We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Dining Treat in Open air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Hivernage - CLOSED

La Villa Hivernage
Angle Avenue Jnane El Harti et rue Qsar El Kebir | face Hotel kenzi farah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
(0)664 34 33 56
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean, Moroccan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
bentonville AR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“French Dining Treat in Open air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This restaurant is on a small side street close to all the major western hotels. It is in an open air villa that is perfect for a romantic dinner, or special occasion. Not cheap but the food was 1st class served by discrete and polite staff.

Decent wine list, and white table cloths made it our best meal by far.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice place, smiling staff but expensive and poor plates. First bottle of wine about 40 usd !!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten here three timess.

Each dinner we've had Pastilla. It varied in quality each time, from passable to really excellcent, one of the best. The artichoke dishes are very good.

Tonight my daughter had the camel shoulder and pronounced it excellent. I choked down a bite while trying not to think what it was, and it really is good.

The cocktails are sub par. The barmen try hard. Your drink will most likely only bare a passing resemblance to whatever you ordered, compared to London or SF, but it might be good. The wine list has some great Morrocan wines and the prices for Volubilis, for example are reasonably good.

The atmosphere is really great. The roof opens above the dining area and suddenly you're eating under the stars.

Pricey by Moroccan standards, but not by those of a major european city. Our bill for two was 560 MAD, but we went easy on the alcohol and just had two coctails (me) and a milk (her).

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow fantastic food and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a lovely place and food is excellent and not too expensive. Had such a lovely meal. Would certainly recommend it to anyone with good taste. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good at used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Third time we go to this restaurant that used to be really great (French cuisine) in 2 years but for the very first time we were a bit disappointed. Food still okay but not as fine as before. And a strange feeling ; atmosphere not as chic and cosy as it used to be.. as if the whole place weren't the same anymore. And Chef Didier Beckaert didn t show up as he always did... Will go again next time we are in Marrakech. Maybe was it just back luck.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Hivernage also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Hivernage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.