We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutanga was a true gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutanga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutanga
Save Saved
You added Boutanga to your Saves list
Km 11.5 route d'Asni - Moulay Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #656 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
California
1 review
“Boutanga was a true gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is an awesome Bed and Breakfast 10 minutes outside Merrakech. The pool is very refreshing as well as the country side where this home is located. We chose Boutanga because we did not want to be in the hussle and bustle of downtown Merrakech. This proved to be a great choice because the owners were absolutely wonderful. Our breafast was very good and the accomadations were clean and very very cute. We stayed in one of the four cabins that are very private and cozy. All the best to Boutanga for making our stay so special. T and J

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sanDiego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Although it's a bit hard to find, the 20 minute drive outside of Marrakech will lead you to a quiet, peaceful family home with 5 exquisite bungalows. The owner run inn is beautifully furnished in a traditional Moraccan style, and includes fabulous art and sculptures done by Marie-Clair. The beds are comfortable, and the property is laid out around a roaming backyard pool, lawn area, and landscape. Breakfast was all very fresh, with an asortment of homemade jams, breads, coffees, teas, fruits, etc. After a hectic day at the Marrakech Medina, coming home to Boutanga was a refreshing treat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wettinen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

It is a villa with a very nice atmosphere and great charm.
I was with my girlfriend and I personally think that we could have not found some place better.
10 Minutes from Marrakesh, ideal for couples and families with a car.
The family from the villa is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Not wanting to stay in the Medina or an impersonal hotel, we were pleased to find Boutanga a short way out of Marrakech. Very welcoming with tasteful accommodation, wonderful food and spectacular roses!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We spent two nights at Boutanga with our young sons (2.5 years and 4 months) and had a wonderful time. The park-like setting is beautiful and lovingly maintained, the bungalows are comfortable, chic, and private, and the meals were creative and delicious (with ingredients drawn largely from the garden). Most of all, as mentioned by other reviewers, the hospitality and thoughtfulness of the owners is really remarkable.

It's a wonderful place for children - plenty of green space to run around, a swing set, pool, toys, and thoughtful touches from the owners (like a packed sandwich, snacks, and small toy for our toddler when we left). Only catch is that the pool is not fenced.

Location: 15-20 minute drive from Marrakech, about 100 dirhams. Good base for day trips to Imlil/High Atlas - the owners arranged a mulitingual driver/guide for us, and this was the highlight of our trip. We were happy to have stayed in a riad in the medina for a few nights previously, but the peacefulness of Boutanga was hugely welcome. We would stay there again as a base for Marrakech.

Cons: A bit of a hike from Marrakech - we had some trouble finding a grand taxi in town to bring us back (but this was during to a rainstorm). Also, no doors to bathroom in our bungalow, so no privacy, and shower steam filled the whole room.

All told, a really lovely guest house with truly gracious hosts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed 10 days in Boutanga with our kids. The place is really wonderfull. just imagine a big park just for you with a swimming pool, and all kind of activities for the kids. The food was also delicious and we enjoyed wonderfull mediterranean specialties.

  • Liked — We liked the park, the food from Marie Claire, and thr kindness from every one to makr our stay the most wonderfull
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME in RAK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

Strange enough Morocco is not a very popular holiday destination for the dutch. But for us, especially since we discovered Boutanga close to Marrakech we keep comming back.

Boutanga is a guest house as you'll find plenty in Marrakech, but the family running it is what makes the difference to us. It's like comming home with lovely extra's like wonderfuly prepared local or oriental lunches or dinners, cooked by the hostess and the well trained morrocan cook. Often ingredients are home grown. The family is always ready to tell you about their home made products, give you good service and tips about things to do that are maybe not so obvious, like visiting the enormous bedouin market in a village near by.

In the garden there are 4 little cottages with a terrace and your own private green. If you want to enjoy your own Atlas view nice and quiet environment, have a little afternoon siesta...

The Boutanga people make your stay a costum made holiday experience which should be kept secret. For if more people come, we'll loose our second home in the Magreb! shh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutanga

Address: Km 11.5 route d'Asni - Moulay Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #656 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four bungalows with private terrace and garden in a true guest house, in a 1h. park facing the Atlas mountain peaks, and featuring a swimming pool. Only 15 min away from Jema el Fna`s place. If you need rest in a quiet environment, Boutanga’s hospitality is what you want to find. The perfect address for a family holiday, and create the very best memories of Morocco. Welcome, we are expecting you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.