We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for the same price as a luxury riad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Tainam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Tainam
Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor for the same price as a luxury riad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location of this riad was exceptionally poor, in the roughest part of the souks, 15 minutes to the Djemaa al Fna. The greeting staff were very friendly, as was the cleaning lady, however the man I presume owns the riad was on the hard-sell about booking their excursions. Overall, the riad was very shabby, our toilet leaked and the bathrooms require repair. The bed linen was clean, but the pillows underneath were not. The breakfast was the same everyday, simple crepes and bread with coffee and orange juice; the dinner at the riad is UK prices for Marrakech food. I have stayed in Marrakech previously at riad Assala, which was the same price as Riad al Tainam, but was much more luxurious than this, in a much nicer part of town - we booked the other riad but this was given as our alternative when the previous closed down. I would not recommend unless you are an experienced traveler who doesn't mind their location much.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not face out into the street - a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
5
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this Riad online, received confirmation and also received two emails from the Riad itself thanking us for our booking and answering our questions. When we arrived they said they had no record of our reservation, despite us showing the confirmation and the two emails that they had sent us about parking and meals. Since there was no other rooms for us we were without a place to stay and turned away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is at least 15min walk from the central square (Jeema al Fena) in Marrakesh, and in a outlying part of the medina, so factor this if travelling with a family or someone with disability. The location isn't clear on maps, so be prepared to pay for a local to assist you upon arrival.

Generally the staff were great, but I was upset by the day manager twice: I wanted to shorten my trip by 1 night, which he refused and thereby TOLD ME how to spend my holiday. Then, like a car salesperson, he wanted to sell me a day trip to the very same place I wanted to go to with the day!

The cleaning staff are great, but there was black mould in my bathroom. And the shower flooded the floor every time.

There is no buffet breakfast. You get a glass of juice, a cup of coffee, a roll and a moroccan pancake (msiman) with some butter and jam each. That's it!

Room Tip: Book one night. See if you like it, and extend your stay as needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldnt complain about the price. Get what you paid for. The room was quite nice but the bathroom needed a lot of work especially as the sinks were blocked and the shower turned into a bath. Very basic. Riad was nicely decorated.
It was hard trying to find the place and we would never have found it without asking a guide. We went into the souk at night and were lucky to find the place again as there are few street signs and no signposts to the Riad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this affordable hotel. Our expectations were not high, considering the below average rates charged. The hotel is located in a quiet off-the-beaten track neighborhood. Relatively easy to find. The bathroom fixtures could do with some maintenance. The biggest drawback was the courtyard with a plunge-pool. Regrettably the courtyard has been sealed off with plastic on the roof, inhibiting fresh air to circulate at night and capturing the chloride smell of the pool indoors. Hence we were obliged to the use of air-conditioning in the rooms, which has been mounted just above the bed. Sleeping under an ice cold stream of air is not recommendable and can have bad health consequences (as it did in my case). Contrary to the statement on the website, we could not pay with creditcard. Nevertheless the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms at the front are better, having an outward facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got picked up from the airport which went very smoothly, and the checking in process at the Riad was quick with friendly service.

The room was very clean and adequate for a couple and the decor was beautiful and traditional. The only downside of the room was the shower head wasn't working properly, however, we were extremely satisfied none the less.

We had dinner twice at the hotel over a one weeks stay. The food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was nice initially but got a little monotonous after having the same thing every day.

All the staff were wonderful, nice and extremely helpful. I can't say one fault with any staff member who went above and beyond expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over looking the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in this riad for 7 nights with my friends. The arranged taxi pick up from the airport went smooth.Arriving late the night staff he was very kind and helpful.
Room big and nice but mine was very noisy because had a window overloking the street where the local kids made noise till very late night or i should stay early morning.Otherwise the room (suit) was big enough and i liked especially the bathroom.
Have seen friends rooms they were decent as well.
Breakfast same every morning which was not bad but in Marrakech where they can get many different type of pastries should have been more interesting apparently the bred was made before and kept in the fridge for a week at least and warmed up in the microvawe in the morning, always the same . Did not bother me but friends stayed 2 weeks and they ended up buying breakfast from the local bakeries. Getting up early to go to the desert they have been told the early breakfast is ok but they wont have orange juice. In Marrakech where you can buy orange juice even at 2 oclock in the morning how can be this a problem? never mind they bought from the square and carried in a plastic bottle and kept in a fridge till the morning. These are little things but they make the difference. Wherever i stayed before the orange juice was not a problem even early morning because they kept a bottle in the fridge just in case if somebody going early. Mint tea was offered only at the arriving and never again.This is unusual for me as well because in other riads where i ever stayed they offered mint tea at least 1 time in a day. Staff became quite ignorant when he saw we can manage our trips alone and kept asking how much did we pay for our trips.For us because we were 7 friends together was much better to rent a private minibus than pay for an agency as we found it out compare the prices. But he was not very happy about this and definetely could feel in the athmosphere. In my last day when i had to check out he was knocking on my door to ask me to hurry up because guest coming, sure but iv payed for the room till 12 am so why should i leave 11.30? I dont think this was the riad where i have had the best welcoming experience. Swimming pool useful especially in the heat but you could hardly swim in there but very good to cool down if you want to. Jemaa el fna about 10 minutes walk it depent how busy is the derb dabachi street....can be extremely busy in the evenings.
My general opinion is this is an average riad nice looking and comfortable, roof terrace is nice as well but for me little things make the difference, when i feel i am at home and well looked after , sometimes just ask how are you? which was fine at the first days but then because we only used the riad and didnt want to go to the trips with them the attitude has been changed.Anyway the lady who served our breakfast she was really nice and smiled all the time. It was good for once but because i have moved after my 7 nights into another riad and have had really good experience for about 1/3 price and only 3 minutes walk from Jemaa , we think next time we gonna choose another one.We still love Marrakech and nothing can disappoint us anyway. Is a magic town and everybody should see at least 1 time in their life!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Tainam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.