We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ailen

Save Saved
You added Riad Ailen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ailen
170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely place to spend a week in Marrakesh. Younis, Naima and Hasni were such wonderful hosts and we were made to feel like family. On our first night we arrived quite late and hadn't eaten. To ensure we didn't get lost Youness walked us through the maze of narrow streets to show us the way to the square so we could find a restaurant. Whenever we came back to the riad, there was always mint tea ready for us and staff took the time to chat to us and answer any questions. Naima also taught us a new Arabic word every day! The rooms were nicely decorated, quite simple but very clean. When we were then it was cold at night but the heaters in the rooms kept us really cosy. The riad is blissfully quiet but as soon as you walk out the door you experience the buzz of the medina. If you are looking for a 5* property with all modcons (eg. tv etc.) then this isn't it, but if you are looking for a lovely haven of tranquility where you'll always be greeted with a warm welcome then this place is perfect. If you do stay here then be sure to have a dinner at the riad as our tagine was delicious and they made the evening dinner really atmospheric with candles everywhere. This place is a little gem!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As a family of five we booked two rooms for the four days we were spending in Marrakech, we wanted to stay in a traditional riad to feel the full sense of the Moroccan culture and, the medina. We were picked up from the airport by a very friendly driver which they had arranged for us and we were driven to the medina...the riad is very close to one of the gates (bab) to the medina, bab ailen....the staff were very friendly and spoke good english although we did try to use our limited french...we were shown a map and told about the area and what we would need. The staff were very helpful and kind and we opted to eat there every night at about £10 a head and it was definately worth it..the homemade moroccan cuisine was top class and the service was outstanding too. The riad were also able to arrange a say trip of all the main tourist attractions in the medina with the driver we had met before...for a small cost this trip was very helpful and we stopped at each place to enter and visit with the driver ready for us afterwards. The rooms wee very tidy and well furnished and had a lovely feel to it. There was also a terrace for sitting and relaxing on hot afternoons.
Our stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: All the rooms we could choose from were very clean and similar in design...only differing in types o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

It's true what every other comment says : this is really a wonderful place to stay and discover Marrakech and the surrounds. From the first welcoming mint tea through the delicious home-baked tajines everything in Riad Alien is what you'd get only if you were staying at a friends house. We were looked after wonderfully by Hasna , Naima and Younes ; always disrete but willing to help , guide and advise us : a mine of information on local habits, traditions and culture........so a big thanks to them for making our stay so memorable.We'll certainly be back !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was EXCELLENT in every sense of the word. You couldn't expect more from a place like this. We were 12 friends staying over for a week and we had the riad just for us. Very warm staff, helpful, friendly and highly professional. The owner has had an great rapport with us throughout the process. The city is delightfully crazy but we'd always find our peace and quality time when back at the riad. Great terrace and rooms. Delicious pancakes and orange juice. Cosy pateo with pool. Properly decorated and great location, not so touristic but close enough to the main attractions.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
jld, viii/11

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We were looking at spending a few nights in a traditional riad in the medina in Marrakech and heard about riad Ailen from relatives. It is conveniently located not far from a medina entrance so you don't have to drag your heavy bags a long way through the tiny and dusty streets of that old city! We had a great and fun time staying in that newly renovated riad, the owners and staff are extremely friendly and we had a couscous cooking demo by the chef on our request! Our room was very clean and comfortable and we got priceless information on restaurants, places to buy pottery, how to bargain, how much we should pay for a cab fare (read how not to pay the tourist price!) etc.
The riad is about 15 minute walk to the famous place and to get there you have to go through the last berber market in the medina, it is very exciting and a big culture shock!
We saw on websites and guides lots of riads charging ridiculous prices, we think they want to take us for a ride, we must not forget we are in Morocco not in Paris, London or New York! Riad Ailen offered the perfect budget for us (we paid around 60 euros/night if I remember correctly ) and I have to say this is great value for money and we definitely recomment it. During our stay we saw other guests staying at the riad following word of mouth recommendations.

  • Liked — very friendly and warm staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ailen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ailen

Address: 170 Deb El Mejjat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Ailen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ailen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.