We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anya

Save Saved
You added Riad Anya to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Anya
Hay Sidi Mimoun, Derb Sidi Mbarek 149, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #177 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
NYC, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Baby Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

After having read that many riads are not family friendly, we were a bit nervous about bringing our 15 month old to Riad Anya. However, we were immediately welcomed by staff. The staff were affectionate and friendly with our baby. We were given a room on the ground floor (convenient for avoiding having to carry the stroller up flights of stairs) in the far back adjacent to a courtyard which was enclosed so it felt as if it was our own private courtyard for the baby to roam around. It was also situated away from the common areas and dipping pool so the baby wouldn't risk getting into trouble or disturbing other guests.

We were provided with a travel cot for the baby which was clean and sturdy. Unfortunately, our room had a shower so luckily we brought an inflatable bathtub.

The only complaints was that a print out of the bill couldn't be provided (printer was down) and I was only given the receipt of payment. The final amount was slightly more than what I was shown by reception.The other issue was a minor ant problem in the room.

The perks...the riad is located outside of the city center so it's a quiet area. It's not a far walk from the Jemaa el Fna square but complicated to cross streets with a stroller. It's also a 2-3 minute walk from a hospital which was comforting to know if there was an emergency with the baby.

Room Tip: Ground floor room at far back next to small courtyard is better for those traveling with babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
84
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our favourite Riad of all the ones we stayed in on our trip round Morocco. It was stunningly attractive and had a lovely spacious terrace.Our room was compact, but clean and comfortable with a little table and chairs on the bacony outside. We had a Hamman and massage which was very relaxing and enjoyable as well as cooking lesson from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was really friendly and helpful. The plunge pool was very welcome after a hot day wandering round Marrakech. It was a 10 15 minute walk to the square, but straightforward enough and we felt quite comfortable walking around the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed for two nights at Riad Anya, Marrakech, which was chosen by my travel agent, and prior to this, I had stayed in two other riads: in Meknes and Fes. Even though the reception was efficient and friendly, when I entered the property, I didn't have the warm welcoming feeling, and the moment I entered the room, it was so 'standard' (as I travelled by myself, I didn't mind as I didn't intend to stay in the riad during my stay at Marrakech, but I'd have felt guilty if I have someone else traveling with me - in justifying why I picked this place). The nice thing was that I got the room on the ground floor which has a connecting terrace next to the Restaurant. Before I left, I had looked at their rooftop terrace and found it quite interesting - perhaps when the weather is less cold.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

On a business trip to Marrakech, this riad was selected for me by our travel facilitator. We had difficulty finding it (down a narrow, dead end street and then two winding alleys later......).

The rooms are just okay - nothing memorable - located as they usually are in riads around a central courtyard. Breakfast was spartan and service was slow. Check out was convoluted and they had to recalculate my bill three times.

No phone or TV (thank goodness) in the room, which made communication with my business colleague problematical.

Room Tip: Can't help you there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Riad Anya evenings Friday 8 July through until Thursday 14 July, 2011. Myself, my husband and 22 year old daughter were travelling from Australia. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful to us and made us feel so welcome and at home. Jamila was helpful in helping me organise a couple of day trips and made helped me feel confident travelling in Morocco. Khalil, of Riad Anya is a true gentleman, so polite and respectful and so willing to serve us and be of assistance.

The accommodation is very comfortable and it was good to come back to the Riad after negotiating the streets of Marrakesh. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The riad was wonderful- I have nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The only drawback is the location. Although the hotel is very centrally located (only about 10 minute walk to the Jemma el Fna square) and right next to a palace with guards, it's down some back roads that were quite hard to find and not very welcoming. It's all fine if you are in a group but I would certainly warn female travellers to re-think coming here alone. It's a bit dodgy at night and there are always a few groups of Moroccan men hanging around. Shame because the hotel was so lovely...

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We staid at the Riad Anya for 4 nights. The place itself is beautiful, as you see in the photos and better. Everything is clean, some of the showers are a bit "weak" , but overall no major problems. People are friendly and the service is very attentive. So, as you step trough the door, you are in the best possible place you can think of. And we come to the snag, what is OUTSIDE of the door. Although it is a short walk from the souk and the main square, which is great, you have to face situations where western women travelling alone may not feel too comfortable. We were there just before and during Eid. If you like to see sheeps and muttons being slaughtered, their heads severed and burnt, pretty much in the streets where you are pulling your carry on, well...
We suspect that elsewhere in the medina, with a few more tourists and a few more women, things may be easier. Do not be deterred if you travel in a larger group, or with men, or outside of Eid week. We probably picked the wrong combination - and all the aspects that concern the riad itself are just fine!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Anya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anya

Address: Hay Sidi Mimoun, Derb Sidi Mbarek 149, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Anya is situated in the district Sidi Mimoun in 10mn on foot of the place(square) Jmena El Fna. Of the terrace you discover the gardens of the famous hotel " Mamounia ," a hammam, a room of massage, a swimming pool of 15m2 as well as a Jacuzzi shall decorate your stay. The cook(cooker) prepares Moroccan meals (earthenware cooking pots(meat stews) and cuckoos) of which you remember you for a long time. Jamila will help you to organize your stay if you wish it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsClick, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Anya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;