We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Shady Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ailen

Save Saved
You added Riad Ailen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ailen
170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil Shady Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Situated on the edge the Medina just a few metres away from the Bab Ailen gate this tranquil Riad was just the perfect place to return to for a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. The courtyard with small plunge pool was shady and cool and a lovely place to eat breakfast or to drink a refreshing mint tea which was always on offer when you returned for a rest.
The roof terrace with its comfy sunbeds was a great place to catch a few rays or enjoy the warmth whilst relaxing in the shade afforded by a Berber tent with ample sofas and cushions for lounging on. The whole place was authentically decorated and spotlessly clean and well cared for.
The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating and were on hand to serve a delicious and authentic breakfast, arrange visits and taxis and even ham-mans and massages if you wished. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad as a great place to stay for an authentic feel of life in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Getting a taxi from the airport into the Medina was a real culture shock, but good! I thought that there would be a lack of women on the streets but how wrong I was. The 'buzz' on the streets was great. I thought that the spa prices were much better value for money and cheaper than in the UK. We had a great variety of food from the night market stalls to cocktails on the patio at the Mamounia. A really good choice for different budgets. I loved the Majorelle gardens(Yves San Laurent) which we visited on the last day and didn't want to leave! Going back to our Riad was a very peaceful experience where I felt I could relax after a hard days sight-seeing. Comfortable beds, lovely breakfast area enjojable breakfasts) and great rooftop terrace with tables/chairs sun-loungers and a tented area for all tastes. All the people we met were very helpful and kind except for a young lad who tried to give us directions the wrong way eventhogh we did not ask for any, and then swore when we would not pay him. I enjoyed not having to barter and being able to pick up wallets, belts, try on lots os sandels, etc., etc.,, at the Artesan Ensemble on the Rue Mohammed V. So I bought more here than other places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a great experience!!!! Have just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel. We were met at the airport by Said who took us to the hotel and was greeted at the entrance to The Medina by Eunice who helped with our cases. We were offered mint tea on our arrival and Ashna talked us through all excursions we could do and given a map and directions on how to reach places. When we were ready Eunice showed us our route towards THe Medina which was certainly an experience. The hotel itself was very clean and the owners were more than happy to help us with any question. The room was long and narrow and the double bed just gave you enough room to get out some people might complain but was not a problem. There is a small safe which will take your passports and a purse or wallet. The bathroom was clean although the shower a little unusually it was a hand held shower head but plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great toasted bread, pancake type bread, butter , and jams. Coffee was available. If you required some after a long day it was available at a charge of 1euro per cup. Sun terrace was great and good to relax on after a good day round the Souks. You could dip your feet after long day in the small pool which was refreshing.

We decided to do a day at Atlas mountains and booked this direct with the hotel cost 80 euros for the day that was for 4 of us but was worth every penny. We were picked up at 9.30 by Said who took us to a Berber Market and WOW what a experience it makes you really appreciate what you have at home . We stopped at a typical school, typical house and a pottery shop which had some amazing pieces ( which we did purchase some goods). We had lunch by the river which was ok. Then we were given a guide who took us up to the waterfalls. Please make sure you wear trainers.
A truly amazing day ( yes we gave the guide and Said a tip) but not a problem.

Souks are amazing but be prepared to haggle( bit of advice print off a converter before you go this proved invaluable to us) it saved loads of time trying to work things out. Give a price and walk off they will follow.

Ashna took 3 of my friends to buy spices and was not a problem.

Dress wise we were worried about showing shoulders but we didn't have a problem we wore vests , and dresses with no arms in and I even wore a maxi dress with shoulders out, just make sure you take a scarf and cover up if you feel as though you were being starred at.

Our last night we went to Cafe Arabe and wow this was great, we had 4 starters, 4 main courses, 2 puddings, cocktails and 2 bottles of wine £120.

Eat at the stalls in the market food great and cheap. About £15 for 4 people


One thing to be aware of don't ask anyone for directions as they lead you off the garden path and expect you to pay, make sure you have a good map and be prepared for the abuse if you don't give them anything.

All in all 4 women travelling on their own what a truly amazing experience, Great hotel, great service and wouldn't hesitate to go again and stay at this hotel.

Age range 42 to 55

Thank You

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Right from the first contact i made with Riad Ailen the experience couldn't have been better.
Upon our arrival we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits and the dinner we had in the riad on our first evening was the best meal of our trip (lentils were to die for!)
The staff work incredibly hard to ensure your every need is catered for. Even on our last morning when we had an early flight to catch Eunice was up early ensuring we were seen off with a good breakfast.
It's true that we could have found a Riad closer to the central square, but the walk was well worth the experience of staying in this genuine, cosy, clean Riad with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. I would not hesitate to stay their again. A huge thank you to all of the staff for helping make our trip memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Well folks, if you plan to go to Marrakesh, I can not recomend highly enough the Riad Ailen. Ashna (manager) and Eunice went beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome. From meeting us at the train station, the Mint tea when we first walked in,to pleasent conversation. We stayed for a total of 10 days in Morrocco, 18 to 28 Feb, with 6 of them at Riad Ailen. Ashna took my wife and me in to the Souks for shopping, made a wonderful dinner for us at the Riad one night and even invited us to her home for dinner on another night night.
The Riad itself is well hidden, off of Rue Ailen by Bab Ailen (or the Ailen Gate). It is a small and one might suggest typical Riad in the fact that it was an actual house. 6 well appointed rooms surround the central courtyard on two floors with a roof top terrace (for those wishing to sunbath, relax and perhaps have a smoke :) )
I left my laptop on a tour bus we took to the Sahara (long trip but WOW), Eunice took me to the other side of the Medina on his Moped to retrieve it. (that was a memory all by itself)

Hats of to Riad Ailen and next time in Marrakesh I will be going back "home". Thank You

Sean and Linda McCulloch

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great experience staying at this Riad. The staff were very helpful organising taxis and explaining various trips and experiences we could go on. A beautiful setting. Loved the roof terrace. Mint tea was generously presented if we happened to be wandering around the riad in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hospitality here was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Excursions and transfers to and from the airports were readily arranged and suggestions as to where we could get a good Moroccan meal were given. Use of the riad's internet to sort out our travel arrangements was no trouble. We really felt very welcome and it was as if we were staying amongst friends.

The rooms were clean and well furnished and the courtyard and the roof terrace were a refuge after the hustle and bustle of the medina, but the thing that stood out was the exceptional warmth of the owners and the staff.

This riad is a little way away from the main square but we found that a bonus, as the real Marrakshi life could be found right outside the door. As we were near the Bab Ailen, it was easy to walk there and pick up a taxi to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ailen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ailen

Address: 170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Ailen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ailen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.