We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and a relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Caracalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Caracalla to your Saves list
Kasbah Caracalla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Kasbah Caracalla in August 2013 and were very impressed with the place. We had a Groupon voucher so got a real deal including a 3 course meal every night and breakfast every morning, and a massage and body scrub.

Our room was lovely, the air conditioning was very welcome as temperatures reached 45 degrees! Our room was also only steps away from the pool, which was fabulous. The views of the
Atlas Mountains were magnificent and the Kasbah itself was quite stunning, especially in the evening, a beer before dinner was just perfect.

It was a quiet and peaceful place and you had no choice but to relax so a trip to the mountains was welcome as we did get itchy feet.

The only issue was payment at the end of our stay, no card machine, only cash accepted so make sure you have plenty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    41
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here with a friend during the last week of August this year.
There were many good points.
Firstly the owners, a married couple, who were friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. They really do host you, and make you feel very comfortable.
The setting and kasbah are beautiful. Idyllic. Recently built in traditional Moroccan open style, with all rooms/suites opening onto the perfect pool and further views of the Atlas Mountains. Beautiful.
The suite I had - Baha - was on the upper floor, very spacious and decorated with authentic furniture in a very romantic style. The suite was serviced to the highest quality every day by chamber maids. It was always spotlessly clean, and a real sanctuary to return to.
I had a hammam, and it was one of the best treatments I have ever received - and I have massage treatments regularly.
What lets this hotel down is service. It is not unfriendly, however it is nowhere near what I expect. You ask for a cocktail - there is a cocktail menu - and we were given the most awful Mojito I have ever been given. Drinks arrive 20/30 mins after being ordered. And we are talking about a coke here, not an espresso martini! Come on guys, buy a cocktail book and teach eachother how to make basic cocktails.
Wine list is poor. No French/Italian/South American or New World wines. Some Moroccan wines which just weren't good enough, although the Rose is just about drinkable. Also never any ice, or spirits, or sparkling wine/champagne.
The food here reminded me of school meals. It is ok, tagine after tagine, but it is kind of like the food a friend's mum would make after school. OK, but not for more than one night. Breakfast was the same EVERY day: greasy pancakes and instant coffee. INSTANT COFFEE IN 2013?! I had to ask, and pay, for nespresso coffee. Happy to do so, but it will not break the bank to give the option of an espresso or americano. Buy a cafetiere or 3. Again, owners are French so where are the croissants, pastries, fresh coffee? Yes I know it is nice to have 'authentic Morocaan pancakes' but give choice. I GUARANTEE that the croissants would be more popular. Orange juice was gorgeous however.
Hence why my pal and I hot footed it into Marrakech for supper most evenings: Cafe Arabe is excellent. the roof terrace, the view, the atmosphere, the service, the cocktails, the food. I would love the owners to go there and replicate the whole ethos of the cafe. Attentive service, efficient staff.
There was one employee at the kasbah who joined the day before we left. He was VERY GOOD. Going around asking if everything was ok, could he get anything. Really, he was how the others should be. Seriously, they could be trained by him and all would be well!
If the owners can run this ship with a little more efficiency, it could be amazing. They have the building, the setting but the food and service let it down on the whole.
I wonder if the owners are perhaps too nice. They live at the hotel. They can still be nice to their staff and train them up to standards they would expect.
The airport transfers were efficient and friendly and the owners will fix taxis to take you to Marrakech or bring you back to the hotel at any times outside of shuttle times. Only 20E each way which is very reasonable and worth seeing Marrakech by night and dining on a roof top.
In short, the owners here are lovely, the setting perfection, the rooms immaculate and beautifully presented but the staff (except the one I mentioned who appeared on our last few days) were friendly but just not professional enough. The menus need an overhaul,better quality ingredients need to be purchased and the bar needs to be fully stocked. yes Morocco is a dry country but international travellers expect, as standard:
Selection of Moroccan, Italian, French, New World, South American white, red and sparkling wines. Basic spirits, mixers and ice. Cocktail menu of say 8/10 classic cocktails which are PROPERLY made.
Do this, and this hotel could be first class! The owners deserve it to be a success!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Interesting to see so many five star reviews for this place. Not quite sure it's deserved...

Ok here's what you get=

A) a beautiful kasbah with excellent suites, well decorated and furnished. Comfortable, if the beds a little hard. Set in a olive grove in the middle of no where. It's wonderful.
B) a pool always at a perfect temperature and comfortable sun beds
C) towels for the pool and shampoo in your room.
D)wonderfully clean environment.
E) the manager is very helpful and kind
F) amazing hammam
G) free shuttle twice a day to the centre and they will always arrange to get you home by taxi
H) the grounds are beautifully tended and pretty. It is so peaceful here

What you won't get is:

A) SERVICE- honestly it's terrible. Ask for a coke or tea and you will get it an hour later if you are lucky and the waiter hasn't forgot. Nearly every time I had to go remind them I existed with only 2 other people around the pool. Then your coke will arrive and there is no ice. The waiters hang around all day and never come round to see if you need anything or clear. They are pointless.

B) a menu. You don't get one. You get what you are given. Here is an example of what was given me one night.
First course - cucumber purée in water in a bowl
Second course - tagine with veg and couscous with a tiny bit of dry meat
Dessert - three slices of orange with cinnamon

So we decided to dine in the centre of Marrakech

C) ice - they don't have any

D) gin - they don't have any

E) cocktails - sorry the guy who makes them isn't here

F) wine list is not good

G) No shower gel in your room or hair dryer

For me this place could be a five star but their food and service is just not good enough. They really need to address this and the experience would be amazing. The owners are a delight it's just a shame.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A beautiful setting, quiet, out of the city. Perfect for relaxation. Not so good if you want to regularly get into Marrakech!
Its about 20£ taxi one way!!
we split a 7 day holiday with 5 days in a Marrakech Riad and 2 here in the peace!! Worked perfectly for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic find, just amazing, everything we needed and more.
This family run hotel is so welcoming, nothing is any trouble.
Great food, great service.
Planning a trip back in October, if not before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Marrakech for a 5 day getaway due to the excellent offer we found for a stay at Kasbah Caracalla. The hotel, as mentioned, is a bit of a drive from the city centre but we found this to be a positive thing. The choice is made for you - you either go to the city in the morning with the free shuttle service, or you stay for a day at the pool (taxi rides are around €40 return). Either way you're committed to a day of tranquil relaxation, or a day of bargaining and sightseeing in the city. No second guessing and no "ants in your pants" kind of restless feeling when we did opt for a day at the pool.

The hotel itself is simply the best we've experienced. All rooms open out onto the courtyard and our room on the ground level was about 12 paces from the pool and sunbeds. Perhaps the only downside to being in such close proximity is that you have a slight lack of privacy in some respects since you can hear what's going on outside your room quite well during the day. We spent a few days reading and lounging by the pool and loved it. Lunch was reasonably priced, with breakfast and dinner included in the room. The food everyday was excellent, with almost everyday something new from the moroccan kitchen. Breakfast however was the same everyday and though very yummy a bit of variety wouldn't have gone amiss... but we only thought this when our Ryanair flight was cancelled and stayed past our 5 nights. Apparently 5 times is the max we can enjoy the same breakfast before pining for something new.

As for the hoteliers, they were extremely welcoming, and when we hit a bit of trouble after a cancelled flight, they could not have been more helpful! My girlfriend and I were so happy and really quite humbled by how quickly Boutaine organised for us to stay 5 extra nights, requiring only one room change. The price she offered per night was incredibly fair too considering we arrived paying at a significant discount. They even heard of our frustrations at the airport, drove by and helped us find out what was going on with some contacts who lived close to the airport... then waited around for 30mins so they could take us "home" :) We cannot thank her and her husband enough.

In short... can't go wrong and we'll certainly be back to Kasbah Caracalla which by the end seemed like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We retreated to Kasbah Caracella after spending 5 nights in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's Old Town. It was fitting and a welcome break, with a tranquil setting, a wonderful pool with the backdrop of the Atlas Mountains. We were upgraded to a wonderful room which surpassed all expectations and the staff were extremely friendly.
The food of an evening was a little below the standard we had enjoyed in the city centre and the service a little on the slow side which is characteristic of Morocco, however, Kasbah Caracella we felt offered good value for money but it is a £20 taxi into town so it is perfect for a quiet retreat but not if you are looking to get stuck into Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Caracalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Caracalla

Address: Km 27 Route de l'Ourika | Dara AL Jaouad - Douar Chaaba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Caracalla 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kasbah Caracalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Caracalla Marrakech
Kasbah Caracalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Caracalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.