We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Riad of the First Rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idra

Save Saved
You added Riad Idra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Idra
Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Riad of the First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Riad Idra in Mid-March and it was an unforgettable experience. I have chosen the riad because of its excellent ratings on Tripadvisor and must say, the place has even exceeded my high expecations. The hotel is beautifully furnished and kept in spanking condition by very likeable and friendly staff. Each room is individually and tastefully decorated and you can be sure it looks exactly as on the official pictures. Generally I do not fancy breakfast in hotels. But here it was simply superb: Mr. Omar, the Maître d'Hotel and the other waiters serve a wide range of freshly prepared delicacies (both sweet and salty). In fact, the cuisine of the riad is delicious and I highly reccomend to have at least once dinner at Idra (in fact I ate the best Morrocan dishes here, even though I have also been at a five star restaurant). Also the mint tea is excellent! Karine, the manager of the riad, helped me patiently with every question I had and gave me perfect advice on where to go and what to see. I also booked a trip to the Ourika Valley there. Hicham, the driver and a pleasant and interesting conversational partner, only stopped at the best places and personally made sure I got a reliable guide for my hike to the waterfalls.
The Riad Idra is really an oasis in every respect: beauty, calm, and culinary art, all accompanied by an impeccable service of really dedicated and warmhearted personnel.
Dear Karine, Omar, Hicham and all of you: Thank you very much again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Patrick,

We are glad to know that your stay at Riad Idra met your expectation and we really want to thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.
I have passed your compliments on to Hicham, Omar and the rest of the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Riad Idra for your next stay in Marrakech !
Best,

Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
122
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I, my mother and sister just got back from our week long trip in Morocco. We wanted to make the last part of our trip very special so we had booked Riad Idra based on the great reviews and pictures we found on booking.com. Riad Idra certainly lived up and beyond our expectations and we enjoyed every bit of our stay there. The staff was very professional and super friendly. Karine gave us great suggestions every time and would take care of all our questions in no time. The breakfast on the beautiful terrace was incredible with lot's of delicious local and fresh ingredients. The riad is super clean and very tastefully designed. The best part was the hammam that I had booked on the day we were leaving and it was truly an amazing experience. They used black soap, followed by gentle scrubs, and masques, orange flower scented shampoo finished with great Clarins body lotions at the end. Your skin looks quite silky when you leave. It's a wonderful little oasis that we would definitely go back to again.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room in the corner. The riad is very quiet so I'm assuming all rooms are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Laili,
Many thanks for sharing your impressions about Riad Idra.
We would be very happy to welcome you and your family again at the Riad.
Kind regards,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Idra for 4 nights in the last week of February. We chose the Idra on the back of the other reviews on Tripadvisor. We can only endorse everything other travellers have said. From the moment we got their on the first late on the first evening to be greeted by Karine and Omar with mint tea and shown to our room to the moment we left we were treated with great kindness and helpfulness. We ate dinner on the first night and the meal was superb. The breakfasts are huge and kept us going all day. The Riad is in a great location and is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Without doubt the greatest strength is the standard of care from all the staff we encountered. The Idra is was of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and undoubtedly the highlight of our stay in Marrakesh. We would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: We slept in the Ahlam which gave an ideal riad experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Deidre,
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share you impression about your stay at the Riad Idra.
We are very delighted to know that you spent a wonderful time with us and we hope to welcome you back here.
Best regards,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Riad Idra has been the best choice for location (10 minutes from the main square Fna, 20 minutes from Majorelle gardens,...); the rooms are very clean and comfortable,the riad always fresh and very noiseless.
All the streets around are very safe and people are always happy to talk and to help with a smile.
The staff was very precious for suggestions on visits and trips.
Me and my friends have been positively impressed by breakfasts and the courtesy of the staff has always been together with us while drinking tea, surrounded by the scent of roses and oranges and by the gush of water fountains.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Awesome comment, thank you !
The team and i were very delighted to welcome you and your friends at the Riad and to has been part of the experience of the Moroccan culture's discovery.
We hope to see you again at Riad Idra.
Best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giovanni in Persiceto, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we just came back from a beautiful 5 days trip to Marrakech. The riad is really well positioned, elegant but cosy, peaceful but at the same time at the center of the medina. not even 10 minutes walk to Fna! Karin - the manager - is really helpful and all the staff is ready to please you!. Wanderfull breakfast, changes every morning; we even had dinner there and it was superb! Pick-up service and excursions are very well planned directly from them if you need them. There is an Hamman and a Spa as well. thanks to Karin/Omar/Hicham/Mussan for the relaxing stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Viviana,
Thanks a lot for your beautiful review about the Riad Idra.
We are very pleased to know that you have appreciated our various breakfast every day and the quality of our meals.
In order to offer our guests the best quality of food, our chefs Driss and Naima prepare daily meals with fresh vegetables we buy every morning at the market.
You and your friend have got a house in Marrakech now !
All the best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We can absolutely recommend a stay here - it is the personal service on top of the beautiful facilities which make this place so special. We stayed 4 nights with our 14-month old son and we really felt taken care of the whole time.

Our room (the Aliya) was wonderful and spacious to suit our needs with a walking infant. The whole Riad is very modern and beautifully decorated, including the dining room, the courtyard and the rooftop terrace - where breakfast in the sun was a wonderful treat.

The food is absolutely outstanding - we arranged to dine every night and were treated to an amazing 4-course meal. Breakfasts are equally outstanding. We also had the hammam bathing experience followed by a massage - it was wonderful and a must do.

The Riad is close to the souks and Jamaâ el Fna Square so it is a great location, yet it is a hidden oasis, away from the tourist and local hustle and bustle outside. We recommend taking up the offer of the Riad's airport transfer service. It is a short walk from the vehicle drop off point to the Riad and staff were there to meet us and take our bags for us.

All staff were excellent, especially the French host Karine, whose personalised service ensured our stay was fabulous. We also appreciated and enjoyed the loving attention our son received from Omar and Musa. It felt like a luxurious home away from home for us. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked the Aliya suite to give us more room with our walking 14-month old son - it was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Megan, dear Michael, dear Max,

I’ve just read your outstanding review about the Riad Idra. Thanks a lots for sharing your impression !
The satisfaction of our guests is our priority and we really appreciate to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Special words for baby Max : the whole team is missing you !
We hope to see you soon at the Riad….
All the best !

Karine and Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful Riad, right in the Medina. Expertly run by Karine and her team - very welcoming and friendly personal service - nothing is too much trouble. The whole Riad is immaculately kept - looks like it was decorated yesterday. Food quality is superb - we chose to eat 3 out of 4 evenings in the Riad. The fish meals were particularly delicious. Riad Idra is an oasis of calm, far removed from the hustle and bustle of the town, amazingly tranquil and quiet. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Its all comfortable and quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Louise,
The team and i would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our Riad.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon in Marrakech !
All the best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.