We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 58 Blu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad 58 Blu to your Saves list
Riad 58 Blu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are so glad that we chose to stay for our 4 day trip to Marrakech. Our flight was late so we only got into the city at about 10pm. Mohammed, the manager, let us settle in, then took us into the square himself so that we didn't get lost, and also showed us a great place to eat.
He couldn't have been more helpful, and the housekeeping ladies are excellent too!

Only a short distance from a lot of the main attractions in the city it is very easy to get to places (with a few directions from staff). But, it is far enough away to get a little peace at night.
It is very relaxing inside the riad and thew rooms are stunning. We stayed in the double room, which is at the top of the riad and beautifully decorated. We would get a different room next time, only because the bed was a little dodgy at times.

On the shared shuttle home (the riad does offer one but we had already booked ours) the other passengers were talking about their issues with their accomodation, but we really had nothing bad to say!

I will tell everybody I know to go to Marrakech, and I will tell them to stay here! You couldn't ask for better staff anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    54
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
276
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this riad for one night which was ok its on the back streets and very hard to find, you cannot go out at night as its not lit up and prob wouldn't find ur way home so I felt like a prisoner.upon arrival I was told I needed a guide which I refused but then got talked into getting one by the manager,I have travelled all over the world and never had one.The guide turned up who was very nice and well educated but our first port of call was his chosen spice shop were we got the hard sell over priced products that you could buy for pennies in the medina we got ripped off.Then we went to a building he said the arctitecure was good and we needed to go in, as soon as we went in I sensed another scam it was Ali babas carpet warehouse.Again I was subject to a hard sell on carpets for thousands of pounds the scams were getting silly,while I was getting ripped off by his mates the clock was ticking on his fee.we were told he wasn't expensive after the hard sells we decided it was a waste of time him being with us so we went back to the riad were we then became prisoners due to the location of the riad.I felt the hotel let the guests down by scanning them maybe if I stayed longer it would have been a lot worse,marakeche is amazing but don't trust anyone at all they all want to rip u off I read a quote THE WIDER THE SMILE THE SHARPER THE KNIFE this is what marakeche is all about..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this through BA holidays with a flight. We didn't quite know what to expect but hoped it would be somewhere to stay in the heart of the city without being too western. It was fabulous. If you want somewhere like a Premiere Inn without soul or personality but which does an adequate job, don't stay here. If you want to feel part of what's going on in the old city centre, then do. It is a short walk to everything that matters and you can do no better than get advice from Mohammed who is an absolute star. We only had 3 days and didn't want to waste a meal on a bad restaurant. He made sure we didn't. At his suggestion we also went to a fab spa where we had 4 hours on a different planet - really awesome. Ishmael was exceptionally helpful and I agree with other comments about his breakfasts. A bottle of wine on the roof terrace as the sun goes down hearing prayers called is an experience worth the trip all on its own. Many thanks to everyone there. A massive thumbs up from my wife and I.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Ours was on the ground floor. If you need absolute privacy then a riad may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am very conflicted on this place. We had stayed in a different riad in Marrakech several days earlier, so my experience there definitely influenced my opinion of this place.

PROS: The location is very close to the main square and a bunch of cute restaurants (this is key bc it can be very confusing to get around the medina), the riad is very pretty, the breakfast is good.

CONS: It was pretty easy to hear what was going on on the rest of our floor (we were on the first floor); internet was spotty; no shower curtains, so the bathroom got soaked; guests are allowed to smoke in the lobby, which was a little annoying for a non-smoker.

I think the worst thing was the experience we had with one of the staff members who worked at the front desk, which is unfortunate, because we loved interacting with the other people at the riad (especially the man who served us breakfast -- he couldn't have been nicer or more helpful). It was almost as if this guy had multiple personalities; he would lose his temper at the drop of the hat (for example, when we asked him to return our passports, which he had failed to give back to us, he blew up at us for accusing him of keeping them -- sure enough, the passports were in their safe at the front desk), and then he would act friendly in a very fake way to try to avoid us complaining that he had just screamed at us, to the point where the shift in personality felt creepy. We also had multiple issues with the bill at the end; e.g., we weren't told that we would be charged for water when we asked for it at breakfast, and then he screamed at us when we were trying to clarify the charges. Again, when we walked out of the riad, he forced me to make a fake smile and tried to reason with me about why I had just been yelled at.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I thought Riad 58 Blu was absolutely beautiful (the tile work is stunning), and it is quite calming after a crazy day in the medina. The breakfasts are amazing, and Ishmael is absolutely fabulous. My only "complaint" would be that staying in the blue room on the third floor is not the greatest. From the bath, you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the kitchen next door (I could even hear one of the women humming). Also, since the deck with the best view is on the roof of that room, when people are up there it can also be noisy. Other than that, it was truly wonderful, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Just back from our first visit to Marrakech, thank goodness for Riad58blu, you do need somewhere to relax away from the madness that is Marrakech. The Riad is just perfect for this, all beautifully decorated with the most helpfully and charming staff Nothing is too much trouble. Ishmael's breakfasts are lovely and really set you up for the day. The whole place is spotlessly clean. Would not hesitate to recommend. Thank's to Paolo and his team.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a fantastic riad to stay in when you visit Marrakech. The staff are wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are all lovely and the atmosphere is very peaceful. We will definately visit again. Thanks Paolo and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 58 Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 58 Blu

Address: Derb Jdid 58 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad 58 Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter Riad 58 blu, discover this little treasure, this relaxing oasis in the very earth of the lively medina, just a few steps from the excitement of the famous Jema el Fna square.Let yourself be captivated by the magic of its Moorish style and by the warm welcome of Paolo and Cinzia: Paolo Lombatti, its Italian owner who, after ten years experience in Morocco, will suggest you to take advantage of your stay in Marrakech and how to discover its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad 58 Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 58 Blu Marrakech
Riad 58 Blu Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 58 Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.