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a lovely place and food is excellent and not too expensive. Had such a lovely meal. Would certainly recommend it to anyone with good taste. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Hivernage also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Villa Hivernage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Hivernage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.