We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family trip to Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kasbah

Save Saved
You added Riad Kasbah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   101 Derb Harbil-Kasbah, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #408 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our family trip to Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We chose this riad after having read the excellent reviews on this site.
I spoke to the manager Hicham before booking the accommodation who was very helpful and answered all my questions and put my mind at rest regarding any concerns I had.
When we arrived at Marrakech airport, Hicham was there alongside his driver to greet us (as promised). We instantly knew that we were on to a winner. He phoned ahead to the riad to have breakfast prepared for us on arrival.
The transport was perfect for our family of six and the driver spoke English which enabled us to communicate with little effort, as we spoke very little french and no arabic.
The rooms at the riad are functional and very clean. Please do not expect any extras like a tv in the room or a facilities for hot drinks.
The staff are extremely helpful and hospitable with nothing being too much trouble especially the head housekeeper Zara. They accommodated our every need.
Hicham also arranged daily excursions for us, including a trip to the atlas mountains, stopping briefly at a berber village. A must see for all. It certainly gave my children insight into how the less privileged live).
A trip to the hamman is also highly recommended.
If we were to return to Marrakech in the future, we'd book the Kasbah for sure.

Room Tip: If you like your 'tea' please take tea bags with you as we sorely missed our cup of PG tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I've just enjoyed a 5 night stay at Riad Kasbah, celebrating a friend's birthday. There was a group of us so we enjoyed exclusive use of the Riad, or so we thought.......

Overall the Riad was very good, comfortable with tastefully decorated rooms and stylish Moroccan bathrooms. The location of the Riad is also good, about a 10 minute walk from Djemma el Fna.

The housekeeping staff was helpful, friendly, and our primary contact, Hisham, ensured that all of the transport arrangements worked smoothly. Hisham also booked local restaurants for us and was unfazed when we changed our plans.


Back to the 'exclusive use'.... On the Saturday night of our stay we had the main event - a pre-arranged party in the Riad. We were slightly stunned when a party of 4 middle aged French people turned up, made themselves comfortable and stayed for the evening. They were accompanied by Hisham who offered us no explanation for their presence. It transpired the following day that they were part owners of the Riad.

It didn't change the fact that we had a fantastic night, but we did feel rather like exhibits in a French Anthropologists field trip.

The owners should think carefully about the term exclusive use for future bookings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Firstly I'd just like to say that if you are considering hiring a Riad for a group / party / event then this is your Riad. Hicham from our first communication 6 months before the visit called me to discuss my requirements straight away. He was incredibly helpful and assisted in looking after up to 17 people at one point by putting on a great 40th birthday party for myself and my friends. The rest of the staff were gentle, lovely and helpful people. They did not speak English so a little French goes a long way. Hicham helped to arrange all of our trips and believe me, this all changed quite a bit but never once did he complain. A very reasonable price and very relaxed atmosphere witha 15 min walk in to the Square of the wonderful Marrakech. We were a mixed bunch and every single person was happy and loved it so thanks again guys. I hope to come back and visit and I will most definitely stay here again. PS... great belly dancing and crazy moroccan band for party night!

Room Tip: To be fair they are all really good. We had the whole Riad so I got to see all of the rooms and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at Riad Kasbah in December (2011). Driver was waiting for us at the airport, so we didn't have to wait around.
The Riad was lovely and quiet and the staff were really friendly and nothing was to much for them. Very conveniently located to main square and local places to eat.Hisham the manager of the Riad was extremely helpfull, he took us to have a look at the Les Bains Hamman. I would highly recommend the Hamman, well worth the money. .

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

No doubt for twice the money you could stay somewhere fancier, but Riad Kasbah is ideal for a taste of authentic Marrakech with all the home comforts and had the bonus of a good sized family room. Staff were helpful and hospitable and the riad was clean and beautifully furnished. The area's fantastic and we enjoyed people watching from the terrace. You need your wits about you if it's your first trip as all seems chaotic and everyone wants your money - hang on to your purse and don't be too shy and soon get the hang of how things work in Marrakech. They'll arrange an excursion if you want to escape the city, though just hanging around the riad is a very pleasant option if you want to take things easy.

Room Tip: I think they're all lovely - our's (the green one) had a massive bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Riad Kasbah is a charming and friendly place to spend a short break in Marrakech.

The Riad itself is the staff are very friendly and ever so helpful. The room was well decorated and bed was very comfortable. The swimming pool in the middle gave was an interesting feature even though we did not venture in.

The breakfasts was totally not what we were expecting but none the less very tasty and the coffee, like most of Marrakech was excellent - not at all weak. What we thought was a pot of honey was in fact Olive Oil and added a different flavour to a banana when dipped in it!!!

We had a free transfer from the airport by a driver which was good and the staff were happy to arrange a return priced at 15euros.

Finding the Riad late at night took a bit trial and error as it was tucked away in the midst of a but we got there in the end. The surrounding area was bussling with small shops and stalls which added to the smells - there was one stand with herbs layout for the local to buy, the smell was amazing, fresh mint, corriander, thyme filled the air.

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad for anyone wanting to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here last oct with another couple. Finding it was a nightmare up those narrow streets with all those would be tour guides (local young lads) following you, it's a bit scary at first so do try and get directions before you go as the taxis cannot get up those streets! Once you arrive (and it's not easy to spot as it looks nothing from the outside), the door is shut behind you and you honestly take a sigh of relief! It's so different from the world outside, so calm. We stopped in the cheapest rooms, do avoid the ivory room as although it's nice, it's next door to the kitchen and those lovely ladies are grafting from very early on, clanking pots n all. Breakfast Is top notch and you must have a tagine whilst you are stopping at the hotel. It must be ordered the day before and they begin to cook it in the morning to be served late afternoon. It's not cheap by marrakesh prices, £30 ish for 4 people. But so very worth it. Marrakesh is the most crazy place I have ever been to, we reffered to going outside as "entering the mad house!". Be careful of the scooters whipping up behind you, they are a tad dangerous. Riad kasbah definatly rocks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kasbah

Also Known As:
Riad Kasbah Hotel Marrakech
Riad Kasbah Hotel
Address: 101 Derb Harbil-Kasbah, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kasbah 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.