We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Sultan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Sultan to your Saves list
Rose Sultan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Ourika km11 | Tassoultante, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I had several very stressful days of work in Marrakech and needed a place to relax and edit photos for a couple of days afterward. Rose Sultan was perfect. It was quiet, private and beautiful. And the service was excellent. I decided on very short notice that I wanted to take an afternoon and visit the Atlas Mountains. Within minutes a car and driver had been arranged. No fuss at all. There's a beautiful pool, and breakfast and supper were excellent. I will visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    20
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
94
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just a short drive from the center of Marrakech, the Rose Sultan is situated in a secluded space next to beautiful horse stables (a plus for riders and horse fans) away from the bustle of the city, but minutes away from chic and sophisticated restaurants (the very cool Bo + Zin is a "must" to experience). The city is easily accessible and taxis or cars can be quickly arranged. But the fact is, upon arriving at the Rose Sultan, the thought of leaving the property starts to fade.

The riad, inspired by traditional Moroccan architecture and materials, comes into view like an oasis, which is exactly what it is. The design is modern, but warm, sensual and inviting – a very desirable alternative to the often heavy and overdone hotels and riads one finds in Morocco. Entering the gate, guests walk down a fragrant path of rosemary hedges (grab a sprig and inhale) to the hotel's main areas. The large living and dining room areas are comfortable, chic (an eclectic mix of ethnic, contemporary and antique furnishings) and private at the same time. A sense of calm overtakes one almost immediately as the terrace, gardens and pool come into view.

Also immediate is the realization that the theme of the hotel is the rose. Bowls and vases are overflowing with the flower and the fragrance is intoxicating without being overwhelming. Sensual sprinkling of rose petals can be found throughout the riad and even the bath soap is rose scented, with real roses in the soap.

Meals in the hotel are delicious (the chef prepares traditional Moroccan dishes as well international "fusion" cuisine with locally grown ingredients). During my stay (almost a week) I had numerous meals at the hotel and all were outstanding (as well as a great value). The presentation of the food and the table settings are also impeccable, beautiful without being overly formal - a treat to the senses. (I would also highly recommend the local "gray" rosé wine, some of the best rosé wine I’ve tasted and I’m a big fan of the wine in the summer.) Meals can be served on the terrace, in the different common areas of the hotel, essentially anywhere, so guests can dine in groups or have a more private, intimate meal, depending on the whim of the guest. Because of the cleverly unique design, the hotel is equally great for groups of friends or more romantic “get-a-ways” for two.

The service is phenomenal. The attractive staff is somehow invisible, yet at your side when you have a need, at the same time – never hovering or intrusive. And the owner, Majid, is a host extraordinaire – welcoming, engaging, helpful and intelligent. He knows Marrakech, the surrounding area and many other areas of Morocco very well and can make infinite recommendations of things to do – one of the many great perks of the Rose Sultan.

The rooms are fantastic – a sensual continuation of the experience. Rose petals throughout, inviting beds, generous bathrooms and the best amenity products I’ve ever used (the rose soap, as mentioned earlier, as well as the rosemary shower gel, shampoo/conditioner are all bio-organic, made with local ingredients from the amazing Moroccan personal care/spa brand Nectarome (Majid can even send guests to the Nectarome shop nearby to stock up on these unbelievable products – they make great gifts, too!). Each room is actually like a small home, with its own beautiful outdoor private garden terrace.

The hotel’s spa is also an intoxicatingly sensual experience. I would highly recommend a massage or other spa services – private and pampering. The masseur was excellent and had some foot massage “tricks” that left me completely stress free.

The overall experience of the hotel was excellent and I intend on returning, probably with a small group of friends, who, I’m sure will immediately be huge fans, as well. I travel internationally extensively, usually around five months of the year, mainly for business, but stay at the best properties and experience the newest and next in food and entertainment. I’ve been to many resorts around the world and seen the best, as well as the average and less than average. Majid has created a very special place at the Rose Sultan (I believe he has also seen his fair share of deluxe properties and he has a very sophisticated, yet casual and “unsnobbish” taste, which is, at the end of the day, more “luxe” than many places I’ve visited that claim to provide luxury experiences.). And best of all, I would rate the Rose Sultan as one of the best values for the price that I’ve ever experienced. I've tried to think hard of any down sides or things I didn't like, but honestly, none come to mind.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms here...check out the website for photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Rose Sultan is a beautiful get away, perfect for a quiet and romantic stay. The design of the hotel gives you the first insight into what your stay will be like: a quiet, luxury and peaceful, out of this world stay. Majid is a great host and gives you this home feeling everyone is after as soon as he welcomes you into his fabulous place. The food proposed is simple but fresh and tasty. Worthwhile trying! The view on the mountains is amazing, the pool invites you to just relax and do Nothing....perfect!
We would recommend Rose Sultan with no hesistation, although once you have found such a place, you don't really want to spread the word....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Luxury meets casual at this very special Riad. I felt as comfortable as being at home but with the service of being a king. The view is spectacular, while enjoying breakfast poolside the white capped mountains are beautiful. This hotel was the favorite part of my trip. I felt totally relaxed and cared for and I’ll defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is the third time I've stayed at Rose Sultan while travelling to Marrakech and the experience was amazing, as ever. Just love the sophisticated yet chilled and warm atmosphere that makes you feel just like home. The owner and the entire boutique hotel team consistently go above and beyond to meet whatever need one might have. And last but not least, the home made cuisine is just mouth watering!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

What a stay! These are the most fantastic three days I spent in Marrakech. I have already been 3 times to the Red city and this time was the best one.

Excellent Moroccan food, warm and extremely good service, we felt at home. The owner is very helpful and makes you feel your are in your private palace.

The garden and the pool are delightful and the view on the snowy mountains is awesome

Next time I will rent the whole place to celebrate my birthday with friends. Many thanks to the whole team.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Had the good fortune to visit Marrakesh and Rose Sultan in November. Loved every bit of Rose Sultan - the Suite was perfect, lots of lovely touches and beautiful architecture. Spent our days by the pool . Sunset and evening on the lawn lounging with cocktails overlooking the central pool was like a dream come true!
The staff were unbelievably attentive and the food was out of this world - better than any restaurants we ate in within Marrakech itself.
Bath products are amazingly refreshing and smell rose and rosemary!
The massage was very high quality. Nice essential oil jacuzzi bath but unfortunately too small for a couple.
Nice location in front of the Atlas Mountains, 15 minutes far from the hectic Place Jemaa El Fna.
The owner, Majid was very helpful and recommended nice places to visit.
I will come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.4 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
9.4 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
10.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#105 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
6.5 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#52 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Sultan

Address: Route Ourika km11 | Tassoultante, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and peaceful area, not far from the bustle of the red city, welcomes you. Set in a beautiful area of over 2.5 acre, facing the Atlas, ROSE SULTAN villa has beautiful gardens with a typical Berber tent, a place to relax. 21m / 6m Infinity heated pool, with sundeck, Jacuzzi, table tennis and petanque. Our chef offers a quality catering (Occidental cuisine and local specialties). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rose Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Sultan Marrakech
Rose Sultan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.