We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Tainam to your Saves list
Riad Al Tainam
Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got picked up from the airport which went very smoothly, and the checking in process at the Riad was quick with friendly service.

The room was very clean and adequate for a couple and the decor was beautiful and traditional. The only downside of the room was the shower head wasn't working properly, however, we were extremely satisfied none the less.

We had dinner twice at the hotel over a one weeks stay. The food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was nice initially but got a little monotonous after having the same thing every day.

All the staff were wonderful, nice and extremely helpful. I can't say one fault with any staff member who went above and beyond expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over looking the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
7
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in this riad for 7 nights with my friends. The arranged taxi pick up from the airport went smooth.Arriving late the night staff he was very kind and helpful.
Room big and nice but mine was very noisy because had a window overloking the street where the local kids made noise till very late night or i should stay early morning.Otherwise the room (suit) was big enough and i liked especially the bathroom.
Have seen friends rooms they were decent as well.
Breakfast same every morning which was not bad but in Marrakech where they can get many different type of pastries should have been more interesting apparently the bred was made before and kept in the fridge for a week at least and warmed up in the microvawe in the morning, always the same . Did not bother me but friends stayed 2 weeks and they ended up buying breakfast from the local bakeries. Getting up early to go to the desert they have been told the early breakfast is ok but they wont have orange juice. In Marrakech where you can buy orange juice even at 2 oclock in the morning how can be this a problem? never mind they bought from the square and carried in a plastic bottle and kept in a fridge till the morning. These are little things but they make the difference. Wherever i stayed before the orange juice was not a problem even early morning because they kept a bottle in the fridge just in case if somebody going early. Mint tea was offered only at the arriving and never again.This is unusual for me as well because in other riads where i ever stayed they offered mint tea at least 1 time in a day. Staff became quite ignorant when he saw we can manage our trips alone and kept asking how much did we pay for our trips.For us because we were 7 friends together was much better to rent a private minibus than pay for an agency as we found it out compare the prices. But he was not very happy about this and definetely could feel in the athmosphere. In my last day when i had to check out he was knocking on my door to ask me to hurry up because guest coming, sure but iv payed for the room till 12 am so why should i leave 11.30? I dont think this was the riad where i have had the best welcoming experience. Swimming pool useful especially in the heat but you could hardly swim in there but very good to cool down if you want to. Jemaa el fna about 10 minutes walk it depent how busy is the derb dabachi street....can be extremely busy in the evenings.
My general opinion is this is an average riad nice looking and comfortable, roof terrace is nice as well but for me little things make the difference, when i feel i am at home and well looked after , sometimes just ask how are you? which was fine at the first days but then because we only used the riad and didnt want to go to the trips with them the attitude has been changed.Anyway the lady who served our breakfast she was really nice and smiled all the time. It was good for once but because i have moved after my 7 nights into another riad and have had really good experience for about 1/3 price and only 3 minutes walk from Jemaa , we think next time we gonna choose another one.We still love Marrakech and nothing can disappoint us anyway. Is a magic town and everybody should see at least 1 time in their life!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Hard to find & only got there after the help of a very nice local(unlike some of them). 5 minutes walk from the main square. Swimming pool is a little misleading as you cant swim in it! Very comfy room, the air con being very welcome & nice spacious bathroom. Staff were helpful especially when requiring some medicine for my fiancee. Breakfast was delicious. A little noisy at night thanks to some local children. All in all, very pleasant but a little rough round the edges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

stayed with 4 friends. the rooms were decent iwth good bathroom, the breakfast was delicious - fresh orange juice, freshly made breads, homemade jams, mint tea and coffee.
location is brilliant - 6 mins walk to the jemaa al fna square.
rooms were decent size with nice bathrooms and cleaned thoroughly and daily by one lady who seemed to do everytyhing!
the roof terrace is great for sunbathing but don't expect to cool off in the pool, it is not a pool but more a water feature!
airport pick up and drop off was good, but leave time if you are with ryan air as you have to get your ticket stamped at the check in desk, can't jsut walk thrugh with your online check in boarding pass.
the guy who ran the riad ws friendly enough but didn't give us very accurate information about distance/location so cross reference.
there was quite a lot of noise during the night from vendors, prayer call and cleaning which started early in the riad, and the other guests as it was rather echoey, as all riads probably are.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegelen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Excellent Riad about 10 minutes walk from the the main square Djemaa el Fna. Easy to find (right, end of "street" left and continuing straight ahead).
Breakfast okay, room small but okay, shower clean and also okay. We had a very pleasant stay.
Pick up from the airport went very well. Price / Quality is okay. It will be hard to find a riad with this service and location for a chaeper price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

was booked to stay at another riad (same owner) but told we were now staying here as the other one was being decorated. Was only told this a few days before arrival and only because i emailed to ask for the airport transfer. Pictures looked really nice and so did the pool unfortunately not quite the same when we arrived. Firstly insisted on complete payment on arrival, very poor rate given when paid in MDH,s. With airport taxi and city tax ended up paying nearly £300.00 for 5 nights in a double room. The pool was really small, more a plunge pool and freezing cold as it was inside and not heated. The whole riad although typically Moroccan was tired and in need of sprucing up. Went to put some of our jewellry in a trinket pot in our room and found a used condom!!! DISCUSTING. None of the following services stated on website were actually at the riad - tour desk? turkish/steam bath? sauna? massage? restaurant?. what the owner means is that that he can arrange these at extortionate prices. The breakfast was the same every morning - pre-cooked pancakes and then re heated in microwave which made them tough . The walk to the main square and souks took 15 mins and you were lucky to escape with your life trying to avoid being knocked down by motorbikes, cars and horse and carts ( but thats the same everywhere in the medina). Also as a blonde mum and blonde teenage daughter we were constantly having unwanted attention from the moroccans on the walk. Enjoyed the 2nd part of our trip much more when we moved to the new city and stayed in a proper hotel ( the tikida gardens was superb )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Pictures of property are good --beware though --this does not match up in quality to others in Marrakech -- this is strictly somewhere to put your head down for 1 night if your backpacking ! ---not for holidays.
Self accredited 4* this is equivalent to an English 1/2* guesthouse.
This is a "cash only" hotel -- bills are generally on bits of notepaper unless you ask -- not very professional --with a little effort from the management this place could be ok.
You will not read that this is practically next door to a mosque--so be prepared for early morning calls to prayer.
Nearest place for bottled water and a coffee is El Fina square about 10 mins away though the alleys --a bit intimidating in the eve !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Tainam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.