We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Elias

Save Saved
You added Riad Elias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Elias
6, derb Noursial,Taoulat Ben Saleh | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Beautiful Riad in the centre of the Medina! Great place if you want to be in the middle of the action to experience the "real" Marrakech and yet feel like in a quiet oasis as soon as the doors are closed! We were amazed by the service we got from Said and the Team.
The room was simple but clean and decorated with taste!
We had dinner there one night and the food was to die for! I definitely recommend to try it at least one night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
33
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Arriving in Marrakech is like landing on Planet Zog! It's such a culture shock. It's hot, dusty, full of exhaust fumes of weaving motorbikes, has scenes from Biblical times alongside youngsters with mobile phones. Riad Elias is down an unprepossessing little side street but as soon as you are invited it, it becomes a haven and home. The staff..Loubna, Said etc are just wonderful. They make you feel so at home. The quality of the food, bedding and towels etc was really lovely and the little splash pool.We really had to gird up our loins to leave the Riad and go back out into the crowded streets but sitting on the roof terrace with a beer ( yes, even in Morocco) you forget you are in the middle of the city. It's five minutes to the Souks and the famous Jemaa al Fnaa Place. The Moroccans will certainly take your money off you, bargain them down to 50% of their original price but there are few who will steal it from you..we did have one woman try my rucksack in the Place but generally we felt safe-as long as you keep on the right in the narrow passages to avoid the scooters. Visit the museum and the Koran School and the Photographic Museum as well as the Jardins de les Majorelles and if you're feeling citied out, get a taxi to Oasiria where you can swim in peace. It's restorative. This was a reasonable Riad and we felt, excellent value. We would enthusiastically recommend it.

Room Tip: With hindsight, we've have chosen a first floor room as our window led out onto the courtyard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I disagree completely with the "disappointing" review. We were a group of 11. My room was super - roomy, clean, quiet, warm (when we were shown how to work the heater. November), and with very good facilities. Not all rooms were so large and well-equipped. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. They were not intrusive, but were available to give useful advice re excursions and transport , for example.
The situation is very good - a traditional residence amongst the narrow streets of the old part of the city. My first visit and I'm pleased we stayed at this riad.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We first stayed at the sister riad, Riad Karmanda which was beautiful, clean and welcoming but this was even more beautiful and more upmarket, it had a small splash pool and a gorgeous sun terrace. It is a great escape from the busy city. We stayed in a suite which was comfortable and elegant. Definately worth the money. The staff were great and very helpful. They even arranged a taxi to take us to Pacha nightclub and wait til 4am to take us back! It is a very romatic place but also great for children as it is so safe. We will be going back for a shopping trip and we will be staying here again. definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed at Riad Elis for 4 days with two other photographers when I was there photographing a wedding outside of Marrakech.
The staff at Riad Elias was VERY helpful and friendly. Excellent service!
Their WIFI connection didn't work properly at the time but they sorted out so we could use their personal internet connection the same day.
Charming! Beautiful! Great location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at the Elias over new year and a few days at the beginning of January, and it was wonderful, and still very warm.

We had a downstairs room which was very cosy and clean with lovely Morrocan detailing, and fresh flowers and fruit just for us. The bathroom was lovely, with a huge bath, which was very romatic and toiletries that were replenished daily. Imen and the team of staff were very friendly and helpful, and were more than happy to take your breakfast to the roof terrace if you wished, where they also have a traditional Hammam, which is very good, and get you wine, olives and anything else you wished for whilst relaxing in the seated area, or even to take back to your room.

The Manager also helped us greatly with taxis and phone calls to the airport when our luggage got lost at Gatwick, and also organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us with guests from another Riad at a very reasonable price.

The Riad is very close to the souks which is full of everything you can imagine like an Aladdins cave and the Jamaal El Fna square which is full of life and wonderful smells of insence and spices, not to forget the freshly squeezed orange juice and the local entertainment, and many lovely restaurants, some with roof terraces for the most amazing views.

Travelling back to the Riad at night can be a little scary, especially if coming from the souks, but fortunately it's easy to find and makes you feel nicely tucked away from the hussle.

It is a whole different culture and can be quite overwhelming, but also very out of this world as a first time experience, but we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Me and my partner stayed in Riad Elias for 3 nights in May.
We were abolutely delighted with the ambience of the place, our host was very welcoming and friendly, gave us good advice and helped to organise car rental - we can not understand that negative comment here!! The food was amazing, breakfast was a joy and we chose to have dinner at the Riad - best tagines we had all holiday!! We also had a hammam which I can't say enough about - truly an experience not to miss! The loaction is extremely good - a few minutes to the main place and souks; no worries about safely walking back after dark (which can be dodgy in Marrakesh...), very easy to find!
We would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech- and we will return!
Owen (GB) and Katja (Germany)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Elias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elias

Address: 6, derb Noursial,Taoulat Ben Saleh | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Elias is the ideal place for an exceptional stay in MarrakechRiad Elias, a magnificent riad located just a short stroll from the centre of the historic Old City and Jemaa el Fna square, is the perfect place for an unforgettable stay in Marrakesh. Tradition and modernism, inspired by Africa and Asia, modern comfort blends harmoniously with the elegant décor.Outstanding location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Elias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Elias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.