We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming riad, great mid-range choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Save Saved
You added Riad 58 Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad 58 Blu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming riad, great mid-range choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Riad is very well placed, being easy walking distance to all the sights but far enough from the centre to be peaceful - very neccesessary after a day in Marrakech. All the staff are friendly and helpful, and quick to sort out any problems/give advice. Mohammed's guidance on finding the way to and from the riad was essential!
The rooms are comfortable and breakfast on the roof terrace was most enjoyable. You do need to come to terms with curtains across the doorway during the day but this soon seemed quite natural. You are also reliant on quiet guests, as sound travels in the open courtyard very easily.
Unfortunately, the bath is only intended to be used as a shower tray and does not have a plug.
The rooms are quite gloomy (riad style) but bright bedside lights were thoughtfully provided.
Marrakech is frenzied and we spent too much time lost in the souks and alleys, as the tourist maps are totally inadequate. This is fun at first, but another time would buy a proper map from a map specialist before leaving UK.
There are many exceptional things to see in Marrakech, all in the guide books. A day in the Atlas mountains provides a good contrast with the town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    52
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
269
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

February is low-season, the evenings are cold, the riads are not full, and rates are lower. So we were upgraded free-of-charge to suites. The rooms are very comfortable and they have heaters. Portable heaters heat the bathrooms. This mid-range riad is very tastefully done, and has a lovely terrace where breakfast is served. There is a gorgeous inner courtyard with a fountain that is candle-lit every night. We had complementary transfers to the airport and it is best to clarify that in the rate beforehand.

The location is good as it is a short walk to the medina, Djema Al-Fna. We walked to Saadian Tombs, Dar Si Said, Bahia Palace, the medersa, Museum of Marrakech, souks, tanneries, etc. There are numerous locations to change money and ATMs for cash withdrawal (get better rate through ATMs). There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within walking distance. The outstanding Pepe Nero is a five-minute walk and Mohammed will happily make a reservation (must reserve for this popular place).

The riad is owned by Paolo, who is very pleasant and run by Mohammed and Ishmail. We had exchanged e-mails with Paolo before our visit for various things such vegetarian meals, rates for car/driver/guide, side-trips. Mohammed checked us in, explained everything, and took us to the medina/square so we could find our way without asking anyone. He showed us where to change money. He arranged for a car and driver for a dinner in Ville Nouvelle and for Valley Ourika. It is almost certainly cheaper to arrange for a Grand Taxi for dinner from a taxi stand for 3 or people as the Petit Taxis only take up to 3 passengers. But this was convenient as we were tired and it turned out that the restaurant (Cuisine de Mona--an excellent Lebanese restaurant) was not easy to locate, so an English-speaking driver was very helpful. You really do not need a guide to go around and in fact the guides can be a nuisance taking you to shops more than the sights. It is not difficult to get around the old town, it is safe, and a guide book is enough.

So Mohammed is a very useful and helpful resource--he can be moody and it is best to ignore it. In Morocco everything is and should be negotiated (rates, car, driver, guides, certain meals, shops). Ishmail served us our breakfasts very graciously. He loves to chat and it was fun to hear his views and get an insight into life in Marrakech. The breakfasts were lovely consisting of coffee/tea (mint tea as well), almond-flavored yogurt, various Moroccan breads, orange juice, and a little fruit. Between Mohammed and Ishmail, the riad can feel like home away from home. It was also very pleasant to meet other guests.

For vegetarians, Riad 58 Blu has by far the best vegetarian tajine. It was nothing like the bland standard fare with seven vegetables--there were so many fresh, flavorful vegetables and they were perfectly cooked and flavored with tons of fresh herbs. We had to order dinner ahead of time as they normally don't serve meals. We ordered three between the four of us but two would have been plenty. The meal was one of our best on the trip and Ishmail was so wonderful in serving us. So even if you happen to stay elsewhere, do call and book a vegetarian dinner--the setting, the food, and the service are perfect. If the veg food is so good, the chicken and lamb dishes have to be superb as well.

The only thing that could be mildly inconvenient for people is the lack of shower curtains that make the bathrooms really wet for the next person. Also keep in mind that riads are the equivalent of havelis in India--there are few or no windows, and the windows overlook an inner courtyard. So rooms tend to be dark. Our ground-floor suite had huge, really pretty stained-glass windows which overlooked the pretty courtyard but the room was dark. They are built for very hot summers more than the short, but cold, winters. This is true of all riads as they are traditional homes/big houses that have been renovated. They have far more character and charm than a standard hotel.

We highly recommend this riad as we had a great time.

Room Tip: All the 5 rooms are different. The two first-floor rooms are great as is the ground-floor suite away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a long day travelling to Marrakech, a change of planes at Casablanca, a short taxi ride from the airport and trundling our cases down a few alleyways I must admit we did feel a bit daunted at the prospects of what the Riad 58 Blu would be like. On arrival at the ornate but indistinct door (accompanied by our taxi driver) we did wonder what lay behind.

To our surprise, when the door was opened by Ismail it opened into a wonderland of Moroccan architecture and we felt instantly at ease in what was to be our home for the next 4 days. The next day we met Mohammed the manager who was very obliging in giving us advice about where to go in the city and offered to arrange taxis, restaurants etc.

From arrival to leaving our stay was well catered for even to the extent that Ismail took us on our first day to the main square and pointed out landmarks so that we could find our way back through the myriad of alleyways which all look the same. He and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly, eager to please and were very concerned when my partner took ill and remained in bed for the day on our second day there even to the extent that they kept checking up on his progress and offered him breakfast in bed. The rooms were meticulously cleaned on a daily basis and the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel.

The roof terrace is quirky to say the least and is a fabulous place to eat al fresco but in the winter can be a bit chilly. The breakfasts consisted of the tastiest yogurt we have eaten, fresh fruit and fabulous local bread all freshly prepared with an assortment of jams. There was also the option of omelette if required.

Toufik the driver who took us up into the mountains (1300MAD approx £100) was also an excellent source of information and took us to the ski resort which my partner, who skis, did say was beyond rustic and was quite rough to ski on, compared to European resorts. There is also no piste map so a guide is recommended but doesn't come cheap which is the same for ski and boot hire. After his rough ride down the mountain and my rickety ride to the top in the chairlift we were ready for some food and were presented with what was the tastiest soup and tagine we had during the whole holiday. All in all our day in the mountains was very interesting and breathtakingly beautiful. One word of caution though is when you are taken to see the waterfall which is pretty but by no means breathtaking decline the offer of a guide as it is very easy to find but one hell of a climb over rocks (take good walking shoes). The guide was expensive at 200MAD and really not necessary.
We would definitely recommend the Riad 58 Blu to anyone who wants a little bit of luxury and rustic charm while holidaying in Marrakech.

Our thanks to all the staff for making our stay a very special one and one which we will always remember.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

To properly experience Marrakesh you have to stay in a Riad. Riad 58 is first class and ALL the staff and Paolo are very helpful.
Of course you have to work out how to find the Riad in the maze of little streets but it is not difficult and fun. At least you can rub shoulders with the locals ( literally!).Mohammed and Ismail were helpful in their advice and were willing to take you to local restaurants. Toufik the local driver is very helpful and always at the right place at the right time.
Cannot fault the Riad and would stay there again.
For visits, Ourika valley and Essaouaira are musts as well as the Majorelle gardens.
Restaurants, Tanjia, El Fassia, , Peppenero are first class - you get what you pay for.
Dancing displays in restaurants equal mediocre food and high price.

Room Tip: Suites on first floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The arrival is daunting to a newcomer. After a journey through a maze of streets we had to leave the airport taxi in a dusty, bustling square, walk a few yards down a narrow street, and turn left into a narrower one to reach the imposing front door of Riad 58 Blu. The Judas gate which was opened to our ring revealed the entrance hall of a truely unexpected interior.
The riad's five bedrooms are arranged on three floors around a soaring and marvellously decorated courtyard with a pool into which we never plunged (well this was January). Here were tastes of many of the architectorial conceits we were to see in various palaces and museums during our first trip to Marrakesh. Mosaics are used to effect, as is the splendid moulded plasterwork. The roof terrace where breakfast is served is quirkier adopting a zebra motif.
Our ground floor suite, had a vestibule, sleeping area, sitting area and bathroom stretched across one side of the building. It was clean and very tidy until our luggage hit it and, as with the rest of the riad, was kept to perfection by the housekeeping team. The room had a safe, a minibar and a phone. There was no hairdryer and the lights were generally dim. But we asked for, and were willingly given, a brighter bulb to allow reading.
Breakfasts were plentiful including yogurt, many local breads, weak orange juice and strong coffee. We also had omeletes and, on request, fruit salad. We had our first evening meal at the riad: a three course affair consisting of Moroccan salad, a chicken tajine and fruit. Cost 250 MAD.
That meal effectively got over the first night nervousness at seeing such a different culture close up. The next morning Paulo, the owner, was there to greet us and conduct us to the old city's main square. With the manager, Mohammed, and his aide, Ibrahim, there was always someone on hand in the riad to answer questions and offer help. Trips to the Atlas mountains were arranged; hammans contacted for massage appointments; directions given; suggested prices for taxi rides made. We were made to feel that they wanted us to be happy during our stay. Paulo provided the transport to and from the airport in the price of our trip.
The riad is well placed to explore the old city. Place Jemma el Fna (the big square) takes about seven minutes on foot. From there the walk to the northern medina and Medersa Ben Youssef could take a lot longer as it takes you through the souks. Heading south to the Mellah and the Kasbah takes about 20 minutes as does the trip east to the Tanneries. All are walkable and there is plenty to see along the way. There is a restaurant off the square near the hotel but it was much more interesting to eat in el Fna which has many eating terraces and the famed night market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I can undestand why the reviwer who stayed one night was not happy, it is a huge culture shock staying in the old city in Marrakech. We were very apprehensive when we first arrived, the maze of narrow streets, no sign posts, not knowing the place, not being sure of the locals. The first night we came home by time and did not go out, what a mistake!
The staff are great, Mohammed took us on a tour as soon as we arrived showing us how to get in and out of the Riad, how to get to the main central square, pointing out reasurtants. This did give us some reasurance but it is not until you start getting about on your own that you realise how wonderfull the place in.
Ishmael also speaks great English and did everything he could to help out backed up by two ladies making a team which do everything they can to make your holiday.
The next morning started with breakfast cooked to order served on the roof over looking Marrakech in the sunshine, a great start givning you confidence that everything will be allright.
A Riad is difficult to imagine if you have not seen one, you go down a series of alleys with high walls on both sides which get narrower the further you go, you then come to a door in the wall which gives very little clue as to what is behind it and you are wondering if you should go through. When you do through it is an incredible contrast and you could go for this alone.
Once you set off into the rabbit warren of alley ways your confidence grows firstly when you realise the locals are friendly and trustworty, at no time day or night did we feel even a little bit threatand. You have to watch for motobikes, trolleys, donkey carts as well as all the pedestrians all moving at once in the narrow alleys. They are all lit at night and we went out each night in the dark with no issues. You do get a bit of hassle from the stall holders and shop keepers but this is generally fairly light and not too persistant. This is more than balanced by generally tennagers offering advice and directions if you are looking lost.
Head for the big square where Mohammed has taken you to as so much seems to happen in and around this. It is a hive of activity day and night, watch out around 4pm when all the food stalls arrive and set up in a very organised manner ready to serve until midnight. There are several roof terraces which you can get to for the price of a drink and watch the unfolding events. Looking up is a good piece of advice for Marrakech, often you see an empy reasturant only to find a bustling roof terrace three floors up.
Reasutants are very plentiful but similar to UK prices, they vary from being good wholesome Morroccon food through to great dining experiences, we had some great meals. Alchohl is available in some reasurtants and bars but is at London prices.
Overall we really enjoyed our three nights in Marrakech.
Top Tip, if you want to travel about in Morrocco, we went to Essouria for two nights, there is a very good bus network run by SupraTours which has a bus depot just behind the Main Railway Station in Marrakech. 1st Class is similar to UK standards and Comfort Plus is better than anything I had travelled on before. It is an efficient service, reasonably priced, several departures a day which do seem to change often. Book the day before and all the taxi drivers know where supra tours are. I you want a day trip to Essouria, well worth it you can pay 40 euros for an organised trip on a mini bus, 20 Euros for Supra Tours Comfort Plus(one return trip per day), departing 9am retuning at 5pm(Jan 13) or 14 Euros for Supra Tours first Class(several trips per day)all return and stopping at the Oil Coperative on the way, but supra tours do not stop at the Goats in The Trees!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are so glad that we chose to stay for our 4 day trip to Marrakech. Our flight was late so we only got into the city at about 10pm. Mohammed, the manager, let us settle in, then took us into the square himself so that we didn't get lost, and also showed us a great place to eat.
He couldn't have been more helpful, and the housekeeping ladies are excellent too!

Only a short distance from a lot of the main attractions in the city it is very easy to get to places (with a few directions from staff). But, it is far enough away to get a little peace at night.
It is very relaxing inside the riad and thew rooms are stunning. We stayed in the double room, which is at the top of the riad and beautifully decorated. We would get a different room next time, only because the bed was a little dodgy at times.

On the shared shuttle home (the riad does offer one but we had already booked ours) the other passengers were talking about their issues with their accomodation, but we really had nothing bad to say!

I will tell everybody I know to go to Marrakech, and I will tell them to stay here! You couldn't ask for better staff anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 58 Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.