We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful, memorable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Sultan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Sultan to your Saves list
Rose Sultan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   route Ourika km11, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful, memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel beginning of November 2010. I can confirm all the previous comments, it is a wonderfull hotel and an oasis in the middle of marrakech. The ambiance, decor, food and more importantly staff were of such excellent standards.
The interior perfumes of rose and jasmine are throughout the hotel. delightful. Attention to detail is evident everywhere, the facility to order breakfast or meals at any time tin your Suite or in the common area makes you feel at home.
I also tried the massage, it was a high standard.
Would we return Rose Sultan? Yes very much so. It was wonderfully romantic, calming and relaxing, more than we ever expected.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
93
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This is a world class Boutique hotel. We stayed in a Deluxe room, the Amber Queen, and spent 4 nights here. The restaurant is amazing, excellent Moroccan food and rose recipes, the gardens are gorgeous, and the room appointments, all unique, are gorgeous...a wonderful retreat from the busy streets of Marrakesh. This hotel is especially well suited for mid sized groups. We were sixteen people all, and they were wonderfully accommodating to us, especially at meals. The manager and the waiters are very helpful. This can't be anything other than the best hotel in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

In the land of the but, you have great architecture and a wonderful view on the Atlas from the pool, but the said pool is not heated; at 15 degrees during the winter months, you’ll develop a healthy resistance to hypothermia.
Rooms are nice, beds pleasantly firm, but the plumbing is clunky and antique, while waiting for hot water will test your patience.
The hammam is (apparently) nice, but broken.
The main dishes are often very good (if modestly served), but deserts are unfailingly disappointing (at least the cook is not to blame, they’re bought outside).
Staff is helpful and genuinely kind, but the boss, while never faulted on his unctuous politeness, has the empathy of an oyster.

Rose Sultan is positioning itself as a Boutique Hotel. At the moment however, while you definitely get the “boutique”, or even the souk side (you have to haggle and negotiate for each details), the hotel side feels grossly neglected. Running a hotel is a proper business; it relies on two talents almost entirely absent here. Firstly, attention to details. When you target the luxury segment (and price accordingly), you just have to provide soap and shampoo in your rooms. You absolutely cannot serve industrial ice cream for desert when you charge 60€ per person for lunch and dinner, especially considering it’s four times the average salary in Morocco (at 15€ a month). You can’t serve entry price crisps (and nothing else) with drinks while traditional Moroccan appetisers are both superb and very cheap. Secondly, client empathy. Five year old kids don’t eat spicy food. When you accommodate a group of 20 friends who flew from 5 different countries to gather, you can’t spread them on small lunch tables fit for 4 people. In short, in the hotel business you accommodate your services to people’s need, not the other way round.

Rose Sultan is a place you’d love to love, but which betrays its potential because it is simply not run like a professional hospitality venture.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

A wonderful stay at a caringly designed and maintained beautiful comfortable hotel, set within a colourful garden, in a quiet and serene surrounding. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have been travel to Marrakech for a long time, but once I knew Rose Sultan, I was sure that I couldnt stay in another place during my time in such a special city. Rose Sultan has everything we can ask to a hotel: charm, a minimal luxury, and a owner (Majid Ejjennane) who lives between Marrakech and Paris, and he understand perfectly what their guests could expect. Amazing the breakfast in the rose gardens, and the charm of every single room. Lovely for couples, and lovely for travelling with a group of friends. Really close to the best restaurant in the city, called BoZin, and only 15 minutes from the old Medina... I will come back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is an excellent secluded villa with nine double rooms, whom a friend hired out for a 40th birthday party trip to Marrakech. The architecture is very modern and it would be easy to spend a few days in the villa without leaving, as it is 11km from the centre of Marrakech. There are nine staff; the owner/manager Majid lives on site and speaks excellent English.

Good points:
- Currently just over 2 years old
- Satellite and plasma TV in most rooms (not that you are likely to use them much)
- 20m pool
- Many common areas (large dining room, 2 living rooms), poolside terrace

Could be improved
- Food and drink is at Paris restaurant prices.
- I would have expected that when hiring the entire villa, there would have been no issue about bringing our own (duty free) drinks - but this was not negotiated beforehand and caused an initial disagreement
- It wasn't clear that laundry service was at European prices
- Wifi only covers part of the central area (the area in and just outside the office, as the wifi access point is in the office)

For our three night stay, with two main meals, we ended up paying 30% of the villa rental fee again in extra charges despite bringing our own champagne and spirits. Once you expect this, you can let the villa surprise and delight you.

PS. As with all Marrakech villas, impossible to find unless you know it. Best to retain the same taxi company for the entire trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

WOW where to start!!

I work as a personal assistant to a celebrity and stayed for one week at Rose Sultan. Both my boss and I were impressed with the whole experience..

The manager was so helpful and courteous. We arrived at the airport after a long plane trip, where we were whisked away with VIP treatment..

After a short drive we arrived at Rose Sultan where a delicious Moroccan feast of chicken, and some strangely wonderful rose recipies eg. rose petal soup and some amazing salads..

Then then wen to our suites..the Royal Gold suite has an amazing view of the Atlas Mountains on one side and the very inviting pool and garden.

Majid organised us to be chauffered around Marrakech and taken to all the wonderful gardens, palaces restaurants and clubs.

Being a personal assistant to a celebrity, Rose Sultan's owner Majid made my job a breeze. He is always happy to help

  • Liked — the rose themes suites
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind..
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rose Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Sultan

Address: route Ourika km11, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Sultan Marrakech
Rose Sultan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.