We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS EXPERIENCE !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Caracalla to your Saves list
Kasbah Caracalla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS EXPERIENCE !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just go back from wonderful Kasbah Caracalla! We loved it as soon as we arrived - greeted by the most adorable staff. Our daughter LOVED the square crepes - delicious. The waiters and could not be more helpful and always with a smile. Great food, wine, rooms. Massage and Hamman - really nice. Gorgeous views of the Atlas ! Great shuttle service (free) to Marrakech. Our tour guide was so helpful as well. We will DEFINATELY go back. Thank you Wahid, Yassin, Mohammed, Rashid - EVERYONE for a perfect week in a perfect place! The Masiello's

Room Tip: Riad Africa - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgirls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Beautifully located at the foot of the mountains and yet close enough to Marrakech to go there by (free) shuttle minibus. What more to wish for? Excellent views? Check. Memorable atmosphere? Check. Nice local food? Check. Swimming pool? Check. Helpful owners and friendly personnel? Check and check. Do yourself a big favour. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wen-NyandRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for a friend's 40th birthday. What a location....to wake up with blue skies and views of the Atlas mountains was a great start to the weekend. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool in February was a real treat. The rooms were spacious, the food typically Morrocan, staff very helpful and Mustapha our transfer driver was friendly and reliable....free transfers during the day and bookable taxi for evenings. Overall a fabulous weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I stayed 2 nights at this Hotel. We had to take cold showers because the hot water ran out after 5 mins. Breakfast was nothing but bread and cold coffee. The beds were hard and squeaked every time we moved. The service was very poor. The cleaning crew didn't check our room, we had to reschedule our massages 2 times for some reason the the masseuse was 30 minutes late and the room used for the massages was freezing. All in all a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very helpful staff,can't do enough for you! Main language French and Arabic , but you can muddle through ! Overall service excellent! Just a note if you book excursions this hotel caters for them all.. When I stayed I was unaware ! You will prob get it cheaper !! Food is local dishes no other choice! I'm fickle with food but I got through each dish fine! Wine list and beers very limited and pricey! We would stay again!!!! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Kasbah Caracalla in August 2013 and were very impressed with the place. We had a Groupon voucher so got a real deal including a 3 course meal every night and breakfast every morning, and a massage and body scrub.

Our room was lovely, the air conditioning was very welcome as temperatures reached 45 degrees! Our room was also only steps away from the pool, which was fabulous. The views of the
Atlas Mountains were magnificent and the Kasbah itself was quite stunning, especially in the evening, a beer before dinner was just perfect.

It was a quiet and peaceful place and you had no choice but to relax so a trip to the mountains was welcome as we did get itchy feet.

The only issue was payment at the end of our stay, no card machine, only cash accepted so make sure you have plenty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieJJBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here with a friend during the last week of August this year.
There were many good points.
Firstly the owners, a married couple, who were friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. They really do host you, and make you feel very comfortable.
The setting and kasbah are beautiful. Idyllic. Recently built in traditional Moroccan open style, with all rooms/suites opening onto the perfect pool and further views of the Atlas Mountains. Beautiful.
The suite I had - Baha - was on the upper floor, very spacious and decorated with authentic furniture in a very romantic style. The suite was serviced to the highest quality every day by chamber maids. It was always spotlessly clean, and a real sanctuary to return to.
I had a hammam, and it was one of the best treatments I have ever received - and I have massage treatments regularly.
What lets this hotel down is service. It is not unfriendly, however it is nowhere near what I expect. You ask for a cocktail - there is a cocktail menu - and we were given the most awful Mojito I have ever been given. Drinks arrive 20/30 mins after being ordered. And we are talking about a coke here, not an espresso martini! Come on guys, buy a cocktail book and teach eachother how to make basic cocktails.
Wine list is poor. No French/Italian/South American or New World wines. Some Moroccan wines which just weren't good enough, although the Rose is just about drinkable. Also never any ice, or spirits, or sparkling wine/champagne.
The food here reminded me of school meals. It is ok, tagine after tagine, but it is kind of like the food a friend's mum would make after school. OK, but not for more than one night. Breakfast was the same EVERY day: greasy pancakes and instant coffee. INSTANT COFFEE IN 2013?! I had to ask, and pay, for nespresso coffee. Happy to do so, but it will not break the bank to give the option of an espresso or americano. Buy a cafetiere or 3. Again, owners are French so where are the croissants, pastries, fresh coffee? Yes I know it is nice to have 'authentic Morocaan pancakes' but give choice. I GUARANTEE that the croissants would be more popular. Orange juice was gorgeous however.
Hence why my pal and I hot footed it into Marrakech for supper most evenings: Cafe Arabe is excellent. the roof terrace, the view, the atmosphere, the service, the cocktails, the food. I would love the owners to go there and replicate the whole ethos of the cafe. Attentive service, efficient staff.
There was one employee at the kasbah who joined the day before we left. He was VERY GOOD. Going around asking if everything was ok, could he get anything. Really, he was how the others should be. Seriously, they could be trained by him and all would be well!
If the owners can run this ship with a little more efficiency, it could be amazing. They have the building, the setting but the food and service let it down on the whole.
I wonder if the owners are perhaps too nice. They live at the hotel. They can still be nice to their staff and train them up to standards they would expect.
The airport transfers were efficient and friendly and the owners will fix taxis to take you to Marrakech or bring you back to the hotel at any times outside of shuttle times. Only 20E each way which is very reasonable and worth seeing Marrakech by night and dining on a roof top.
In short, the owners here are lovely, the setting perfection, the rooms immaculate and beautifully presented but the staff (except the one I mentioned who appeared on our last few days) were friendly but just not professional enough. The menus need an overhaul,better quality ingredients need to be purchased and the bar needs to be fully stocked. yes Morocco is a dry country but international travellers expect, as standard:
Selection of Moroccan, Italian, French, New World, South American white, red and sparkling wines. Basic spirits, mixers and ice. Cocktail menu of say 8/10 classic cocktails which are PROPERLY made.
Do this, and this hotel could be first class! The owners deserve it to be a success!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMO308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
10.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#214 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Le Mirage
Kasbah Le Mirage
#234 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
13.2 mi away
Domaine de Tameslohte
Domaine de Tameslohte
#227 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#196 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#176 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
14.0 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#136 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing