We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Sultan

Save Saved
You added Rose Sultan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rose Sultan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   route Ourika km11, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A memorable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This villa has to be seen to be believed... It is set in surroundings of natural beauty... The rooms are beautiful, most with views of the gardens or swimming pool.

Jean Luis (the new owner) and his team made our weekend one to remember. Nothing was too much trouble, on asking if we could have a BBQ for lunch they even went out and bought a new one!! For those wanting a winter holiday / break note that the swimming pool is heated to 32 degrees and so we found ourselves swimming at all times of the day and night.... Yes even after midnight.

The Jacuzzi in secluded setting in the garden was under great demand by all and again available for use at all hours.... Romance at its best....

For the sporty types you play ping pong or sit if you are feeling lazy sit under palm tree and watch your friends enjoying the Villa under its clear blue skies and if you want to be pampered I strongly recommend the massage (if you are a couple enjoy a massage with your loved one)

Being 15 minutes to the airport and central marrakech the villa is well placed for all your needs. Take lots of friends and enjoy all that this Villa has to offer.

On price there were no surprises, you pay for a villa of haut standing and receive all of the service expected. I will be going back at the earliest opportunity....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    17
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
82
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rose Sultan is a great hotel with a lovely atmosphere, a friendly helpful staff and an excellent food.

The most note-worthy aspect in my opinion, were the staff. Always friendly, smiling and more than happy to help. Nothing was too much trouble. They were rarely out of sight, but never in the way. The balance was perfect for a relaxing getaway.

We were upgraded on arrival from a Deluxe Room to a Junior Suite with its own private garden (White Crystal) which was absolutely lovely.

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for the Escape to Shape fitness retreat, we had the whole place reserved. It was a beautiful villa and I loved all the exquisite rose gardens throughout and roses in the rooms. Loved the location, very quiet and relaxing after the hustle and bustle of the medina. Lovely pool and awesome view, just wish there had been a hot tub because most days it was too cold to go in the pool even in May.

Two main issues:

No internet in the rooms, only in the common areas and even in the common area right by reception just feet away from the router Internet was still very spotty. It would take up to 15 minutes to send an email and almost impossible to upload photos. Internet should not be like this in 2013.

No shower in the room I had and I understand only a small number of rooms had a stand up shower. No shower curtain or any kind of covering on the bathtub so when you took a shower half the bathroom would be flooded. Not luxurious to me. I understand it was built this way from a design perspective however the bathroom was big enough to have an additional shower stall built in. There was also a little outdoor area going out from the bathroom that I thought would have been an outdoor shower but was not. It was really a pain to take a shower with water going everywhere. Bed was also way too firm for my taste.

So the grounds and the service would have been 5 star but due to the above issues I have to give it a 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A relaxing base from which to explore the intensity of Marrakech and the beauty of the Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains.

Majite the owner makes your stay a wonderful experience. He was very helpful and struck the right balance between giving us information and respecting our privacy. The staff also respect your privacy but are always attentive when required.

The hotel has stylish architecture, tasteful minimalist furnishings and is very comfortable. The views of the lush green grass, swimming pool, palm trees, snow capped Atlas Mountains and clear blue sky are incredible. The pool is refreshing and a welcome respite on a hot day.

Food in the hotel was simple and delicious. Great local dishes and very healthy. 3 courses at lunch cost €24 and dinner €28. The mint and rose teas are nicely executed. The complementary continental breakfast is better than expected with a good variety of freshly cooked local pancakes and crepes, French toast, coffee and orange juice.

Majite has agreed fixed rates with a local taxi company which ensure you won't be ripped off. The hotel is also off the main road so hard to find. When you arrive it's advised to call the hotel to arrange a transfer. The cost is 220 dirhams from the airport to the hotel which takes 25 minutes. A one way fare between the hotel and Marrakech city centre is 130 dirhams before 8pm, 160 dirhams after. Getting back to the hotel you can call he same company. It's easy to get picked up at the lay by close to Club Med near the main square. We also did a day trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains. Majite arranged a driver for the day at around 800 dirhams, we tipped him 200 dirhams at the end of the day. We reached the top of the valley after 1 hour 20 minutes drive where we paid a guide 250 dirhams to take us to two waterfalls, around an hours hike. We would have gone further with more appropriate shoes (we were wearing Vans and Converses so were slipping on wet rocks). It was a great experience and something different to do for half a day.

In summary, the hotel is exactly where we wanted to relax after a day on our feet in Marrakech or the mountains. It's also a great place to sunbathe by the pool, read a book, think. Not as well located for central Marrakech as a Riad but a much more relaxing place to be.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rose Sultan is a wonderful place for a honeymoon, with excellent service throughout our stay.
Lovely intimate room with great facilities and natural amenities. Food outstanding, served on a beautiful terrace with a stunning view on the Atlas Mountains.
Hire a car, travel up into the mountains and meet friendly locals.

I would recommend to anyone searching for a romantic or a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything from the moment you walk into this well hidden Gem of Marrkech feels right. Service, food, spa and just how well the riad is Designed to give so much privacy. I would come back as soon as possible

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Luxury, beauty, taste and service of the highest standard come together at this wonderful Boutique Hotel.
The atmosphere and the gardens are pure relaxation.
We loved our room, a nice, sober and chic decoration, great amenities and a stunning view on the Atlas mountains.
We would definitely stay there again and we recommend Rose Sultan to anyone looking for a quiet chic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Sultan

Also Known As:
Rose Sultan Marrakech
Rose Sultan Hotel Marrakech
Address: route Ourika km11, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Sultan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Rose Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.