We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Mogador Kasbah to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
toulouse, france
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

After a rocky start to our trip at an awful hotel, we were moved here. Such a pleasant change. The staff were kind and helpful. there was a problem the 1st night with noise from the neighbours but the manager rectified this by moving us to a suite which was lovely and had a very comfy king sized bed (none of that push 2 singles together and call it a double). We were in fact over pillowed which is a rare occurance. the pool area was very nice but the weather was a bit too nippy for a dip. there was free wifi in the rooms and public areas and a pc in the lobby for guest use. we were on 1/2 board and the food was tasty. Had a buffet 1 night which was fine but since the hotel was fairly empty had a short menu which was great. Would reccomend having lunch on the terrace then taking the free shuttle to the medina for shopping,dinner,people watching. There is a new mall about 150 meters away with a French supermarket and upscale shops. The supermarket came in handy as no alchohol is served but all the rooms have a mini fridge for bevs,fruit and whatever.Quibbles: breakfast a bit of a let down. Little or no fruit, scary looking scrambled eggs and rather lovely pastries if you want to start the day on a sugar high. They made us omelettes and hubb brought down fruit,muesli and yogurt from the room with no grumbling from the staff. No coffee/tea in room but happy to bring up teapot of hot water or coffee. It is in a new development so the views are not great unless you are into building sites but by holding your arm at a certain angle get the mountains without the the unfinished buidings. yes, it is a bit out from the centre of things but after a few hours in the madness of the souk it is nice to get on the free shuttle to quiet. definately a keeper and can't say enough about the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: 2052 is lovely. pool view rooms all have twin beds. if you want a bigger bed have to go for street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    133
    80
    64
    28
See reviews for
98
161
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ullapool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just got back from a very relaxing stay with 5 of my friends, This is by far the cleanest hotel I have stayed in for a long time, It was quiet and really enjoyable. We stayed half board, On arrival there was a problem with our booking (the hotel didn't have note of it) but we did not feel worried at all as the staff were very calm and reassuring, and dealt with the problem efficiently The rooms were lovely with HOT HOT water, free safe and free fridges - no hidden cost like most hotels. The view was nothing to write home about but you go to Marrakech for atmosphere and culture. Yes the hotel is alcohol free, but its a Muslim country so we were fine with that, the hotel is walking distance from a large well stocked supermarket where you can get everything you need at good prices, much cheaper than drinking out which is Very expensive, (tip if your having a drink in a bar go for the cocktails as they cost the same as a bottle of beer (£9 roughly) The hotel staff saw us with our clinking bags and were not fussed at all. The food at the buffet dinner was good too.. we got lunch one day (at no extra cost) as we would not be in for dinner,the spread they put on for us alone was FANTASTIC. Breakfast was also very very good they cater for the french tourist so it was very varied. (not a drop of grease in sight!!)
Down sides were few: if you want the free bus into the old town go early as its half full if not full by the time it gets there and even then the old french visitors will shamelessly que jump to get the few seats on.
Secondly if your booking a tour through the hotel be advised the waterfall trip was not as it seemed. We were told everything was included but once there we were told we had to pay for lunch and guide to take us to the waterfalls. we had not budgeted for this so ended up not seeing the falls, plus were were told it was an easy walk as our friend is 6 months pregnant - other guest told it it was very steep .We complained and they were apologetic but was a bit late really.
The dinner show in contrast was very good and worth the money.

Overall it was a great choice of hotel and is so close to the old town AND airport that we did not waste precious time in transit!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The good points of the Hotel Ryad Mogador Kasbah in Marrakech. The hotel is very clean. I would like to see these cleaners clean Warrington Hospitial.The towels are changed every day and the room is all so cleaned each day.We were in room 2066 which over looked the pool.It was a pleasent view.The hotel operates a free bus service to the Old and New town 9 times a day in each direction.It takes about 6 minutes to reach the Old town and the square.
The bad points.THIS HOTEL DOES NOT SELL BEER.The local entertainment was poor.The towels were thread bear. We have thrown betterout.There are birds flying a round the restaurent while you are eating your meals.At the pool you have to listen to very loud head banging music all day.It was a relief when they cut the grass as the lawn moaer drowned out the noise of the music.. If you want a drink you can go to the hotel oppisite Palm Tree They sell beer at close to £5 .00 a bottle and a dry Martini with lemonade cost nearly £9.00.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I visited this hotel in March 2011 for a week. I'd read reviews in TripAdvisor that had been somewhat negative, so was a little worried, but needn't have been - the whole hotel was excellent.

It's located about a 30/40-minute walk from the main square in the centre of town, but the hotel runs a free shuttle bus service right to the centre every hour and a half and it takes ten minutes to get to either the main square or the European part of the city. This was always on time and we never had a problem getting a seat - this may be different if you travel at a much busier time of year, though. There are always taxis outside the hotel if you’d rather take those.

The hotel was always clean, calm and quiet, which was great after the noisy bustle of central Marrakesh. Our room was large and had a balcony. Although it overlooked a building site, other rooms overlook the swimming pool and ours still had a good view of the Atlas mountains. The water pressure (mentioned in another review as bad) was great, and a good temperature. The room had air conditioning and a fridge, too. It was cleaned really well every day and there’s furniture for the balcony as well as the room.
We had breakfast at the hotel (included in our booking) and it was great – continental buffet style (so pastries, bread, cheese, ham) and also olives, freshly-made pancakes, juices, tea, coffee, yoghurts and fruit. Another review has mentioned there was always stuff missing from breakfast – we never found that. The dinner was quite expensive and the menu didn’t look too exciting, so we never had dinner at the hotel.

The pool is large and was cleaned every day. There are loungers all around the pool and a terrace where you can get lunch during the day.

Although the hotel is a bit of a way away from the centre of Marrakesh, there are places to eat nearby – the reception staff pointed us in the direction of a shopping centre where there are restaurants, clothes shops and a massive Carrefour (French supermarket), where you can buy alcohol (not that easy to come by in Marrakesh).

The reception staff arrange day trips for guests – we went to Essaouria for the day and they can also arrange nights in the desert and trips to the mountains. These include travel and meals and are all arranged very quickly – the day before you want to go is usually fine. There’s a computer at the hotel, though sometimes they take away the keyboard (not sure why) so you might have to ask for it at the reception desk. Most of the staff spoke some English, or you can speak to them in French or Arabic.

Overall, I find it very hard to fault the hotel. It may be the time of year we went, which means it was quieter than usual, but the staff were friendly, the room was clean and the food was good. And it provided a lovely, calm retreat from the bustle of the centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My hunsband and I stayed for a week at this hotel; we were supposed to stay in a room whith a double bed which found itself to be a twin bedded room; unfriendly staff unable to give any information about tourism in the town or where to go and what to see. No electricity and no internet!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I'll start with a summary, for anyone not wanting to read the full review.

Good Cleanliness
The State of Building Maintenance

Acceptable Rooms
Pool (even though service is poor)

Bad The Service/ Friendliness of Staff (language is a beautiful thing)
The Shower Water Flow
The Room Aircon
Location / The Free Shuttle Bus
The Bar
Breakfast

My wife and I arranged bed and breakfast at the Ryad Mogador Kasbah via the Travel Republic website using EasyJet and transfers with Travel Hoppa, both of whom provided excellent service and value for money.

The Ryad Mogador Kasbah is situated in the Zone Touristique area to the south of old Marrakech, 2.3 miles from the main square. I was initially quite impressed with the hotel, especially as I had booked it "on a budget". The lobby was spacious and beautifully decorated (see photos). The terraced breakfast area looked appealing. The pool was adequately sized and looked well equipped.

The room was pleasant and acceptably spacious. The housekeepers did an excellent job everyday. The water flow in the shower and basin was well below par, the shower could just manage a fine mist (temperature variable). After 2 visits to the reception desk I gave up trying to explain my dissatisfaction. Even with the summer temperatures receding I did feel the air conditioning was struggling to keep pace with the late afternoon temperatures.

The dining room had an pleasant outside terrace, breakfast was served buffet style. Though the breakfast was adequate, we were generally disappointed with the meal. Every morning there was something different missing from the buffet. The tea bags, orange juice, tea cups, hot water and toaster regularly disappeared, fruit made a guest appearance on the first day. The hot food on offer was limited to omelette’s or soup (well it looked like minestrone). The croissants and pastries were of varying freshness. Need I go on.

The Evening entertainment in the lounge consisted of a keyboard player and a singer, singing traditional Arab songs, not my personal taste. There’s a large screen TV showing a variety of Arabic/ Engilsh / French language programmes. Skype calls were possible on the excellent Wi-Fi. (The Wi-Fi was available in the bar, reception and pool cafe).

We found the service abysmal. I've never been to a hotel where the waiters stay behind the bar and you have to go to them to order and then 15 minutes later you have to go and remind them of your order (I thought it was maybe a Moroccan thing, but found out that it wasn't). Elsewhere the service was painfully slow. This became very frustrating

We had one "rest" day by the pool. The loungers were reasonably comfortable and the pool itself is a good size, however I've never understood why hotels make them so deep, I could only stand on the bottom for about 25% of its area. There is smaller children’s pool. A Poolside drinks service didn't exist, though there was a snack bar on the adjacent terrace.
On this particular day the musical theme was French Trance Music, which increased in volume as the day went on. (To the point of being deafening). One point of note, there is a building site across the road from the pool, we didn't notice much noise (even between the disco tracks), but that might not remain the same.

As I said earlier, the hotel is well out of town, there are absolutely no other facilities close by. Fortunately the hotel has a free shuttle service to the city centre. Unfortunately, there’s only one every 90 minutes or so. AND it must pick up at at least one other Mogador hotel before reaching us. Additionally, you have to compete for the few (if any) remaining seats with other tourists (queueing was not an option). The return journey is even more of a scramble. The answer is just forget it. The taxis outside the hotel grossly overcharge for the ride into town and generally refuse to budge below 50 Dehrams (just over £4). But as a way of avoiding the Melee its the only other option. Two return trips a day into town added nearly £90 to our holiday costs over the week.

OK, that reads a fairly long - winded, gruesome review. I've tried to be as honest as I could without going into personal details. We are a fairly easy going couple and both felt it was a shame. Minor changes could make this a good hotel. If the staff could lighten up a bit, smile and get on with the job it would be miles better. The apparent language barrier made us feel unwelcome. The Transport difficulties were annoying. But having said all of this we still thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Marrakech and will return one day, but not to this hotel.

Please don't hesitate to email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We booked a last minute holiday so maybe we didn't check out the hotel like we would usually do. The hotel is on what Marrekesh call the tourist area which basically mean a 10 minute taxi ride fron the centre of Marrekesh with no other facilities but them that are in the Hotel . We we arrived none on the reception spoke to us we told them we had booked a room and was pushed 2 pieces of paper infront of us and pointed to fill in . We had requested a room on the ground floor because I am disabled but were given a key and told the room was one the 2nd floor. The room was clean and the housekeeping kept it that way all the week . The shower was a joke and the fridge didn't work . After going down to reception twice the best we got was a mist from the shower .There is a lot of building works going on around the hotel so it hasn't realy got a view on anyside. The staff we found very unfriendly if you were English making out they couldn't understand the simplest of requests a black coffee or just down right rude in just ignoring you . The bar in the hotel closed at 11.00 so after this a couple that had just arrived were told no drinks now !!. The swimming pool overlooks the building works though not a lot of noise the view isn't what you are looking for and the music all week was some kind of French " trans music" which the pool boy seemed to like as he sat in his shorts on the swining chair reading his newspaper . Food is well basic we went for bed and breakfast , no fruit most mornings the offer was salad! cheese and omlete the taoster was only out for a couple of days .Croissants were never fresh and always tasted like the day before's You have to hunt down a teacup . We only had one meal for dinner in the hotel that was enough . The same salad as was offered for breakfast and chicken and curried rice or fish balls .
All in all a very disappointing holiday at this hotel . Marrekesh is wonderful and I would reccomend anyone thinking about going to do this just stay clear of this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#392 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#370 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
#373 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#418 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#359 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
#332 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Kasbah

Address: Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#146 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is located in Marrakech, 4 km from Marrakech Airport. It offers an outdoor swimming pool and a free shuttle bus to the city centre every 2 hours. Combining a Moroccan and contemporary style, the rooms are air-conditioned and include satellite TV. They also feature internet access. The Mogador Kasbah restaurant serves international cuisine and guests can enjoy a snack in the poolside bar and relax in the tea lounge. The Hotel Mogador Kasbah also offers room service and a selection of light meals, served until midnight. Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Ryad Mogador Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Kasbah Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.