We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy, atmospheric classy lounge, terrific terrace. Stylish escape from clamour of the souks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Arabe

Cafe Arabe
184, rue Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 429728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 585 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Groovy, atmospheric classy lounge, terrific terrace. Stylish escape from clamour of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Though a little pricey, in terms of how cheaply one can eat in the city - it is not mind blowing when compared with pizza express! Its just Western prices. Marvellously atmospheric. Very groovy, to be seen in lounge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    724
    309
    96
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great setting but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cafe Arabe has a great location just off the souks and the main square and a roof top view but unfortunately we caught them on a bad day apparently. With Ramadan underway the staff were not really interested in having any guests and unwilling to serve them and the food that finally came was overcooked and not very tasty. Too bad as the potential is there!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Modern and pricey but lovely atmosphere. Was very busy when we visited, food was nice though. Only went once during our stay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot, nice crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A lovely decor and I found kind staff with an interesting drinking crowd on the rooftop terrace. Ate there twice, interior space beautiful , had a delicious vegetable tajine and then ate upstairs and had an eh gnocchi al pesto... Stick to the Moroccan dishes . Wonderful and well priced Moroccan wines. Fun spot .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cafe Arab aht' a smile then mate...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having been told that this place was an 'Oasis' in the hubbub of the Souks in the Medina, we called to book a table for dinner soon after we arrived in Marrakech. As we walked toward the address we'd been given we were expecting a non descript entrance, but to my surprise it was actually more ornate than expected.
This made us feel rather excited about the interior, as we walked through the lantern lined main hallway to the stairs at the back, where a beautifully french looking brass sign indicated the direction of the roof terrace. We slowly climbed the stairs marvelling at the various nooks and crannies of the establishment, til we reached the terrace, whereupon a subtle feeling of euphoria washed over us...sadly this started to wane quite rapidly as we stood at the bar trying to attract some attention, no one likes to be ignored, and after all we had booked!
Eventually we were asked by possibly the most miserable looking member of staff if we did want a drink, to which we of course responded and proudly announced our booking for a table at 7pm.
We were somewhat reluctantly given a table, but then the waiter bizarrely smiled as he handed out menus. That was the only smile we saw from any of the staff all evening.
The food was nice, swordfish well cooked, and the entrecôte steak was lovely, but the mood of the place was completely ruined by the miserable staff who spent the entire duration of our visit arguing loudly, and in front of everybody.
We had been looking forward to a romantic sunset dinner and drinks to celebrate my girlfriend's 'big' birthday, but I'm afraid we spent the majority of the evening looking forward to leaving.
Lastly, when paying we used a credit card and decided to leave a small tip, but as I turned around after handing the waiter a note, my girlfriend watched in horror as he screwed it up and threw it across the bar... The most entertaining part of the evening!

Next time we'll try Le Foundouk-

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.