We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for all means” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idra

Save Saved
You added Riad Idra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Idra
Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Asse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect for all means”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are just back from a week in Morokko, where we spend 3 nuits in marrakech at the Riad Idra. From the first moment you enter the Riad, its wauw! You would never expect to find this gorgous "palace" after entering a wouden door in a narrow small street in the medina. And the wauw effect goes on thanks to the genuine friendlyness of the host Karine and Omar, the very professional waiter.
Our room was just fantastic decorated with all facilities you need (and more), nice wellcomming snack, fresch water, which is highly appreciated after a long travel.
The first night we decided to stay at the Riad for diner and this was the best choice in terms of freschness, taste and attention for culinairy details - well done to the kitchen team and the chef.
This excellent cuisine was confirmed during the new years eve diner: fantastic! Althoufg not foreseen initially to be organised, but thanks to a family, we were all able to experience another 1* Michelin quality meal.
The strength of this Riad is the sould it has: tastfully decorated by the owners and Karine, Omar's customer centricity, Karine who runs it with heart and soul and the whole teams engagement in customer delighting. Keep it going, folks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Jean,
Thank you so much for your "Whaou" review !
We really enjoyed welcoming you and your wife at the Riad, and the all team is sendind you their best regards.
We hope to see you again for your next trip in Morocco...
Best.
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
122
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hongcheon-gun, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had stayed 3 nights at Riad Idra; our room is spacious, nicely decorated. Karine is most helpful to assist with our transportation, sightseeing arrangement and dinner booking. Omar looked after our breakfast and everything. I love the freshly squeezed organge juice during breakfast. The area is safe because there is a police station at the entrance of the main road

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Riad Idra.
The team and i were delighted to welcome you here and we hope to see you soon.
All the best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were staying at The Red House hotel and were recommended to Riad Idra for the hamman experience. We were not disappointed, it was very very good and the Riad, managed by Karine, made us very welcome with a tour and refreshments after the hamman. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Stuart, Dear Charlotte,

Thank you very much for sharing your impression about your stay at Riad Idra.
We also wanted to thank you for your 5***** appreciation about our staff, we really appreciate your support.
I still working on the idea of a bell on the roof terrace, we are going to arrange it so you should find it for your next stay with us. Thanks for the ingenious idea !
Please send our greetings to Nicola and Andrew.
We hope to see you next year.
All the best,

Karine & Idra’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Riad Idra is an awesome place for authentic Moroccan experience minus the hassel. I have been to 30 countries i can safely say that this was the best service ever.The riad is absolutely clean and very tastefully decorated. Location is safe and right in heart of old city. Service is above and beyond your expectations. Staff is extremely courteous and caring with excellent attention to detail. Hamam downstairs is amazing! Karin goes above and beyond to help you make most of your trip- from dinner reservations to arranging day or overnight trips to arranging transportation, local guide with excellent recommendations. She even offered to check with airline when we wanted to extend our stay.
We absolutely loved our stay at Riad Idra
and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sangam,
Thank you so much for your review. The team and i were very pleased to serve you during your stay at the Riad.
We hope to see you and your wife soon...
Best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I searched and searched online for a riad in which to stay in Marrakech and when we came across Riad Idra online we knew we had found the perfect spot. Riad Idra is exactly as pictured online, which is something that can't be said for most hotels. The owners told me that they spent two years renovating it before opening it to the public and it shows. The decor is done in painstaking detail, from the handcarved plaster, handpainted armoirs, to the art on the walls. Each room's decor varies, which makes it feel more like a home (or palace, rather) than a generic hotel. We stayed in both the chambre Nour and were upgraded to the Aliya since the riad was empty towards the end of our stay. The rooms were spotless, had lovely bed linens and the bathrooms were beautiful. There is plenty of space in the armoirs to allow you to fully unpack your luggage. The outdoor spaces are beautiful as well. The ground room courtyard is stunning, as is the terrace and the indoor dining space that is used when it is too hot to dine outdoors. There is also a library and a Congo room. All are impeccably decorated with the same attention to detail found throughout the riad.

The staff is simply wonderful. Karine, the manager, offers the highest level of customer service. During our stay I had a package delivered from DHL and she went and picked it up for me--an activity I'm sure falls outside of her purview as manager. She knows Marrakech inside and out and gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, arranged for a guide to visit Ali ben Youssef Medersa and the souks, and ensured that every activity we did was as stress free as possible. Karine arranged for us to visit several of the shops and furniture stores that they used to decorate the riad and arranged for us to use the riad's driver for the afternoon, which I highly recommend since it made our excursion pleasant and carefree. Omar was so kind and attentive to our every need. He served us breakfast every morning and dinner the two evenings that we ate at the riad. At one point we needed something from the pharmacy and he took my husband there to ensure that we got what we needed. He was always ready to help in whatever way he could--guiding us through the streets of Marrakech or helping us to negotiate the price of a taxi. The driver was also very kind and friendly. During our shopping trip, he went out and bought us bottled water to make our excursion more pleasant. The staff essentially works overtime for you to ensure that your stay is the best that it can be and this is a huge part of what makes Riad Idra so special.

The restaurant at the Riad is exceptional and I highly recommend it. The food is fresh, innovative and expertly prepared. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The spa at the Riad is excellent and you should not pass it up. I had both a massage and did a hammam and both were amazing.

In sum, I highly recommend staying here. My husband and I can't wait to go back and will stay nowhere else in Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for all those beautifull things you said about our Riad.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again at the Riad.
We wish you all the best....
Riad Idra's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was dreaming about trip to Morocco with my boyfriend for a long time , was searching very carefully which riad to choose, and finally found the Riad Idra, reviews on the tripadvisor impressed me, and when we finally got there, we were amazed by this place , it was a little palace in the middle of the medina
The walk to the riad is very intriguing and then beautiful Karine opened the door and it was WOW!:)
We absolutely loved the Riad Idra, we didn't want to leave the place at all, all the rooms look fantastic, but the "The Aliya Suite" is special one, very sweet combination of french elegance with Moroccan style, i loved the design of the riad,and detailes, detailes in everything!!!
I would love to take some tips for designing our home, and lovely Karen gave us all the addresses where to find all that fantastic furnirure that was in the riad, the library room is amazing where we had not once mint tea, the dining room, the roof is fantastic , there was a special hidden spot in African style where you chill with a glass of wine and enjoy a spectacular view. The Riad Idra was home away from home( it was a palace)!
Every morning we had fantastic breakfast, specially cooked with our preferences, and we tasted some moroccan delicious things, make sure to try their special porridge and the omelette with dry meat
Thanks to Karine and all team who made our stay i Marrakech magic and unforgettable, Karine organised everything for us: booked carefully selected restaurants, where Mustafa was helping us to find the way in small streets of Medina, we especially liked our first night at Le Salama, lunches at Terrasse des epices, and there is a lot other wonderful places. Twice we had dinner at the Riad Idra, and it was so yammy, fish tagine...
Location is fantastic, everything is so close: all the nice restaurants, hammams, square, Medersa ben Youssef, thousands of souks, colorful locals
And my favorite thing was hammam in the Riad Idra, it was absolutely fabulous, moroccan scrub and then massage... Unique experience.. That was just before my flight, if i knew before that it would so relaxing i would go to hammam in Riad Idra every day:)
We would like to come back to this haven in Marrakech:)
Karine thank you and all team for our fantastic experience in marrakech, we hope to see you very soon again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much Ana for your review and for your beautifull pictures of the riad.
All the team and i were so delighted to welcome you you and we really hope to see you again at Riad Idra for your next vacations.
All the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to find Riad Idra upon recommendation from another Riad. Riad Idra was our perfect oasis in the crazy Marrakech Medina. The design is impeccable to every last detail from the marble floors, to ornately carved plaster, bathroom fixtures, lighting, hand painted built-ins in the bedrooms, vintage carpets. Can you tell I love this stuff? The Riad is beautiful in every way but the real strength of the Riad is the people. Their team is so warm and inviting, they make you feel like you are honored guests staying in their home. We traveled with our two children (6 and 10) and they accommodated our every need without us ever asking. Karine, the Riads friendly and upbeat Manager anticipated our needs, helped us plan our daily itinerary, helped track down objects in our shopping expeditions and even proactively checked in to make sure we were ok when we were late returning to the Riad (on more than one occasion). Omar was so kind to our children, he was warm and genuinely vested in us having a wonderful stay.

Our only regret is we didn’t spend more time in the Riad. We hope to be back some day.

Note to owners: you have a real gem in Karine. We have stayed all over the world, the property itself is fabulous but there are a lot of fabulous properties, Karine and team really makes Riad Idra stand out as one of the best hotels that we have visited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much Tim for all those compliments.
We also really appreciated to welcome you, your wife and your amazing children.
Hope to see the all family soon....
All the best.
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.