We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Moroccan Hospitality 12 mins from main square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hadika Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Hadika Maria to your Saves list
Riad Hadika Maria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #593 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True Moroccan Hospitality 12 mins from main square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A lovely welcome from Alexandra and her team with mint tea and an introduction to Marrakech with maps and phone numbers of the night porter in case of difficulty. Lovely roof terraces to relax in the sun. Hospitable atmosphere. Wi-Fi was good in the room. Rooms clean and with a rose petal welcome. Water hot. Pool available to bathe in but didn't need it this time of year. I asked Riad Maria to arrange the taxi from the airport which was good value and meant I didn't get lost finding it amongst the winding streets. The road runs out about 5 mins walk away and therefore they arrange for man with a cart to take your luggage through the winding narrow passages to the Riad. It can be a bit challenging finding the square or your way back, even with the excellent instructions but I found the close proximity to the square and centre of Marrakech outweighed getting lost on my first night when I asked for directions and paid a few Dirhams to a willing guide. Perfect for couples or single men, a single lady might want to stay on a road with a taxi outside, although I didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
21
52
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This Riad was a great place to stay during our trip. The rooms were nice and clean and the riad has something magestic about it. The food was excellent and the staff lovely and would always go ther extra mile for you. Sometimes it was hard to communicate with them, as we spoke no French and some members of staff did not have a good level of English (mainly night porter). The only downside to the riad was that it was hard to order drinks/food on a whim as there is no particular reception area with a member of staff there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A great place to stay! We were welcomed and looked after by Alex and her team. A real oasis in the middle of busy Marrakech. We didn't have too much trouble finding the place, its 5 minutes from the Museum of Marrakech and La Maison Photographie.
The breakfast was lovely, with lots of fresh fruit.
Highly recconmend Riad Hadika Maria, will definitely return next time we're in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at the Riad Hadika Maria in Marrakech. We had booked a transfer from the airport directly from Alexandra who runs the Riad. It is essential to do this for 15 Euro as you will never find it on your own. The transfer minibus drops you on the outskirts of the median and then your bags are transferred to smaller cart and you follow the man through the narrow passage ways to the Riad. Have some change available for a tip. The Riad was an oasis of calm in amongst the hubbub of the Medina. The location is further out towards the north of the Medina and the approaching passages are not well lit at night. It is 15 minutes walk through the Souk to the main square. Other Riads May be closer to the main square and easier to access at night. The passageways are intimidating at night. One young man staying was mugged at 11 pm trying to find the Riad. He lost his money and cards and had grazed on his face. He spent most of the night talking to Police who weren't` helpful, and knocking on the Riad door without success, also ringing the telephone which woke us up but went unanswered for ages by the security guy. Despite the location the Riad is good value for money. The individual rooms are clean and comfortable, all have ensuit, breakfast is very good with fresh orange juice, cooked pancake or flatbread, bread, jams and fruit with tea or coffee. We had a couple of meals which weren't brilliant. Chicken very stringy and a one egg omelette, but the staff try really hard to please. They were polite and very helpful. Alexandra is full of information and booked our trip to the coast and made sure the Riad ran fairly efficiently. She has good English and checked in with her guests daily. Marrakech is not for the feint hearted, an experience that some will enjoy, but others may find overwhelming. The young men who offer to show you to the main square should be ignored, they will take you miles out of your way and then demand money. We got caught out a couple of times especially when we first arrived. Everyone is on the take, and this attitude is tiring after a couple of days. Still we enjoyed the experience but will not go back to stay in the Medina. Others staying in New Marrakech had a different experience and felt safer at night. It is really an individual choice about what trip you want to make.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A lovely little place with really friendly staff. Alex the owner and Nadia couldn't do more to help.

The only problem we had was finding the place! I would definitely recommend bringing a compass with you, as although you're given a map, as there are hardly any street signs it's still difficult to find your way around.

Would definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Riad is located within easy travel time by taxi, and then on foot, from the airport. The owner: Alex, is very bubbly and charming and concerned for all her guests. She arranged all our transfers both comming and going. You will be given a welcome orientation and a city map upon arrival which is very helpful as the city tends to be a maze for first-time visitors like we were.
The Riad has a pool and restaurant as well as a lovely roof terrace where breakfast is served daily. Our room was quite tastefully decorated and appointed on the whole and a portable heater was provided as the nights are quite cold in early April. We used the spa services available on-site through an outside independant operator, found them reasonably priced and enjoyable.
As an older couple traveling we found it somewhat noisy at night when we wanted to turn in earlier but think our kids and thier spouses would love it. Several families with children seemed to be staying there as well.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms might be on the ground floor but certainly not the second.High traffice on the me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This riad is really beautiful with two wonderful courtyards, one with a pool. It is just amazing with a lovely roof terrace where you can eat breakfast and see the Atlas mountains in the distance, and Marakech spread out around you. The rooms are large and authentic, plenty of hot water, a padlock to lock the door on the outside, comfortable bed, sofa, chairs, table, all very much in keeping with the surroundings. It was difficult to find at first, we arrived walking and found it eventually, and by day 2 we had understood the landmarks and how to get there. Alex and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast, and lots of it, but I would not recommend eating here in the evening however, better to go out, just better value elsewhere. Altogether a lovely place to stay, and we would return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hadika Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hadika Maria

Address: 40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hadika Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Hadika Maria has 8 rooms around two patios, the one with fountain, the other one with swimming pool. The charm of this riad is characterized by its decoration traditional Moroccan and its numerous trees and plants.Situated in a family and quiet street of the Medina, you will be woken by the birdsong in the morning!!! The Moroccan traditional breakfasts are served on terraces brightened up for winter periods or at the cool at the edge of the swimming pool for warmer periods.The riad has a service snack bar at any time but you can also taste earthenware cooking pots and others couscous, made by Halima our cooker who fetches fresh products to the market every morning. The meals in private can be served to the lounge in front of the fireplace. You will find on the spot a service of shuttle airport or station, a massage room, an office of excursion, board games or coloured pencils for the children and books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Hadika Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hadika Maria Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hadika Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.