We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ailen

Save Saved
You added Riad Ailen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ailen
170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Well folks, if you plan to go to Marrakesh, I can not recomend highly enough the Riad Ailen. Ashna (manager) and Eunice went beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome. From meeting us at the train station, the Mint tea when we first walked in,to pleasent conversation. We stayed for a total of 10 days in Morrocco, 18 to 28 Feb, with 6 of them at Riad Ailen. Ashna took my wife and me in to the Souks for shopping, made a wonderful dinner for us at the Riad one night and even invited us to her home for dinner on another night night.
The Riad itself is well hidden, off of Rue Ailen by Bab Ailen (or the Ailen Gate). It is a small and one might suggest typical Riad in the fact that it was an actual house. 6 well appointed rooms surround the central courtyard on two floors with a roof top terrace (for those wishing to sunbath, relax and perhaps have a smoke :) )
I left my laptop on a tour bus we took to the Sahara (long trip but WOW), Eunice took me to the other side of the Medina on his Moped to retrieve it. (that was a memory all by itself)

Hats of to Riad Ailen and next time in Marrakesh I will be going back "home". Thank You

Sean and Linda McCulloch

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great experience staying at this Riad. The staff were very helpful organising taxis and explaining various trips and experiences we could go on. A beautiful setting. Loved the roof terrace. Mint tea was generously presented if we happened to be wandering around the riad in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hospitality here was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Excursions and transfers to and from the airports were readily arranged and suggestions as to where we could get a good Moroccan meal were given. Use of the riad's internet to sort out our travel arrangements was no trouble. We really felt very welcome and it was as if we were staying amongst friends.

The rooms were clean and well furnished and the courtyard and the roof terrace were a refuge after the hustle and bustle of the medina, but the thing that stood out was the exceptional warmth of the owners and the staff.

This riad is a little way away from the main square but we found that a bonus, as the real Marrakshi life could be found right outside the door. As we were near the Bab Ailen, it was easy to walk there and pick up a taxi to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break in Marrakech staying at the Riad Ailen and cannot praise it enough. First visit so was a little apprehensive but from the minute we arrived we were smitten. The Riad Ailen is beautiful and so peaceful after the hussle and bustle of the Medina and the staff so warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and all our requests met with with a warm smile, from arranging our excursions by taxi to making sure we were getting the most from our short visit. Comfortable, clean and in a fantastic position by the city wall with easy access. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely place to spend a week in Marrakesh. Younis, Naima and Hasni were such wonderful hosts and we were made to feel like family. On our first night we arrived quite late and hadn't eaten. To ensure we didn't get lost Youness walked us through the maze of narrow streets to show us the way to the square so we could find a restaurant. Whenever we came back to the riad, there was always mint tea ready for us and staff took the time to chat to us and answer any questions. Naima also taught us a new Arabic word every day! The rooms were nicely decorated, quite simple but very clean. When we were then it was cold at night but the heaters in the rooms kept us really cosy. The riad is blissfully quiet but as soon as you walk out the door you experience the buzz of the medina. If you are looking for a 5* property with all modcons (eg. tv etc.) then this isn't it, but if you are looking for a lovely haven of tranquility where you'll always be greeted with a warm welcome then this place is perfect. If you do stay here then be sure to have a dinner at the riad as our tagine was delicious and they made the evening dinner really atmospheric with candles everywhere. This place is a little gem!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As a family of five we booked two rooms for the four days we were spending in Marrakech, we wanted to stay in a traditional riad to feel the full sense of the Moroccan culture and, the medina. We were picked up from the airport by a very friendly driver which they had arranged for us and we were driven to the medina...the riad is very close to one of the gates (bab) to the medina, bab ailen....the staff were very friendly and spoke good english although we did try to use our limited french...we were shown a map and told about the area and what we would need. The staff were very helpful and kind and we opted to eat there every night at about £10 a head and it was definately worth it..the homemade moroccan cuisine was top class and the service was outstanding too. The riad were also able to arrange a say trip of all the main tourist attractions in the medina with the driver we had met before...for a small cost this trip was very helpful and we stopped at each place to enter and visit with the driver ready for us afterwards. The rooms wee very tidy and well furnished and had a lovely feel to it. There was also a terrace for sitting and relaxing on hot afternoons.
Our stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the rooms we could choose from were very clean and similar in design...only differing in types o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

It's true what every other comment says : this is really a wonderful place to stay and discover Marrakech and the surrounds. From the first welcoming mint tea through the delicious home-baked tajines everything in Riad Alien is what you'd get only if you were staying at a friends house. We were looked after wonderfully by Hasna , Naima and Younes ; always disrete but willing to help , guide and advise us : a mine of information on local habits, traditions and culture........so a big thanks to them for making our stay so memorable.We'll certainly be back !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ailen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ailen

Address: 170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Riad Ailen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ailen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.