We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hadika Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Hadika Maria to your Saves list
Riad Hadika Maria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #592 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Kind and Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Riad HadikaMaria has been a very nice experience. It is a peaceful oasis after a walking day in La Medina and it is wonderful to take a Moroccan tee in its terrace. We travel with our three children and all the people in the riad have been wonderful and very kind. I especially recommended having dinner there. The cook is very good and they you will try a real Moroccan cook. They try to make your time there unforgettable

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
21
52
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Tucked away in the small backstreets of the Medina, this riad was a great find. The staff were wonderfully helpful. They organized a car for us to and from the airport for an extra charge. They also took messages for us from companies we'd booked activities through and even walked us through the Medina to meet them.

The riad is about 10-15 minutes walk from the Medina's main square, although that is through the Souks, so depending on how lost you get this can walk can take much longer.

On our first night we ate dinner at the riad and the food was on par if not better than any other Moroccan food we had on our trip. They even made me a huge chocolate birthday cake which lasted us the entire trip.

The riad feels very tranquil and was a great break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The room was small and comfortable with a large window opening over the inner courtyard. We had a private bathroom across the hall. I thought it was all fine, although my girlfriend insists that the bathroom could have done with a refit.

Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakesh it is a peaceful oasis. and the staff are nice. I most liked this. I least liked getting lost on the first night - a drop off pick up service would be good on night one if you are new to Marrakesh as this hotel is very hard to find! The map was not good...we got lost!

The lack of information availalble in English regarding Marrakesh's prime sites, and lack of up to date opening times of the sites.

Being asked to pay at midnight the night before we were due to get up at 5am to get a bus! We were asked to pay in cash even though we were leaving our luggage and returning in 3 nights time...Payment terms need to be made clearer on booking ( its in the small print about not accepting credit cards I believe).

However the fact that they take credit cards as security leads the traveller to think the hotel accepts payment by card! Be prepared to pay cash and I suggest on arrival to avoid the hassles otherwise involved.

Also lack of information about breakfast times, drinks and food available and at what time on what basis. Sometimes one wants to eat at home or have a drink this is hard to get in this hotel which is more like rooms in an empty house...though usually you can find someone to help if you need some help but don't expect mint tea when you want it, or food...after breakfast.

It would help if someone could speak English there none of the management can..and I only speak alittle French so this made communicaiton hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was a lovely place to stay but quite difficult to find and we werent given the maps needed straight away.The breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice so common in Marrakech.The staff were lovely .We didnt however like the meal we ordererd for when we arrived.There is great potential to make this Riad superb but I fear with that there would be a price hike.Loved the flowers the courtyard the roof terrace and all the beautiful places to sit.With the birds singing it felt magical.
Some aspects of Marrakech were quite challenging for two ladies alone but overall we enjoyed our short stay.So if you choose this riad dont forget to ask for the maps!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I stayed two nights in Riad Hadika Maria with my boyfriend.
We were terrified with the location (it's really local!) and found it very difficult to access by our own as even Taxi driver could not find it right away.
Coming into the riad made us forget all hustle in Marrakech and dusty eyes washed away with beautiful garden with good selection of interiors around.
It's quiet, neat, clean, and bright, and amazing sunshine in terrace upstairs for the lovely breakfast. The room was also very pretty and clean with handful amenities.

Even though our schedule was very tight, the staff was very helpful and gave us generous care that they even arranged very early breakfast in a very short notice, and the pick up near place Mokef to take us back to riad in the mid night.
I recommend this riad for relaxing stay for whom want to take break from busy city life.

Japanese female, 29
London

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This is a beautiful riad, it feels like home too. Laetitia is on hand to help and advise, offering her in-depth knowledge of the city. The riad is very close to the souks, so you can walk everywhere (once you've worked out how to manage the labyrinth of passages!) Laetitia drew maps - a great help. Relaxing on the lovely roof terrace or swimming pool with swallows swooping overhead, eating the most delicious home-cooked suppers with the Atlas mountains a backdrop to the pink city below, listening to the call to prayer in starlight. All wonderful memories now. We return another day, I hope.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Not in the center of Medina, but close to it. All the major sights in a walking distance. Perfect for a young couple. The interieur was very charming and inspiring. All the staffs (Abdullah, Khawla) were super friendly, rooms and the yard were kept clean. The only reproach goes to "la reponsable" (do not remeber the name) who could have been much more accomodating and flexible to our needs and much less suspicious. The breakfest on the rooftop with a skyline of Atlas mountains was amazing and unforgettable.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hadika Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hadika Maria

Address: 40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hadika Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Hadika Maria has 8 rooms around two patios, the one with fountain, the other one with swimming pool. The charm of this riad is characterized by its decoration traditional Moroccan and its numerous trees and plants.Situated in a family and quiet street of the Medina, you will be woken by the birdsong in the morning!!! The Moroccan traditional breakfasts are served on terraces brightened up for winter periods or at the cool at the edge of the swimming pool for warmer periods.The riad has a service snack bar at any time but you can also taste earthenware cooking pots and others couscous, made by Halima our cooker who fetches fresh products to the market every morning. The meals in private can be served to the lounge in front of the fireplace. You will find on the spot a service of shuttle airport or station, a massage room, an office of excursion, board games or coloured pencils for the children and books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Hadika Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hadika Maria Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hadika Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.