We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, great breakfsat, bit noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Tainam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Al Tainam to your Saves list
Riad Al Tainam
Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent location, great breakfsat, bit noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

stayed with 4 friends. the rooms were decent iwth good bathroom, the breakfast was delicious - fresh orange juice, freshly made breads, homemade jams, mint tea and coffee.
location is brilliant - 6 mins walk to the jemaa al fna square.
rooms were decent size with nice bathrooms and cleaned thoroughly and daily by one lady who seemed to do everytyhing!
the roof terrace is great for sunbathing but don't expect to cool off in the pool, it is not a pool but more a water feature!
airport pick up and drop off was good, but leave time if you are with ryan air as you have to get your ticket stamped at the check in desk, can't jsut walk thrugh with your online check in boarding pass.
the guy who ran the riad ws friendly enough but didn't give us very accurate information about distance/location so cross reference.
there was quite a lot of noise during the night from vendors, prayer call and cleaning which started early in the riad, and the other guests as it was rather echoey, as all riads probably are.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
7
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegelen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Excellent Riad about 10 minutes walk from the the main square Djemaa el Fna. Easy to find (right, end of "street" left and continuing straight ahead).
Breakfast okay, room small but okay, shower clean and also okay. We had a very pleasant stay.
Pick up from the airport went very well. Price / Quality is okay. It will be hard to find a riad with this service and location for a chaeper price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

was booked to stay at another riad (same owner) but told we were now staying here as the other one was being decorated. Was only told this a few days before arrival and only because i emailed to ask for the airport transfer. Pictures looked really nice and so did the pool unfortunately not quite the same when we arrived. Firstly insisted on complete payment on arrival, very poor rate given when paid in MDH,s. With airport taxi and city tax ended up paying nearly £300.00 for 5 nights in a double room. The pool was really small, more a plunge pool and freezing cold as it was inside and not heated. The whole riad although typically Moroccan was tired and in need of sprucing up. Went to put some of our jewellry in a trinket pot in our room and found a used condom!!! DISCUSTING. None of the following services stated on website were actually at the riad - tour desk? turkish/steam bath? sauna? massage? restaurant?. what the owner means is that that he can arrange these at extortionate prices. The breakfast was the same every morning - pre-cooked pancakes and then re heated in microwave which made them tough . The walk to the main square and souks took 15 mins and you were lucky to escape with your life trying to avoid being knocked down by motorbikes, cars and horse and carts ( but thats the same everywhere in the medina). Also as a blonde mum and blonde teenage daughter we were constantly having unwanted attention from the moroccans on the walk. Enjoyed the 2nd part of our trip much more when we moved to the new city and stayed in a proper hotel ( the tikida gardens was superb )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Pictures of property are good --beware though --this does not match up in quality to others in Marrakech -- this is strictly somewhere to put your head down for 1 night if your backpacking ! ---not for holidays.
Self accredited 4* this is equivalent to an English 1/2* guesthouse.
This is a "cash only" hotel -- bills are generally on bits of notepaper unless you ask -- not very professional --with a little effort from the management this place could be ok.
You will not read that this is practically next door to a mosque--so be prepared for early morning calls to prayer.
Nearest place for bottled water and a coffee is El Fina square about 10 mins away though the alleys --a bit intimidating in the eve !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed with a group of girlfriends and took over the whole Riad. Met at the airport and all went smoothly. Staff were very helpful and attentive - surprised to read some negative reviews - must be different staff is all I can say. Loved the traditional features and decor in the Riad and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after venturing out into the hustle and bustle of the medina.
Ate at the Riad on the first and last night - food was absolutely delicious and good value. Meal times were always arranged to suit us and we took a trip into the mountains arranged by the staff - all drivers used by them were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We booked the whole riad for an extended family group of 10, were collected at airport in new minibus and taken to riad. All went smoothly. Riad very hard to find for a first time visitor but so is everything else in the medina.( suggest you arrange collection at airport) Had dinner in riad on first night .Breakfast traditional pancakes, bread and honey with good coffee. We found eating other meals out the best option. Rooms and bathrooms are traditional morrocan with comfortable bed and basic shower, toilet and whb. Pool too small to swim in but kids could splash about. Rooftop terrace very enjoyable. Very easy walk (10mins) to square along narrow road crowded with bicycles, motorcycles, donkey carts, pedestrians and stalls. Compared to holidays in Turkey we were not harassed much by vendors.
Area around riad is well lit and we didnt feel uncomfortable coming back late at night although we were the only tourists for last few minutes of walk.
Staff were helpful and always present. This is a family run bed and breakfast where you can get a meal if needed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We've just spent 4 nights at this riad, we booked it via an internet site and paid in euros' upon arrival. Our rom was ready when we arrived (despite an early flight) and was lovely, traditionally Moroccan with an amazing bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although their English was limited we managed to get by speaking basic French.
Breakfast was included and served whatever time we got up and wherever we wanted it. There is a lovely roof terrace and we used the loungers to sunbathe etc.
The riad itself is about a10 minute walk from the main square and on a direct route so it was very easy to find our way back at night. (Some of my friends have stayed in riad's that were impossible to find and at night were in alley's that were dark.)
Our only complaint would be that travelling to Marrakech at this time of year, the nights can be very cold and our room had no heating, only air conditioning. Staff gave us extra throws etc. but heating would be good for winter visitors!! We would definately return.
Like previous reviewers have put, don't expect a big chain hotel style service and experience, this is an authetic riad and for us was perfect for our stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Tainam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Tainam

Address: Derb saada | Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Tainam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Tainam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Tainam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.