We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm after the chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 58 Blu to your Saves list
Riad 58 Blu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Calm after the chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful riad. Quiet and calm. Lovely suites renovated to a very high standard. All suites overlook the central enclosed courtyard with a decorative pool and sun loungers. Breakfast, served on the roof terrace, was good, with yoghurt, local breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and omelettes on request. Ishmail, the manager, was very helpful, as was Paolo the owner. A bit tricky to find but you soon get used to the alleyways that lead to Jemaa el Fna square. A ten minute walk. Beer, wine, snacks were available on request but were pricey. All in all, a very nice, peaceful stay in the chaos that was Marrakech.

Room Tip: First floor suites are probably quieter and more private than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    59
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
297
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a great Riad, recommended for anyone staying in Marrakech!
- The rooms are very nice
- The terrace on the roof is amazing
- The Service was great
- Breakfast was very good
- The Riad is at a very good location, about 5-10 minutes walking from the Jemaa el-Fnaa square in a quiet side street of the medina. It is a bit hard to find though. I recommend to call in advance, the staff offered to pick us up at the train-station.

I would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June 2013. This Riad is a haven of peace and calm amongst the manic and boiling hot Medina...it was 45c when we were there! Our ground floor room was gorgeous, the bathroom worked just as it should, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast on the roof terrace was a great way to start the day. At the end of a long hot sweaty day, it was wonderful to use the small but perfectly formed plunge pool which was literally right outside our bedroom door.
I can't say enough about the staff, nothing was too much trouble, from providing beers at 1am for us to have with our son and friend on the roof terrace, to making outstandingly good recommendations for restaurants.
The only thing stopping me giving Riad 58 Blu 5 stars is the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room, otherwise this place is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Riad during May this year and had a truly wonderful experience. The accomodation was excellent and the staff extremely helpful. Delicious breakfast served on the Roof Terrace, followed by amazing trips exploring Marrakech and the surrounding area - including a very worthwhile visit to the Atlas Mountains. We found all the locals, very friendly and helpful, and at no time did we feel uncomfortable with them.
The only 'discomfort' we experienced was the sight of some English female tourists who were dressed in totally 'inappropriate' clothes for a Muslim City ie bikini tops and skimpy shorts which would have even looked out of place in London. When in Rome etc and a little respects for your hosts culture shouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Riad 58 blu provides a haven indeed, Marrakesh being the most frenetic of cities we’ve visited in Morocco – frenetic because the heavy foot- and bicycle- and donkey-cart traffic in the narrow streets of the medina is complicated by a persistent rush of mopeds and motorcycles, often driven by dare-devil young men. So the quiet side streets that lead to the Riad 58 blu always proved a most welcome sight. It was easy to reach, too, because located only about five minutes by foot from the touristic center of the city, the Place Jemaa el-Fna.

The Riad’s small, beautiful courtyard with fountain is a most restful place to relax, read, chat. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully appointed. The roof-top terrace is a delightful place to indulge in the Riad’s excellent, abundant, and well-presented breakfasts. And the staff will go out of their way to be helpful: Mohammed, the manager, not only provided lots of good advice on touristic and shopping themes, but even went to the station on his moped to buy the train tickets for our departure. I would most happily return to the Riad 58 blu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first time in Marrakesh and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The Riad is tucked away down one of the back streets in the Medina (but the Riad provides taxi transfer to and from the airport included in the room rate) and is within five minutes walk of Jemaa al Fna and Bahia Palace. This really is a beautiful retreat from the heat and bustle of the old town; our room was a lovely suite on the ground floor, overlooking the courtyard.
Breakfast was taken on the rooftop terrace and we often returned to sit here in the evening and relax. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakesh and would happily make a return visit, great place.

Room Tip: Every room is unique; we emailed the owner (Paulo) a couple of times before our visit and always got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We weren't quite sure what to expect having booked a Riad in the centre of the Medina, but I can honestly say it was the best decision that we made on the trip. The place is absolutely fantastic and has been restored with a lot of care and attention in the original Moroccan design.

Despite being in the middle of the Medina it is an Island of peace and extremely easy to find from the Jama E Fna after yourfirst trip. Ismail who looked after us during our stay showed us the way on the first day and gave us handly pointers for our return.

The rooms are very clean, with the cleaning ladies doing a grand job every day, the air conditioning was good and the bathrooms all worked.

Finally I have to mention the fantastic attention that Ismail paid to me and my family from making the breakfast in the morning to his general advise on Marrakesh. The man works so hard it feels like he's at the place 24/7. His smile and pleasant manner were a joy to come back to after a hard days work on the tourist trial.

The Riad also provided free pickup and drop off from the airport which was a great help, especially on the way there when travelling with children.

All in all a great stay, thanks Ismail and the ladies, see you soon I hope.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 58 Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.