We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled in expecting a 4* Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Tainam to your Saves list
Riad Al Tainam
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #683 of 1,137 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled in expecting a 4* Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Pictures of property are good --beware though --this does not match up in quality to others in Marrakech -- this is strictly somewhere to put your head down for 1 night if your backpacking ! ---not for holidays.
Self accredited 4* this is equivalent to an English 1/2* guesthouse.
This is a "cash only" hotel -- bills are generally on bits of notepaper unless you ask -- not very professional --with a little effort from the management this place could be ok.
You will not read that this is practically next door to a mosque--so be prepared for early morning calls to prayer.
Nearest place for bottled water and a coffee is El Fina square about 10 mins away though the alleys --a bit intimidating in the eve !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    14
    7
    12
See reviews for
9
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed with a group of girlfriends and took over the whole Riad. Met at the airport and all went smoothly. Staff were very helpful and attentive - surprised to read some negative reviews - must be different staff is all I can say. Loved the traditional features and decor in the Riad and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after venturing out into the hustle and bustle of the medina.
Ate at the Riad on the first and last night - food was absolutely delicious and good value. Meal times were always arranged to suit us and we took a trip into the mountains arranged by the staff - all drivers used by them were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We booked the whole riad for an extended family group of 10, were collected at airport in new minibus and taken to riad. All went smoothly. Riad very hard to find for a first time visitor but so is everything else in the medina.( suggest you arrange collection at airport) Had dinner in riad on first night .Breakfast traditional pancakes, bread and honey with good coffee. We found eating other meals out the best option. Rooms and bathrooms are traditional morrocan with comfortable bed and basic shower, toilet and whb. Pool too small to swim in but kids could splash about. Rooftop terrace very enjoyable. Very easy walk (10mins) to square along narrow road crowded with bicycles, motorcycles, donkey carts, pedestrians and stalls. Compared to holidays in Turkey we were not harassed much by vendors.
Area around riad is well lit and we didnt feel uncomfortable coming back late at night although we were the only tourists for last few minutes of walk.
Staff were helpful and always present. This is a family run bed and breakfast where you can get a meal if needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We've just spent 4 nights at this riad, we booked it via an internet site and paid in euros' upon arrival. Our rom was ready when we arrived (despite an early flight) and was lovely, traditionally Moroccan with an amazing bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although their English was limited we managed to get by speaking basic French.
Breakfast was included and served whatever time we got up and wherever we wanted it. There is a lovely roof terrace and we used the loungers to sunbathe etc.
The riad itself is about a10 minute walk from the main square and on a direct route so it was very easy to find our way back at night. (Some of my friends have stayed in riad's that were impossible to find and at night were in alley's that were dark.)
Our only complaint would be that travelling to Marrakech at this time of year, the nights can be very cold and our room had no heating, only air conditioning. Staff gave us extra throws etc. but heating would be good for winter visitors!! We would definately return.
Like previous reviewers have put, don't expect a big chain hotel style service and experience, this is an authetic riad and for us was perfect for our stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband & I pre-booked this riad from the UK via the internet. Upon booking we were requested to pay a deposit by bank transfer, slightly annoying & cost us £10, however we thought we really wanted to stay in this riad that sounded amazing - Oh how wrong we were!
Upon receiving payment the riad contacted me to advise we would stay at another riad, which we accepted, however, upon arriving they said we were staying at this one. We then had to move on our final night to stay in another riad, not sure why as they couldn't tell us - honesty, they had no idea what was going on.
Upon arriving in Marrakesh after an overnight train we sat down and were asked for the rest of our money, there was absolutely no welcoming feeling at this riad nor do they state anywhere that full payment was due the moment you arrived. We were eventually shown our room after waiting 30 mins in the cold, to find it unclean with dirty floors, we then showered & were standing in 4 inches of water & with the shower spraying water everywhere. After just 2 hours we were asked for money again, we informed the riad manager we could pay 2 nights in Euro & the rest in Dirham, this was a major issue and after 3 phone calls to the owner it was agreed we could pay this. We were charged a crazy exchange rate to pay in Dirham, however, that was their preferred currency, the manager was in our faces asking for money the moment he saw us. It appeared he could only speak English when asking for money & telling us what to do, however, if you asked or queried anything he did not understand a word.
They also said they had internet available, however, upon arriving we needed to wait 4 hours before they gave us a wireless device and then charged us for it!
There was a pool, however, I think you would risk your health if had got into it. It had a rather bizarre smell, was dirty and had dead insects lying on the top of the water - just disgusting!
They state that this riad is 5 mins away from Jamma el fna, this is totally incorrect, it took us 15 mins each day to walk to & from the riad into the centre.
All round our experience at this place was terrible, the manager was rude & incompetent and to be honest I think he tried to rip us off a couple of times when dealing with money. We spoke to other guests and they felt the same.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This place is the best on earth!

lovely, clean, nice local design, local staff!!!!!!! (sick of European management)... not far away from central square in a local area where u can socialize with kids, workers, anyone... fantastic integration in the community... you become a local! food at the riad is simply the best! they had just installed the AC when we went there + private hot tub with massage>>> so relaxing. i wish I could live there.

whatever you say this is located in the medina, in a local area, it s clean, food is the best and anything you need just ask for it! best place to stay and CHEAP. if not happy stay outside with retired people...here you get the truth with of the Magreb service.

thanks to the staff mustafa and ghita.

Raph

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhein-Main
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

unfortunatly i booked this riad for our one week stay in marakech because i seems to be nice from the internet pictures.
as soon as we arrived, we dicided to leave immediatly and looked for some other place to stay.
This is my personal opinion:
the area isn't nice. we didn't feel comfortabl. dirty plants in the patio and a musty smalling bathrom.
we lost our deposit but finaly we found a lovly, charming, frendly place in marakech.

Also they asked for ..... "+ 4 euros tourist tax for 2 people" .... we didn't have to pay anywhere else. And .... " 7 mn walking from Jamma el Fna square" ... we need 20 minutes to gt there.

good luck!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#399 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#400 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#743 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#650 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#22 of 206 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bjoujna
Riad Bjoujna
#422 of 1,137 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #683 of 1,137 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Tainam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Tainam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.