We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and alcohol” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Arabe

Cafe Arabe
184, rue Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 429728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and alcohol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a good experience here, the food was very good as was the service. It is a lovely setting to watch the sunset with a cocktail in hand. Was one of the only places that served alcohol during Ramadan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    914
    374
    113
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food in central Marrakech, lots of choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Cafe Arabe is a very nice restaurant, we sat right at the top, which from some areas offers views of the city. There is a nice bar serving a large variety of drinks and cocktails.

The waiter brought us little nibbles whilst we perused the menu - lovely bread sticks and olives. We both went for pasta dishes, as we'd eaten lots of Moroccan dishes at our hotel. The menu is very extensive and appeared to have the most choice of the places we'd looked at.

We found restaurants nearer the main square seem to be quite average offering tagines or pizzas. But Cafe Arabe brought a lot more variety which is refreshing to see, you do pay more for the privilege but the quality of e food is much better. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value drinks, good food, overall a great place to hang out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our Riad is within 5 minutes walk of Cafe Arabe and after eating and drinking over quite a wide area of Marrakech Medina we now just head to Cafe Arabe.
The decor in the bar downstairs is superb, and the Terrace is a great place to have a meal and a glass of wine as the sun sets and the faithful are called to prayer.
Cafe Arabe has good well priced food - we ate here twice and there is a Moroccan and non-Moroccan section to the menu in case you are Tajined out. The beer and wine selection is fine and it is the ONLY place we have been to in Marrakech that serves properly chilled beer in a FROZEN BEER GLASS. That is a SERIOUSLY good trick when you have spent the afternoon avoiding scooters in 45 degree heat.
The waiting staff that we have seen have all been very attentive and professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Chilled out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really lovely interior, chilled out space. The lasagne wasn't much to write home about but the juices and smoothies were lovely! and the local beer (and cheap!)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“まあまあ美味しかったけどウェーターはめっちゃふてこいやったA nice restaurant, but a step up in price compared to other diners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ordered the mix of Moroccan salads and the soup with dates. The café was lovely, and the food pretty good too. The drinks and dishes were pricey for Marrakech though and the waitress assigned to us was rather mardy

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.