We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hadika Maria

Save Saved
You added Riad Hadika Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Hadika Maria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #606 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My friend and I had a wonderful time in Marrakech and a big part of that was down to the Hadika Maria. The staff are extremely helpful, walking us to local restuarants and helping with directions etc- they speak very little English but we were able to get by in our dodgey French- but if you speak no French at all you might struggle! We had the airport transfer which I would recommend because the riad is a 5 minute walk from the nearest road access so you will need someone to guide you.

The riad itself is beautiful and very original, there are lots of lovely places to sit and relax...the pool area is particularly stunning. Our room was also beautiful with a lot of attention to detail.

The breakfast was good, bread, pancakes and fresh orange juice and coffee- we didn't ever manage to have an evening meal because we preferred to venture out into the medina (!)

On the slightly negative side the location might be scary for some less intrepid travellers and I definately wouldn't want to stay there as a solo traveller! To get back there from the Souks and the main square is tricky (easy when you know how, we figured it out after getting lost a lot, but that's part of the fun!) and involves some rather poorly lit passageways and tunnels...though to be honest, because the riad is so wonderful it is worth it!

On a couple of mornings we were woken up by the staff in the riad shouting ( actually talking but just very loudly!). This wasn't a major problem but it was a little annoying.

We also had a bit of hassle from the children playing in the street in the immediate vacinity of the riad, but I guess this is typical of most of Marrakech...worth knowing though, they are not as innocent as they look!

Overall though, the place far exceeded my expectations, it was an amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own name and theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
51
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Riad was as good as all the reviews we had read, did not dissapoint. Staff were excellent and unobtrusive. Would recommend transfer from airport and meal first night as we did, to at least have a stress free start to stay, if you have never visited Marrakech like us before.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Riad HadikaMaria has been a very nice experience. It is a peaceful oasis after a walking day in La Medina and it is wonderful to take a Moroccan tee in its terrace. We travel with our three children and all the people in the riad have been wonderful and very kind. I especially recommended having dinner there. The cook is very good and they you will try a real Moroccan cook. They try to make your time there unforgettable

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Tucked away in the small backstreets of the Medina, this riad was a great find. The staff were wonderfully helpful. They organized a car for us to and from the airport for an extra charge. They also took messages for us from companies we'd booked activities through and even walked us through the Medina to meet them.

The riad is about 10-15 minutes walk from the Medina's main square, although that is through the Souks, so depending on how lost you get this can walk can take much longer.

On our first night we ate dinner at the riad and the food was on par if not better than any other Moroccan food we had on our trip. They even made me a huge chocolate birthday cake which lasted us the entire trip.

The riad feels very tranquil and was a great break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The room was small and comfortable with a large window opening over the inner courtyard. We had a private bathroom across the hall. I thought it was all fine, although my girlfriend insists that the bathroom could have done with a refit.

Overall it was a wonderful place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakesh it is a peaceful oasis. and the staff are nice. I most liked this. I least liked getting lost on the first night - a drop off pick up service would be good on night one if you are new to Marrakesh as this hotel is very hard to find! The map was not good...we got lost!

The lack of information availalble in English regarding Marrakesh's prime sites, and lack of up to date opening times of the sites.

Being asked to pay at midnight the night before we were due to get up at 5am to get a bus! We were asked to pay in cash even though we were leaving our luggage and returning in 3 nights time...Payment terms need to be made clearer on booking ( its in the small print about not accepting credit cards I believe).

However the fact that they take credit cards as security leads the traveller to think the hotel accepts payment by card! Be prepared to pay cash and I suggest on arrival to avoid the hassles otherwise involved.

Also lack of information about breakfast times, drinks and food available and at what time on what basis. Sometimes one wants to eat at home or have a drink this is hard to get in this hotel which is more like rooms in an empty house...though usually you can find someone to help if you need some help but don't expect mint tea when you want it, or food...after breakfast.

It would help if someone could speak English there none of the management can..and I only speak alittle French so this made communicaiton hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This was a lovely place to stay but quite difficult to find and we werent given the maps needed straight away.The breakfast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice so common in Marrakech.The staff were lovely .We didnt however like the meal we ordererd for when we arrived.There is great potential to make this Riad superb but I fear with that there would be a price hike.Loved the flowers the courtyard the roof terrace and all the beautiful places to sit.With the birds singing it felt magical.
Some aspects of Marrakech were quite challenging for two ladies alone but overall we enjoyed our short stay.So if you choose this riad dont forget to ask for the maps!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I stayed two nights in Riad Hadika Maria with my boyfriend.
We were terrified with the location (it's really local!) and found it very difficult to access by our own as even Taxi driver could not find it right away.
Coming into the riad made us forget all hustle in Marrakech and dusty eyes washed away with beautiful garden with good selection of interiors around.
It's quiet, neat, clean, and bright, and amazing sunshine in terrace upstairs for the lovely breakfast. The room was also very pretty and clean with handful amenities.

Even though our schedule was very tight, the staff was very helpful and gave us generous care that they even arranged very early breakfast in a very short notice, and the pick up near place Mokef to take us back to riad in the mid night.
I recommend this riad for relaxing stay for whom want to take break from busy city life.

Japanese female, 29
London

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Hadika Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hadika Maria

Address: 40 derb Zemrane | Hart Soura - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Hadika Maria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Hadika Maria has 8 rooms around two patios, the one with fountain, the other one with swimming pool. The charm of this riad is characterized by its decoration traditional Moroccan and its numerous trees and plants.Situated in a family and quiet street of the Medina, you will be woken by the birdsong in the morning!!! The Moroccan traditional breakfasts are served on terraces brightened up for winter periods or at the cool at the edge of the swimming pool for warmer periods.The riad has a service snack bar at any time but you can also taste earthenware cooking pots and others couscous, made by Halima our cooker who fetches fresh products to the market every morning. The meals in private can be served to the lounge in front of the fireplace. You will find on the spot a service of shuttle airport or station, a massage room, an office of excursion, board games or coloured pencils for the children and books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riad Hadika Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hadika Maria Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hadika Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.