We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing,Beautiful Hotel Caracalla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Caracalla to your Saves list
Kasbah Caracalla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing,Beautiful Hotel Caracalla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Fisrtly I would like to thank all the staff especially Wahid, and the lovely waiter Yasim.
What a Lovely hotel, for peace and quiet, just soft soothing background music, {no keep fit in the pool here thank-god!}
The pool is fantastic with the most sumptuous sun loungers, food is great, although you don't get a choice but it was all lovely.
Its a family run hotel so it has a lovely warm welcoming feel to it.
Great mini bus into Marracech each day if you want it half hour journey goes really quick!
I stayed here with my sister for a week and we came back home feeling thoroughly refreshed and relaxed.. Great for couples.
Thank you we loved the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    42
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our party of six (aged 4 - 87) stayed in Riad Africa. The kitchen noise is odd (mixer whirring until late) and our bed was saggy. It's a bit style over substance - it looks lovely, but there's not much goodwill service-wise. We had to ask for stuff (a bottle of water, a bed to be made up for the kids) a few times, and we felt like a bit of an afterthought. The views are amazing though, as is the bird song at dawn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We had 5 days here in the Riad Africa room. It suited us well as our teenage daughter had her own room and bathroom within the suite.
The room itself was lovely, the beds firm but comfortable and plenty of space for us. However this particular room is above the kitchens and suffered a bit from early and late noise of cooking and clearing.
We stayed half board. This suited us as we like trying new things and are happy to eat what we're given. We tried things we'd never have chosen, but enjoyed most of it. Most importantly enjoyed the experience of eating local food. Whilst sliced orange with sugar and cinnamon isn't a dessert I'd ever order at home, in the context of the full meal with rose petal strewn tables it was lovely.(cucumber gazpacho then fish tagine) all delicious.
The breakfasts included delicious freshly made flat bread, different cake each day, some kind of pancake, fresh fruit salad and orange juice. Not a great deal of variation but all fresh.
The pool is lovely, views of the Atlas Mountains and plenty of beds and umbrellas. Although some of the beds have thicker pads than other so check first.
The location is excellent if you want to be completely away from the city, but close enough to go in for the day.
The transfer to Marrakech is free, however the driver tries to negotiate mini tours and transfers between sites within the city.
We had a really relaxing time, felt part of the country, but not dragged in. Oh, and you don't need to pay in cash. Euros are accepted too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in feburary. The first impression of the hotel was how far it is from central marrakech, this is a positive and negative thing. It had a truly amazing view of the Atlas mountains- but we felt incredibly dependent on the hotel to drive us to different locations.

One major negative- The driver! The driver while he was a friendly man, he made us feel very guilty for using another tour guide for the atlas mountains- this was very uncomfortable. He also had overcharged us for the ride to the hotel by 100 dirham. Watch out for this!!! He was very sneeky about it! Also on of the way back we left one of the our phones in the car and we found that the internet had been used and this cost us a fortunte! It was a horrible experience!


The main manager himself is not a nice man- he embarrased other guests because of a dispute over money- he was rude and we found his comments racist and inappropiate. Also he did not make clear that if you use the driver after a certain time it costs a fortune! he did not make this clear! and he will say he did!

Also it has been mentioned before- the showers are cold, the television is broken and the breakfast is just bread, the pool was freezing which was a huge disappointment.

Overall despite our bad experiences the young waiters are very nice and friendly and always willing to help. The room was large and pleasent. The food provided every night was very good. We had a groupon voucher which was a fantastic deal and we enjoyed the spa.
While we did enjoy our stay I believe the hotel needs major improvements- the managers attitude is terrible, and the place could do with re- decorating.

Room Tip: Higher floor towards the end of the row
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just go back from wonderful Kasbah Caracalla! We loved it as soon as we arrived - greeted by the most adorable staff. Our daughter LOVED the square crepes - delicious. The waiters and could not be more helpful and always with a smile. Great food, wine, rooms. Massage and Hamman - really nice. Gorgeous views of the Atlas ! Great shuttle service (free) to Marrakech. Our tour guide was so helpful as well. We will DEFINATELY go back. Thank you Wahid, Yassin, Mohammed, Rashid - EVERYONE for a perfect week in a perfect place! The Masiello's

Room Tip: Riad Africa - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautifully located at the foot of the mountains and yet close enough to Marrakech to go there by (free) shuttle minibus. What more to wish for? Excellent views? Check. Memorable atmosphere? Check. Nice local food? Check. Swimming pool? Check. Helpful owners and friendly personnel? Check and check. Do yourself a big favour. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for a friend's 40th birthday. What a location....to wake up with blue skies and views of the Atlas mountains was a great start to the weekend. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool in February was a real treat. The rooms were spacious, the food typically Morrocan, staff very helpful and Mustapha our transfer driver was friendly and reliable....free transfers during the day and bookable taxi for evenings. Overall a fabulous weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#146 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Caracalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.