We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Arabe

Cafe Arabe
184, rue Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 429728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Café Arabe was recommended to us by out riad as a place to go for evening drinks and a stop off point. The terrace has lovely views, you can see all the rooftops and the mosque and the atlas mountains. Nice staff, would go again! the terrace is decorated very nicely and the atmosphere was relaxed and chilled, perfect after a day in the souks!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    909
    371
    112
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best food of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went here twice on our recent trip to Marakesh. Tired of tagines, cous cous & water for our lunch we opted to push the boat out a little (it's not the cheapest place to eat in the city, but it is good value) and were very glad we did.
We climbed up to the roof terrace which is large, shady & looks down over the cobbles of the souks. There we ate well, drank very chilled beer & cold white wine & were served with smiles (not always the case in Marakesh I'm afraid)
The menu is International with a Italian bias & both times the food was of a really good standard. There are also Moroccan dishes so if you want to stay true, you can.
Like a lot of places in this city, it does need a bit of tlc (the soft furnishings were a bit tired & dusty, the awnings needed repairing) but look at it with soft eyes & enjoy a cold drink!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You would not know from the outside that this restaurant is as nice as it is. We poked out heads in and tried it. It was so pleasant that we came back a couple of nights later. We did not use the terrace because we were very happy in the main floor restaurant with the trees. The food was good and the service was fine. We can recommend trying this restaurnat if you are staying in the area otherwise it might be difficult to find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE place to go for sunset cocktails and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This 'easy to find' rooftop bar and restaurant overlooking the medina was wonderful. We got a spectacular photo of the setting sun. Cocktails were served promptly and well-chilled. Dinner choices were varied and so tastefully prepared that we returned for dinner a second night. (something we rarely, if ever, do when traveling) Request to be seated at one of Mohammed's tables and the service will be great. Thanks for helping to make Marrakech special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went there for lunch .found the welcome Luke warm?went to the terrace !to see all the awnings heavily covered in pigeon poo and dust? didn't bode well for ok ish lunch

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.