We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Save Saved
You added Riad 58 Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
Riad 58 Blu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night before moving on to Essaouira on the coast and boy was it a pleasant surprise. Hard to find tucked away down the back streets it took a while to find but well worth it when we arrived. Beautiful and ornate, totally unique feel to the place, the photos don't do it justice. Ishmael the manager was extremely friendly and helpful, he advised us on the best places to eat and then walked with us through the winding back streets to the main square to ensure that we didn't get lost, pointing out navigation points on the way so that we could find our way back again.

Breakfast, which we ate in the sunshine on the roof with its views of the city and the mountains, was outstanding, a huge tray of breads, cakes, fruit, homemade yoghurts and preserves, scrambled eggs etc, really delicious with lots of fresh orange juice cocktails and copious teas and coffees.

There is a small minibar in each room for those that are interested.

The level of detail in the architecture and the decor is outstanding and really makes this place special. We wandered around for most of the morning oohing and aahing at the walls and the paintings etc, really rather wonderful.

Room Tip: We looked through all the rooms as we were the only couple staying there, they all looked good to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    51
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
259
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in April when Marrakech was experiencing hot August temperatures rather than the average balmy April weather, however the ground floor rooms in the riad stayed beautifully cool and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.
The position of Riad 58 Blu close to the main square was excellent and Ishmail personally took us to show us the way. He and Mohammed were able to direct us to restaurants nearby (or further off) if required. Paulo arranged a car trip to the coast.
The individual care taken by Mohammed and the other staff makes a huge difference to the enjoyment of the visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Still here on a week's break. Paolo and his team, Ismael, Mohammed and staff, really go out of their way to make you welcome and to help. Room is great. Everything works. Riad is just a short distance from many of the main sights, but is quiet and cool and peaceful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from an impulse short break in Marrakech - it was fantastic! A late email to Paulo and he immediately confirmed that we would be met at the airport. We were arriving quite late so asked if we could eat - no problem. We asked for lemon chicken tagine as I had read from another reviewer that it was good. Ishmail met us from the taxi, took us to a lovely suite and set a romantic table for us. Lovely. Breakfast served by Ishmail (does he ever sleep!?) on the terrace in the morning was delicious and plentiful. Paulo booked an excursion for us for the following day to the Atlas Mountains and a 'Hammam' at the fabulous Bains de Marrakech before personally walking us to the Djemaa el Fna and showing us the signs to lookout for so we could find our way back. We ate dinner at his Italian restaurant in the new city. Delicious and excellent value. He had not pushed it at all - I had read that he also ran an Italian restaurant so asked if we could book a meal. All in all we had a fabulous stay, unlike a previous reviewer, felt perfectly safe walking 'home' at night and found our way easily by following the signs. The warmth and helpfulness of the staff at the Riad could not be faulted. We shall definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Down a tiny alleyway, where builders are working, you'd have no idea what lay behind that wooden door at 1st glance! We contacted the owner, Paolo, a week or so before our trip and free transport from the airport was arranged. We were settled into our suites in this beautiful, individual Riad and were the only people there for 2 nights, so we truly felt spoilt, especially by Ishmail, who looked after us like our own personal Butler during our stay. We also had a lovely meal at the Riad on our 1st night. Paolo walked us to the main road and gave us directions and once you have your bearings, it is very easy and safe to get around. Everything is walking distance from the Riad if you stay within the medina and you can easily cab or take a horse drawn carriage to other sights like Morjorelle Gardens. We can also recommend La Maison Arabe for a special meal and a wonderful setting. Kozybar is lovely for a sundowner. We also used the Hammam 'Les Bains de Marrakech' - sheer luzury! The Jewish quarter is also very interesting. Be warned that you'll be advised that different routes are closed or the way to the El Badi Palace is that way, then left, then right... all with the intention of sending you via their shop... but we found it all light hearted and without the hard sell. All in all a great stay and the Riad surpassed our expectations.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor, the room by the plunge pool is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Riad is very well placed, being easy walking distance to all the sights but far enough from the centre to be peaceful - very neccesessary after a day in Marrakech. All the staff are friendly and helpful, and quick to sort out any problems/give advice. Mohammed's guidance on finding the way to and from the riad was essential!
The rooms are comfortable and breakfast on the roof terrace was most enjoyable. You do need to come to terms with curtains across the doorway during the day but this soon seemed quite natural. You are also reliant on quiet guests, as sound travels in the open courtyard very easily.
Unfortunately, the bath is only intended to be used as a shower tray and does not have a plug.
The rooms are quite gloomy (riad style) but bright bedside lights were thoughtfully provided.
Marrakech is frenzied and we spent too much time lost in the souks and alleys, as the tourist maps are totally inadequate. This is fun at first, but another time would buy a proper map from a map specialist before leaving UK.
There are many exceptional things to see in Marrakech, all in the guide books. A day in the Atlas mountains provides a good contrast with the town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

February is low-season, the evenings are cold, the riads are not full, and rates are lower. So we were upgraded free-of-charge to suites. The rooms are very comfortable and they have heaters. Portable heaters heat the bathrooms. This mid-range riad is very tastefully done, and has a lovely terrace where breakfast is served. There is a gorgeous inner courtyard with a fountain that is candle-lit every night. We had complementary transfers to the airport and it is best to clarify that in the rate beforehand.

The location is good as it is a short walk to the medina, Djema Al-Fna. We walked to Saadian Tombs, Dar Si Said, Bahia Palace, the medersa, Museum of Marrakech, souks, tanneries, etc. There are numerous locations to change money and ATMs for cash withdrawal (get better rate through ATMs). There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The outstanding Pepe Nero is a five-minute walk and Mohammed will happily make a reservation (must reserve for this popular place).

The riad is owned by Paolo, who is very pleasant and run by Mohammed and Ishmail. We had exchanged e-mails with Paolo before our visit for various things such vegetarian meals, rates for car/driver/guide, side-trips. Mohammed checked us in, explained everything, and took us to the medina/square so we could find our way without asking anyone. He showed us where to change money. He arranged for a car and driver for a dinner in Ville Nouvelle and for Valley Ourika. It is almost certainly cheaper to arrange for a Grand Taxi for dinner from a taxi stand for 3 or people as the Petit Taxis only take up to 3 passengers. But this was convenient as we were tired and it turned out that the restaurant (Cuisine de Mona--an excellent Lebanese restaurant) was not easy to locate, so an English-speaking driver was very helpful. You really do not need a guide to go around and in fact the guides can be a nuisance taking you to shops more than the sights. It is not difficult to get around the old town, it is safe, and a guide book is enough.

So Mohammed is a very useful and helpful resource--he can be moody and it is best to ignore it. In Morocco everything is and should be negotiated (rates, car, driver, guides, certain meals, shops). Ishmail served us our breakfasts very graciously. He loves to chat and it was fun to hear his views and get an insight into life in Marrakech. The breakfasts were lovely consisting of coffee/tea (mint tea as well), almond-flavored yogurt, various Moroccan breads, orange juice, and a little fruit. Between Mohammed and Ishmail, the riad can feel like home away from home. It was also very pleasant to meet other guests.

For vegetarians, Riad 58 Blu has by far the best vegetarian tajine. It was nothing like the bland standard fare with seven vegetables--there were so many fresh, flavorful vegetables and they were perfectly cooked and flavored with tons of fresh herbs. We had to order dinner ahead of time as they normally don't serve meals. We ordered three between the four of us but two would have been plenty. The meal was one of our best on the trip and Ishmail was so wonderful in serving us. So even if you happen to stay elsewhere, do call and book a vegetarian dinner--the setting, the food, and the service are perfect. If the veg food is so good, the chicken and lamb dishes have to be superb as well.

The only thing that could be mildly inconvenient for people is the lack of shower curtains that make the bathrooms really wet for the next person. Also keep in mind that riads are the equivalent of havelis in India--there are few or no windows, and the windows overlook an inner courtyard. So rooms tend to be dark. Our ground-floor suite had huge, really pretty stained-glass windows which overlooked the pretty courtyard but the room was dark. They are built for very hot summers more than the short, but cold, winters. This is true of all riads as they are traditional homes/big houses that have been renovated. They have far more character and charm than a standard hotel.

We highly recommend this riad as we had a great time.

Room Tip: All the 5 rooms are different. The two first-floor rooms are great as is the ground-floor suite away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Hotel
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech
Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 58 Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.