We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don’t think I will go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Framissima les Idrissides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Framissima les Idrissides to your Saves list
Hotel Framissima les Idrissides
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   av. Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I don’t think I will go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

So we booked into this hotel after staying two nights in a riad. Overall once arrived at the hotel. We liked the décor and cleanliness. However, was disappointed that the majority of the staff were unable to communicate in English. As a result we missed out on day trip to Casablanca and other excursions. Also found some staff to be rude-when they couldn’t help us with our needs (due to language barrier) they became quite agitated and moved on to speak to guests who spoke French. However, when approached manager to complain about the attitude of a staff member –he was unable to help and sided with staff member. On a brighter note-room was clean and big. Some facilities in the bathroom didn’t work like the hairdryer. Nice little sweets left everyday by the cleaner on the bed. Very nice indoor pool and spa. However, this was over shadowed by the lack of English spoken by the staff and the bad attitude of some staff members. This hotel should be a 3 star than a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    227
    95
    80
    38
See reviews for
170
192
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I honestly don't know if the people who've reviewed this hotel actually stayed there, as it was fab. We are a young couple, 20 and 21, who booked this hotel as first time travellers to Morocco as we wanted a larger, more European hotel as opposed to a local Riad. We had read many a horror story about both Morocco and Les Idrissides, things such as unmarried couples not being allowed to share a room (false!), the hotel being 'a French Butlins' (also untrue), and about women having to dress exceedingly conservatively, also false (it's respectful when in the Medina but the Western town is not so bothered, shorts are fine, just wear a sensible top etc!)

Anyway, the hotel: I believe that the 4* rating is down to the facilities and staff, not particularly the rooms. Our room was clean but basic, it had lots of Moroccan quirks such as a lovely lantern, nice arched doorways etc, it had a separate en suite which was fully functional and clean (with a 'Western' toilet, none of this hole in the ground rubbish) and a massive, comfy (but firm) bed as well as a lovely window seat. There's other basics such as a desk, but the room did feel a little un-finished perhaps, or a little empty but was clean and pleasant nonetheless. The cleaners were great and changed the towels, made the bed and mopped the bathroom floors every day, they were also lovely. There is good WiFi in the main reception, as well as a TV and comfortable chairs to lounge around on. Breakfast is also great, with a fairly big selection of both hot and continental food such as pastries, cereal, fresh fruit and fruit juices etc.
In terms of the location of the hotel: it is NOT in a poor location, we got a shuttle to our camel ride (mega tourists!) and stopped off at hotels in the middle of the desert, Idrissides is on the Western side of town, a 15 minute (MAXIMUM) walk from the main Plaza which has shops like Zara etc as well as lots of restaurants that serve European food. It's also a 20-25 minute walk from the Medina and the Souks, although it's so hot that we were near collapse after walking it, so grab a petit taxi (any beige taxi that isn't a Mercedes, usually a Peugot 206 or Dacia) and say you'll pay 50Dirhams (£3.50), which most will accept. Make sure you barter with everyone, even the cabbies as they'll try and rip you off. Suggest and confirm a rate before you get in, as it's they will try and double the rate once you get in. There are lots of little cafes and restaurants opposite the hotel as well as a train station two minutes away and more evening restaurants two minutes in the opposite direction, a map is really easy to follow and we picked up the routes to said places in an hour or so.
Finally, the hotel IS French based, it's run by French tour operator Framissima, so everything is in French, however a large chunk of Reception staff speak English, as well as barmen and restaurant staff on site. The Fram reps sit around the pool all day and have quiet music playing and offer entertainment for those who want to be entertained, the pool is huge so it doesn't disrupt those who don't. They offer water polo, aqua zumba and things like that, that mostly the men/older women get involved in. It's just a lively, fun atmosphere and the reps are lovely and make conversation where they can, but are aware if you just want to be left alone. There are a mixture of guests, ranging from old couples to young couples and families. It's suitable for most. The pool is fab, warmed by the sun and really clean. The restaurants are good, "Le Barbecue" is great for lunch and is grilled meats etc, the main room where you'll eat breakfast is always a buffet which is mostly used by the all inclusive guests and the Moroccan restaurant behind the pool serves lovely food but is relatively pricey and the staff couldn't speak any English there. There's also a few more places on site but we didn't visit those.

Long story short, it's a great hotel and doesn't deserve it's bad press. EasyJet have only recently contracted the hotel, so I imagine in a year or so there'll be a lot more English. If you're going here, I'm sure you'll have a great stay!

Room Tip: Floor 3 was great, elevators throughout hotel and very little noise disruption. All rooms have A/C b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As two open-minded fairly experienced travellers/holiday makers we can say that this is one of the most miserable hotel experiences we have ever had.

Drinks and food are poor and are London prices. Rooms and facilities are basic and in no way reflect the 4* rating and entertainment is modelled on a poor cousin of a French butlins.

Service and staff are so rude it's almost entertaining; on several occasions we asked for towels for our room only to have staff members walk off never to return. The dismal service is not due to a lack of managers, there are plenty of them although they prefer to spend their days sat in the pool bar supping beer whilst ogling and jeering at holiday makers.

Whatever your budget and whatever your requirements this is NOT the hotel for you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitjar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I choose this hotel as it was near to airport, and good a good price, but had I known there was line dancing, karaoke and activities, I would not have bothered!
If you like a Hotel with rows of sun beds, and rows of french revellers, then this is for you!
I got the impression it catered to tourists who were there just for the sun, and some maybe never ventured out of the Hotel......

Positive.....croissants were good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is in a poor location, nothing around, everything is a taxi ride and a walk into the old or new town is 50 minutes. The hotel caters for French budget groups and no English is spoken by staff and all notices and events are only in the French language. The facilities are sad and over used, most of the groups are on a full package of drinks and food, so unless you want to queue for hours, you need to eat out. There is really nothing good to say about this hotel, a number of people organise events at the drop of a hat and take over the pool or lounge or the poorly stocked bar, regardless of you. Wifi only in the hall and sporadic, French evening events will devastate your sleep profile.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is basically a French speaking hotel geared for French holiday groups. So be prepared to take a second place to the groups. Very little staff speak english. Room maintenance is non exsistent. Our a/c was broken and I reported it on numerous occassions. every single day to reception and I left after 3 days and it was still broken :(.
Nonetheless adequate , good location and good breakfast and if you are driving,as we were there is plenty of secure parking on the grounds

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked this hotel as the price and location was good.
I would say this hotel is definitely a 3star standard to UK citizens.
all French speaking staff, therefore communication was hard. room maintenance was appauling and other customers also told us the same thing.
However if you are not too fussed about comfort the grounds are beautiful and pool was clean too. There are restaurants opposite and you can walk to Jama El Fana. its also quite easy to catch a taxi from outside the hotel.

We did not book any tours through the hotel as they were very expensive! as you walk around the main square and souks there are more excursion companies.

I would recommend Quad biking and a day trip to Essaouria. Quad biking is usually priced at 600 dirrhams but you should be able to bargain down to 350 dirrhams.

Room Tip: we were in a 4 people room but the bathroom was through the master bedroom, so if this will be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Framissima les Idrissides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framissima les Idrissides

Address: av. Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#134 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Framissima les Idrissides 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Framissima les Idrissides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Framissima Les Idrissides Marrakech
Framissima Les Idrissides Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Framissima les Idrissides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.