We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aanrader” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Caracalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kasbah Caracalla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aanrader”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is truly amazing. Great rooms, great view, great swimming pool.
The staff is very friendly, nothing You ask is to much for them.
We loved the shuttle service, only a shame they come back before dark.
Breakfast and especially dinner is very tasty!
Downside is the lunch, it's pricy and not of great quality.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    39
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and it was a marvellous contrast to the hustle and stress of the souk. The owners made us feel welcome from the very start, and for a newly built mock kasbah it is really well made and brilliantly placed with a view of the Atlas mountains. You realise just how peaceful the place is when the swimming pool area is taken over by the local fauna after sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend here, and the hotel far exceeded our expectations. It was beautiful, built and decorated in what felt like a very authentic Moroccan style. We had a suite which was very spacious, very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The location is amazing, affording stunning views of the Atlas mountains, surrounded by beautiful flower-filled gardens, with the only sounds coming from the resident sparrows, and the other guests (luckily a very large and loud family arrived just as we were leaving!). The pool was lovely, a good size, and refreshingly cool considering the temperature was 35 degrees. There were plenty of sun loungers, all with lovely thick mattress style bases. The staff were fantastic, especially the waiters - so polite, attentive and accommodating, but with none of the intrusive 'where are you from, what football team do you support' that you get in so many hotels. The food was great, it was all included in our package so there wasn’t any choice, but luckily the food on offer was great. I had forgotten to inform the hotel in advance that I am a vegetarian, but the waiters made no issue of it at all – they were more than happy to accommodate, which was really appreciated. Breakfast was fresh breads, jam, cream cheese, cake, fruit salad, yogurt, and coffee. Dinner was Carpaccio, then chicken, vegetable and couscous tagine, followed by crepes with apple., toffee sauce and cream. An amazing hotel, which I will definitely go back to. Perfect for anyone looking for a relaxing weekend, and a day trip into the city.

One WARNING: The car service the hotel uses is really poor. Our late night flight was delayed arriving in Marrakesh, and the pre booked driver must have decided not to wait for us. We waited for an hour at the airport, before giving up and going to the taxi rank. On the second day we took a taxi into Marrakech (not the complimentary daily shuttle – although this may be the same company) and we took the driver up on his offer to arrange a guide to show us the city. The guide he arranged was arrested by police whilst showing us around the souk, something to do with not having a license to be with tourists. Miraculously we managed to find our way back to our meeting point, for the time we had arranged to be picked up by the driver – only he never showed up. So again we were left at the mercy of a Moroccan taxi rank.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Fisrtly I would like to thank all the staff especially Wahid, and the lovely waiter Yasim.
What a Lovely hotel, for peace and quiet, just soft soothing background music, {no keep fit in the pool here thank-god!}
The pool is fantastic with the most sumptuous sun loungers, food is great, although you don't get a choice but it was all lovely.
Its a family run hotel so it has a lovely warm welcoming feel to it.
Great mini bus into Marracech each day if you want it half hour journey goes really quick!
I stayed here with my sister for a week and we came back home feeling thoroughly refreshed and relaxed.. Great for couples.
Thank you we loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our party of six (aged 4 - 87) stayed in Riad Africa. The kitchen noise is odd (mixer whirring until late) and our bed was saggy. It's a bit style over substance - it looks lovely, but there's not much goodwill service-wise. We had to ask for stuff (a bottle of water, a bed to be made up for the kids) a few times, and we felt like a bit of an afterthought. The views are amazing though, as is the bird song at dawn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We had 5 days here in the Riad Africa room. It suited us well as our teenage daughter had her own room and bathroom within the suite.
The room itself was lovely, the beds firm but comfortable and plenty of space for us. However this particular room is above the kitchens and suffered a bit from early and late noise of cooking and clearing.
We stayed half board. This suited us as we like trying new things and are happy to eat what we're given. We tried things we'd never have chosen, but enjoyed most of it. Most importantly enjoyed the experience of eating local food. Whilst sliced orange with sugar and cinnamon isn't a dessert I'd ever order at home, in the context of the full meal with rose petal strewn tables it was lovely.(cucumber gazpacho then fish tagine) all delicious.
The breakfasts included delicious freshly made flat bread, different cake each day, some kind of pancake, fresh fruit salad and orange juice. Not a great deal of variation but all fresh.
The pool is lovely, views of the Atlas Mountains and plenty of beds and umbrellas. Although some of the beds have thicker pads than other so check first.
The location is excellent if you want to be completely away from the city, but close enough to go in for the day.
The transfer to Marrakech is free, however the driver tries to negotiate mini tours and transfers between sites within the city.
We had a really relaxing time, felt part of the country, but not dragged in. Oh, and you don't need to pay in cash. Euros are accepted too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in feburary. The first impression of the hotel was how far it is from central marrakech, this is a positive and negative thing. It had a truly amazing view of the Atlas mountains- but we felt incredibly dependent on the hotel to drive us to different locations.

One major negative- The driver! The driver while he was a friendly man, he made us feel very guilty for using another tour guide for the atlas mountains- this was very uncomfortable. He also had overcharged us for the ride to the hotel by 100 dirham. Watch out for this!!! He was very sneeky about it! Also on of the way back we left one of the our phones in the car and we found that the internet had been used and this cost us a fortunte! It was a horrible experience!


The main manager himself is not a nice man- he embarrased other guests because of a dispute over money- he was rude and we found his comments racist and inappropiate. Also he did not make clear that if you use the driver after a certain time it costs a fortune! he did not make this clear! and he will say he did!

Also it has been mentioned before- the showers are cold, the television is broken and the breakfast is just bread, the pool was freezing which was a huge disappointment.

Overall despite our bad experiences the young waiters are very nice and friendly and always willing to help. The room was large and pleasent. The food provided every night was very good. We had a groupon voucher which was a fantastic deal and we enjoyed the spa.
While we did enjoy our stay I believe the hotel needs major improvements- the managers attitude is terrible, and the place could do with re- decorating.

Room Tip: Higher floor towards the end of the row
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Caracalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.