We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Idra is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Idra to your Saves list
Riad Idra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riad Idra is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Riad Idra has seven lovely appointed rooms, gracious hospitality, delightful staff, delicious meals taken on the rooftop terrace. General Manager Karine is awesome, professional, yes, can do and raised the bar for the most perfect, gem of a riad!!
Everything runs so smoothly with local charm. We felt that we were staying in someone's special home and appreciated the memorable experience on all levels.
Marsha & Rick
San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Marsha, Dear Rick,

Many thanks for the time taken to share your opinion about Riad Idra.
I’d like to tell you, it has been a pleasure for us to welcome you in our Riad.
You’re right, Riad Idra may be like someone’s special home and all our guests are very special to us !
Please give our regards to Annie and Mary.
We really hope to see you again !

Warm regards

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A Riad with the standards and service levels of any 5 star hotel. Karine and her team run a service that is low key but always at hand to look after your every need. The quality of finish to the fixtures and fittings are superb. The breakfast is delicious, plentiful and healthy. You are in the centre of everything but it's so peaceful you would never know it. As soon as the flights become available I will be booking for 2014. PS You must try the Hamman and massage

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CherylBl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Cheryl,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Riad Idra.
We are glad you enjoyed it, your comparison to a 5* hotel made us blush…thank you !
We hope to see you soon in our Riad.
Warm regards,

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This has to be the best Riad in the Marrakech Medina. It is light, spacious, relaxing and peaceful with beautiful flowers and water features. Having been met at the airport the driver telephoned ahead for us to be collected by a member of staff on foot from the nearest vehicle drop off point. On arrival we were greeted with hot flannels, mint tea, a helpful chat and a map, then invited to say when it would suit us best for our pre-ordered dinner to be served on the roof terrace or in the dining room.

The level of service throughout our stay was impeccable, as were the high quality furnishings and decor in the bedrooms/suites and communal areas, the facilities and the catering. Having initially booked for 3 nights we returned from the coast for a 4th. I cannot recommend highly enough the Riad, its location and the cheerful and professional staff who did their very best to ensure our stay in Marrakech was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Many thanks for recommending our Riad on Tripadvisor !
The team and I were delighted to welcome you and your husband in our “Oasis”.
I’m so pleased to read that you’ve appreciated all the little attention to details like flowers, refreshing towels, pastry and mint tea…etc.
We hope to see you again for your next stay in Marrakech.
Warm regards,

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Riad Idra is not cheap, but certainly offers all the little touches of luxury one could ask for. The central courtyard, with its decorative pool, is most appealing, though I thought the overall renovation had retained only a few traditional elements. Our junior suite was a little small and crowded with furniture, but the linen, flowers and general presentation were excellent.
The staff were most welcoming and keen to help in any way possible. However I think that closer attention to supervision and detail might be required. For some reason, all meals were served on the terrace, but bad placement of umbrellas and marauding wasps made this sometimes uncomfortable. Breakfasts were good, if somewhat repetitive, and the location is central.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Pamela, Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Riad Idra.
I am happy to read that, generally speaking, you enjoyed your stay with us.
Guest Satisfaction is a daily concern for us and constructive reviews help gradually improve our level of services.
It is true breakfast is served on the roof terrace because most guests like to use outdoor amenities, especially by this time of year. We have umbrellas handy and placed at guests’ request: Some of them want the shade while others prefer to sit in the sun. As you may know, there is a lovely dining room downstairs where you could have had either breakfast, lunch or dinner. We provide tailor-made and à la carte services, and guests are free to pick the place where they would like to be served: on the roof terrace, in the dining room or in room. All they have to do is ask.
Our apologies for the wasp invasion of the breakfast place, which are attracted to honey and jams. We now serve these in closed little containers.
A lot of attention is paid to the breakfast menu and we feel sorry that it sounded repetitive for you.
Indeed, Morocco has a wide selection of traditional pastries and foods to start the day right.
The best way to know more about a new country and its culture is through its food; so every day our guests have the opportunity to taste new delicacies -we have short-listed 20-or-so of them with a four-day turnover-, on top of our continental breakfast composed of home-made jams, yoghourt, fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, cottage cheese with thyme, pastries and so on.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Best regards,

Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a week in a suite (Aliyah). This place is luxury personified. It is tops for service, comfort and furnishings, location, and relaxation.

Service: As you arrive, Karine, the manager, welcomes you to the courtyard, and you are served mint tea and cookies. Service like this continues throughout your stay. Karine will book restaurants and other outings for you, as well as give you recommendations. Omar will serve you drinks on the terrace. Ask how to get to a nearby restaurant, and someone may very well walk you there. Their ethos is, 'feel like it's your own home.'

The rooms: This is a 5-star riad, and the comfort and furnishings of the rooms show it: wall hangings reflect Moroccan artisanry, and my room had plenty of accoutrement like gorgeous, ornamented candle sticks and jewelry boxes with inlaid mosaics. You really do feel like you're in someone's home. Only 6 rooms, I think.

Food: Wow, what a breakfast! You expect continental, but this is OTT continental. Freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious yogurt, Moroccan cakes and soups/porridges. Dinner was also lovely. Four courses for 33 euros, and me thinks a bottle of wine was thrown in for free both times we ate there. Served on the rooftop terrace.

Location: In the Medina, and close to a major road, so there's no long slog down back alleys to find your way. Karine can arrange pick-up from the airport, so you'll be escorted to the door (touts can be an issue anywhere). Once you figure it out, you are a 10-15-minute walk to El Jaama Fna and the Ben Youssef Medresa.

In summary, this place is fantastic. We met a couple from Australia at a restaurant, who were at what sounded like a so-so riad, and they were hating their stay as a result. We also had a look at a few other places, when we went to dinner, including Maison Arabe and Maison GK; while they are nice, they could not match the 'small but luxurious' atmosphere of Riad Idra. Stay here, relax, take it all in, and enjoy!

Room Tip: Aliyah is a luxury suite, with an addtional charming window-side bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your review about our Riad is wonderful and we really want to thank you for the time taken to share your experience.
The satisfaction of our guests is very important and we are glad you liked our Riad and you appreciated all the services provided by our staff.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
All the best !

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Riad Idra is an excellent place to stay and enjoy Marrakech!
It's an oasis of peace and charm in the heart of the Medina.
We only stayed 1 night there but we will definitely come back and we are sending lots of people!
-Great hospitality (Karine and the rest of the team): from the very beginning there's time for everything!!! Mint tea and enjoying the quiet and very fancy patio!!
-Room is outstanding! Every single detail has been taken into account!
-The food here is excellent. One of the best things was breakfast on the terrace absolutely heavenly.
-Terrace is also great to chill out at night, under the stars!! or in one of the living rooms!

Only problem was that we only had 1 day there!!! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina20121978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Cristina,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at Riad Idra.
One night is a bit short to explore Marrakech but I’m glad you liked our Riad and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again at Riad Idra !
Best regards,

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Perfect in everyway. Karine and her team made us feel so welcome and could not have been more helpful. We cannot think of any way our stay could have been made better. Just beautiful. We didn't want to leave! Just go and enjoy. The best travel experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Emma,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at Riad Idra and we really want to thank you for your nice review.
We hope to see you again for your next stay in Marrakech.
Kind regards,

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Idra 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing