We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Elias to your Saves list
Riad Elias
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6, derb Noursial,Taoulat Ben Saleh | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Costa del Sol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at Riad Elis for 4 days with two other photographers when I was there photographing a wedding outside of Marrakech.
The staff at Riad Elias was VERY helpful and friendly. Excellent service!
Their WIFI connection didn't work properly at the time but they sorted out so we could use their personal internet connection the same day.
Charming! Beautiful! Great location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Elias over new year and a few days at the beginning of January, and it was wonderful, and still very warm.

We had a downstairs room which was very cosy and clean with lovely Morrocan detailing, and fresh flowers and fruit just for us. The bathroom was lovely, with a huge bath, which was very romatic and toiletries that were replenished daily. Imen and the team of staff were very friendly and helpful, and were more than happy to take your breakfast to the roof terrace if you wished, where they also have a traditional Hammam, which is very good, and get you wine, olives and anything else you wished for whilst relaxing in the seated area, or even to take back to your room.

The Manager also helped us greatly with taxis and phone calls to the airport when our luggage got lost at Gatwick, and also organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us with guests from another Riad at a very reasonable price.

The Riad is very close to the souks which is full of everything you can imagine like an Aladdins cave and the Jamaal El Fna square which is full of life and wonderful smells of insence and spices, not to forget the freshly squeezed orange juice and the local entertainment, and many lovely restaurants, some with roof terraces for the most amazing views.

Travelling back to the Riad at night can be a little scary, especially if coming from the souks, but fortunately it's easy to find and makes you feel nicely tucked away from the hussle.

It is a whole different culture and can be quite overwhelming, but also very out of this world as a first time experience, but we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Me and my partner stayed in Riad Elias for 3 nights in May.
We were abolutely delighted with the ambience of the place, our host was very welcoming and friendly, gave us good advice and helped to organise car rental - we can not understand that negative comment here!! The food was amazing, breakfast was a joy and we chose to have dinner at the Riad - best tagines we had all holiday!! We also had a hammam which I can't say enough about - truly an experience not to miss! The loaction is extremely good - a few minutes to the main place and souks; no worries about safely walking back after dark (which can be dodgy in Marrakesh...), very easy to find!
We would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech- and we will return!
Owen (GB) and Katja (Germany)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed in Riad Elias in Marrakech Medina from March 27th till aprl 3re, 2010, and we may recommend this Riad to people who want to stay in a nice, clean house centrally located in the Medina. In Riad Elias you can have a very pleasant stay and enjoy very friendly maroccan hospitality. The Host and everyone are very friendly. The rooms are nice and clean and the roof is a nice area for sun bathing in the Marrakech sun inbetween visits to the souk. You will have home made dinners in Riad Elias when you get tired of eating oout, and the house is a nice place to live. We will recommend it to everybody that wants to get to know Marrakech, which is a very interesting destination for travelling in Marocco.
Roald Roede and Randi Emaus

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We found this Riad through Trip Advisor so thanks to everyone else for the recommendation. We really loved it and found it a very special place. The central courtyard with splash pool is gorgeous and the staff looked after us brilliantly - just the right level of being helpful and friendly without being too obtrusive. They recommended and booked a great restaurant for us (the Tanjia) as well as organising transport to and from the airport which was trouble free and only 15 Euros.

Our room (the Ankara) was lovely. Large comfortable bed with high quality sheets, spotlessly clean and intricate Morrocan carvings and detailing. Breakfasts were also good, especially when enjoyed in the company of the Riad's tortoise! We really recommend the hammam followed by a massage in your room - what a treat.

Riad Elias is only a 10 minute walk to the Jemaa al fna and right on the doorstep of the souks so you can't go wrong in terms of location.

All in all, a great choice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crevillent
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Riad had a beauifull architecture, it was clean and quiet. But the manager was disgusting. He was always watching us and he make us feel really unconfortable. He didn't let us smoke and drink wine inside the riad and asked for a fee. He wanted to cheat us with the taxi prices and museum visits.

Nice Riad but I can't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Just got back from Marrakech and already miss it. It is such an exciting city, you feel like living in one of the fairytales of "1001 Nights".

The city life in Marrakech is very busy, just like you picture it, with the old buildings, lots of people in their special hooded costumes, all the souqs (markeds) where you can buy everything from slippers, leather goods and textiles to spices and animals. The Marocan people are friendly and helpful (and after some time you will adjust into their methods of bargaining - it truly is an interaction more than a transaction). So with all this to explore, it is very nice to have a calm, peaceful riad to escape to. For us Marrakech was all about the contrasts, we had exciting busy days outdoor in the souqs, in the Atlas mountains and all the other things to explore, and then when we went home, yes our riad really felt like home, we just wanted to relax and get a sense of tranquility.

We stayed in Riad Elias, a lovely riad situated close to Djemaa El Fna and the city center (everything in walking distance). Riad Elias consist of 6 rooms, 2 chambres and 4 suites. It is a beatifully decorated riad with a litle splash pool as centrefocus in the courtyard. The rooftoop is perfect for sunbathing or an afternoon minttea. There is a hammam there wich definately is wurth a try. The staff, or that is not the right word to use, cause after a day they felt like our extended familiy, was very helpful and service minded, but most of all they really made you feel welcome, and helped you in all ways to get the best experiences in Marrakech. The food at riad Elias is magnificent, it is also possible to get wine for the food (the owner of the riad is french, say no more: ) Iman and her staff prepared the most delicious dinners, and if you like you can even join them in the kitchen to learn have to make it. We ended up having most of our dinners at the riad, why go far when your food heaven is where you live:)

We knew that Marrakech would be exciting, but after being there we know we will go back soon to explore more of the city and the rest of the country, and when going back to Marrakech there is no other places for us to stay than Riad Elias. So thinking about it, I shouldn´t talk so highly about this, but on the other hand how boring and difficult wouldn´t it be traveling if we didn´t share our experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elias

Address: 6, derb Noursial,Taoulat Ben Saleh | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Elias 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Elias is the ideal place for an exceptional stay in MarrakechRiad Elias, a magnificent riad located just a short stroll from the centre of the historic Old City and Jemaa el Fna square, is the perfect place for an unforgettable stay in Marrakesh. Tradition and modernism, inspired by Africa and Asia, modern comfort blends harmoniously with the elegant décor.Outstanding location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.