We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place! Great location! Best service we ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Idra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Idra to your Saves list
Riad Idra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place! Great location! Best service we ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Riad Idra is an awesome place for authentic Moroccan experience minus the hassel. I have been to 30 countries i can safely say that this was the best service ever.The riad is absolutely clean and very tastefully decorated. Location is safe and right in heart of old city. Service is above and beyond your expectations. Staff is extremely courteous and caring with excellent attention to detail. Hamam downstairs is amazing! Karin goes above and beyond to help you make most of your trip- from dinner reservations to arranging day or overnight trips to arranging transportation, local guide with excellent recommendations. She even offered to check with airline when we wanted to extend our stay.
We absolutely loved our stay at Riad Idra
and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sangam,
Thank you so much for your review. The team and i were very pleased to serve you during your stay at the Riad.
We hope to see you and your wife soon...
Best,
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
124
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I searched and searched online for a riad in which to stay in Marrakech and when we came across Riad Idra online we knew we had found the perfect spot. Riad Idra is exactly as pictured online, which is something that can't be said for most hotels. The owners told me that they spent two years renovating it before opening it to the public and it shows. The decor is done in painstaking detail, from the handcarved plaster, handpainted armoirs, to the art on the walls. Each room's decor varies, which makes it feel more like a home (or palace, rather) than a generic hotel. We stayed in both the chambre Nour and were upgraded to the Aliya since the riad was empty towards the end of our stay. The rooms were spotless, had lovely bed linens and the bathrooms were beautiful. There is plenty of space in the armoirs to allow you to fully unpack your luggage. The outdoor spaces are beautiful as well. The ground room courtyard is stunning, as is the terrace and the indoor dining space that is used when it is too hot to dine outdoors. There is also a library and a Congo room. All are impeccably decorated with the same attention to detail found throughout the riad.

The staff is simply wonderful. Karine, the manager, offers the highest level of customer service. During our stay I had a package delivered from DHL and she went and picked it up for me--an activity I'm sure falls outside of her purview as manager. She knows Marrakech inside and out and gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, arranged for a guide to visit Ali ben Youssef Medersa and the souks, and ensured that every activity we did was as stress free as possible. Karine arranged for us to visit several of the shops and furniture stores that they used to decorate the riad and arranged for us to use the riad's driver for the afternoon, which I highly recommend since it made our excursion pleasant and carefree. Omar was so kind and attentive to our every need. He served us breakfast every morning and dinner the two evenings that we ate at the riad. At one point we needed something from the pharmacy and he took my husband there to ensure that we got what we needed. He was always ready to help in whatever way he could--guiding us through the streets of Marrakech or helping us to negotiate the price of a taxi. The driver was also very kind and friendly. During our shopping trip, he went out and bought us bottled water to make our excursion more pleasant. The staff essentially works overtime for you to ensure that your stay is the best that it can be and this is a huge part of what makes Riad Idra so special.

The restaurant at the Riad is exceptional and I highly recommend it. The food is fresh, innovative and expertly prepared. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful. The spa at the Riad is excellent and you should not pass it up. I had both a massage and did a hammam and both were amazing.

In sum, I highly recommend staying here. My husband and I can't wait to go back and will stay nowhere else in Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for all those beautifull things you said about our Riad.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again at the Riad.
We wish you all the best....
Riad Idra's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was dreaming about trip to Morocco with my boyfriend for a long time , was searching very carefully which riad to choose, and finally found the Riad Idra, reviews on the tripadvisor impressed me, and when we finally got there, we were amazed by this place , it was a little palace in the middle of the medina
The walk to the riad is very intriguing and then beautiful Karine opened the door and it was WOW!:)
We absolutely loved the Riad Idra, we didn't want to leave the place at all, all the rooms look fantastic, but the "The Aliya Suite" is special one, very sweet combination of french elegance with Moroccan style, i loved the design of the riad,and detailes, detailes in everything!!!
I would love to take some tips for designing our home, and lovely Karen gave us all the addresses where to find all that fantastic furnirure that was in the riad, the library room is amazing where we had not once mint tea, the dining room, the roof is fantastic , there was a special hidden spot in African style where you chill with a glass of wine and enjoy a spectacular view. The Riad Idra was home away from home( it was a palace)!
Every morning we had fantastic breakfast, specially cooked with our preferences, and we tasted some moroccan delicious things, make sure to try their special porridge and the omelette with dry meat
Thanks to Karine and all team who made our stay i Marrakech magic and unforgettable, Karine organised everything for us: booked carefully selected restaurants, where Mustafa was helping us to find the way in small streets of Medina, we especially liked our first night at Le Salama, lunches at Terrasse des epices, and there is a lot other wonderful places. Twice we had dinner at the Riad Idra, and it was so yammy, fish tagine...
Location is fantastic, everything is so close: all the nice restaurants, hammams, square, Medersa ben Youssef, thousands of souks, colorful locals
And my favorite thing was hammam in the Riad Idra, it was absolutely fabulous, moroccan scrub and then massage... Unique experience.. That was just before my flight, if i knew before that it would so relaxing i would go to hammam in Riad Idra every day:)
We would like to come back to this haven in Marrakech:)
Karine thank you and all team for our fantastic experience in marrakech, we hope to see you very soon again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much Ana for your review and for your beautifull pictures of the riad.
All the team and i were so delighted to welcome you you and we really hope to see you again at Riad Idra for your next vacations.
All the best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to find Riad Idra upon recommendation from another Riad. Riad Idra was our perfect oasis in the crazy Marrakech Medina. The design is impeccable to every last detail from the marble floors, to ornately carved plaster, bathroom fixtures, lighting, hand painted built-ins in the bedrooms, vintage carpets. Can you tell I love this stuff? The Riad is beautiful in every way but the real strength of the Riad is the people. Their team is so warm and inviting, they make you feel like you are honored guests staying in their home. We traveled with our two children (6 and 10) and they accommodated our every need without us ever asking. Karine, the Riads friendly and upbeat Manager anticipated our needs, helped us plan our daily itinerary, helped track down objects in our shopping expeditions and even proactively checked in to make sure we were ok when we were late returning to the Riad (on more than one occasion). Omar was so kind to our children, he was warm and genuinely vested in us having a wonderful stay.

Our only regret is we didn’t spend more time in the Riad. We hope to be back some day.

Note to owners: you have a real gem in Karine. We have stayed all over the world, the property itself is fabulous but there are a lot of fabulous properties, Karine and team really makes Riad Idra stand out as one of the best hotels that we have visited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much Tim for all those compliments.
We also really appreciated to welcome you, your wife and your amazing children.
Hope to see the all family soon....
All the best.
Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is my first review on tripadvisor, and until now I had no reason to write a review, I also have travelled to many places as well... But Riad Idra is worth sharing our views, as I would recommend this place to everyone wanting to visit Marrakech. It is a seven bedroom Riad, in the Medina area of Marrakech and it is a little place of tranquillity, charm and peace. Firstly I need to advise that the photos on the website are a true reflection of the Riad, they have not been adopted or edited with photoshop. We stayed in the Kamal Room and it was truly delightful from the quality of the decor and the design of the room, to the bed linen, towels, bed, furniture etc. Even the air conditioning unit had a cover over to fit with the decor. We had fresh flowers in the room and in bathroom. We looked a number of other rooms and again the standard was amazing. It was newly renovated and has been open less than year. The whole Riad was bright and had an airy feeling. The roof terrace is great place to eat and relax, if it is not too hot. If not the air conditioned French feeling dining room is equally pleasant.

Food – without fail it is the best place to eat in Marrakech we ate in 3 top restaurants, we then spent the rest or our time eating in the Riad. The Chef is brilliant with a great ability to mix European and Moroccan flavours. One day we just fancied a vegetable soup for a quick lunch and the Chef made it especially for us and it was stunning.

The Manager, Karine, provided the highest level of customer service I have ever experienced. A week before our arrival I asked her advice on want to see and do, and she created an itinerary for our 5 days that was perfect and booked all restaurants, trips and guides that we needed. I also experienced the Hammas within the Riad, and the massage was brilliant and on a par with many top London Spas. On our last day shopping (Karine advised which shops to go to, according to our taste) and we brought a painting, that we could not take on the plane home. She rang DHL and got a price to send it back to the UK, then took it to the DHL depot on our behalf.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADIDRAMARRAKECH, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for all the lovely things you've written about the Riad Idra.
We hope to see both of you soon.
Greettings from all the team...

Karine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

had the 1st dinner in marrakech at riad idea terrace ..... super setting and fantastic food and service..... counldnt have asked for a better start to the holidays !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at Riad Idra for 2 days and nights, but it felt like much longer because it was so relaxing being there. It is in a great location, right in the Medina, hidden down a little alley way. Their concierge came and met our taxi at the end of the road to ensure we did not get lost, and also delivered us back to our taxi at the end of our visit. We stayed in one of their suites which was so beautifully designed with amazing attention to detail. We had wonderful breakfasts on the roof terrace as well as a lunch and a dinner while we were there. The food was great and they discussed the menus with us first of all so we could choose what they would prepare. The staff were very friendly, it was just such a lovely place to stay, I can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Riad Idra, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much Cathie for your nice review about your stay at the riad.
We will be so delighted to see you next time you come to Morocco.
Best regards to you and to your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Idra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Idra

Address: Derb Tizougarine 105 | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Idra 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Idra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Idra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.