We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorador Club Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added Eldorador Club Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eldorador Club Palmeraie
Commune Rurale Al Ouidane, Prefecture Syba | BP 3759 Amerchich, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Plymouth, Devon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good break..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went with friends, another couple, and on arrival in early evening staff took care of the rooms whilst we were sent off to eat before the restaurant closed. It was in relative terms to the size of the place very quiet but still had a good feel. Very much french oriented but that in itself was not a bad thing. We had gone for five nights, our rooms were adjoining and a bit distant from reception / restaurant but close to the 'Zen' pool. The rooms were good, the adult pool was heated whilst the larger pool was very cold, hence kids were in the Zen pool. We moved to the other pool to get some peace but there are many areas to relax quietly. The food we found really good and the service in the restaurants was good. They were busy and i do wonder just how different it might be in season. The bars were okay but on our fourth and fifth night they had ran out of draft beer. They then quickly ran out of bottled beer so on two nights we were devoid of beer by 10pm?
The staff were great, the hotel fine, a little distant from the centre but not in itself a bad thing. Taxi in day was 100DH and in evening 150 DH, not sure ifr we were overcharged or not but for the distance involved it seemed reasonable. Enjoyable, no real issues at all. Watch out for the local tourist tax which we were hit with on checking out. It worked out at 40 DH (about £3) a night per couple. Taxis are available directly outside the hotel on a little rank opposite the main entrance, there is always someone available. In addition they have a coach that goes into the centre but that is about a ten minute walk into the main square. DO NOT get caught out by taxis at the drop off who tell you it is a long way into the centre and you need one. DO NOT get caught by 'guides' who will take you into the centre but then lead you a merry dance around mates shops and follow that up with a hefty bill. Marrakesh was a great place and we found everyone, taxi drivers, hotel staff, shop owners quite delightful. Remember 'La Shokran' (No thankyou).

Room Tip: We were facing into the gardens so no noise from pool or bars. Rooms 2000+ all in quiet block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    526
    204
    102
    49
See reviews for
624
350
38
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great for families, good activity program, free shuttle bus to marakech.
Food was authentic and delicious but also something for everyones taste, a real effort is made to provide a real taste of morocco.
No complaints, friendly helpful staff, great with the children, they can do anything from trapeze to tennis, badminton, table tennis, childrens disco, magician etc.
Lovely pools, one heated and one cold, activities for the adults, lots of exercise classes for the fitness fanatics.
Marakech was a real eye opener, as soon as the shuttle bus stops there is a guide ready to pounce on you we were caught out and followed a guide to every carpet shop and souvenir shop going beware they then tried to charge us 100 euros we settled at 20 which was still probably too much for 2 hours guide.

Room Tip: if you are a family insist on rooms with internal connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was the perfect winter break, after arriving at 19: 30 we were shown to our room, but it was on the ground floor after speaking with the reception we were given a second floor room with a pool view, The food is just geat something for everyone. A small problem with a member of the bar staff, was dealt with very quickly and there was no further problems.. There is a very nice taxi driver outside the hotel his name is AZIZ he is very polite and will go where you want to be taken, just ask for a price and then start haggling..(600dh for 7 hrs excursion ) . There were 2 very nice young people that work for the Xperience Travel based in the hotel they did everything to help, ( even though we had traveld with another holday company ) Brecht was very helpful and polite and we had a really good laugh with him everyday. Virea was only in the hotel a few days before we left for home, but she was also a very polite young woman, and ready also for a laugh... keep up the good work everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed here in a group of friends aged mid-20s. There is no beach so the pool areas are busy. The weather was hot and did attract loads of bees around the pool. The hotel is spacious with nice rooms, pools and gardens. The all inclusive food was great as was the service from staff e.g. putting both rooms next to each other so we could effectively have one apartment. The only complaint about our room was that the shower area had a flat floor so the whole floor would be soaked after use. The staff helped but after a while we used the shower in the other room to avoid the problem.

Most of the holiday-makers were French families. I think this hotel is great for kids as entertainment is provided during the day and evening (was fun even if in French). There is also a discotheque after the evening performance.

A shuttle bus runs almost hourly throughout the day that can drop you off into town to visit the old town/markets. (Look out for workers in the outdoor square of the market who may chase you with snakes/monkeys in the evening).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a completely flat bathroom floor. Showers will have to be quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arrival: I booked this hotel through Expedia, so there was no offer of airport transfer.
The hotel is quite a way from the Airport, so when haggling with your taxi driver, do not pay more than 200 - 240 dirham, they will try to get anything up to 400 dh.

The hotel: It is absolutely beautiful. The lobby is very grand and exotic. It even smells gorgeous. The rooms are gorgeous also, with a nice small balcony. Everything is in FRENCH, there's very little English. Personally this wasn't so bad as I enjoyed the opportunity to practice.

The Staff: lovely, very friendly and smiley. I went at the beginning of December, so the hotel was empty, more staff than guests. The entertainment staff were plucky and enthusiastic seeing as there were more of them than audience. They knew I was there solo and made sure that I was made to feel part of the group during evening events. They weren't too overpowering, they left me alone when I wanted it, but sat down and chatted when I felt like a chat. Maybe it's because there were so few guests, but they made it feel like a very comfortable family. The other guests were pretty much French, but there were a few Dutch as well. All of the staff speak French, some struggled with English.

The Entertainment: The themed nights were so terrible they were hilarious. Very French, much like the Moroccan love child of hi-de-hi and 'allo 'allo. Although the "Moroccan Night" was actually rather good, the unfortunately named "Eldo's Got Talent" simply proved that it doesn't, and the Grand Spectacle of "Star Mania" was just a badly lip-synced Space-Aged French-language Les Miserables - which ended up looking like he live version of a dubbed Chinese Kung-Fu film. Worth going to for the deep belly laughs, but sneak out after about half an hour because the joke gets old really quickly.

The food: I actually found it disappointing, I was expecting exotically spiced (spicy) moroccan food, but I guess I got bland food tailored to French tastes. There was a good choice and food was of a good standard. Some desserts were just heavenly. The wine was cheap but drinkable and the daily cocktail was really nice.

Amenities: the two pools are great with really comfy, double bed sized loungers around the edges. The Spa is really smart, the prices are not cheap, but not expensive either. I had a Hammam with peeling and 50 min massage - this took about 2 hours in all and was very relaxing. 500 dh.

The shuttle bus: This lets you off in the Place de la Liberte, quite a way away from the Place Jemaa el fna (main entrance to the souks). It is at least a 15-20 minute walk, but if you take a "petit taxi" it should cost you no more than 20dh.

Tell the driver, at the time of writing, an old guy called Momo, if you want to go to the Jardin Majorelle, he'll drop you closer.

You can take a taxi from outside the hotel and for 200-300 dh the taxi driver will take you around for a morning or afternoon (or even a day, if you're a good negotiator) and you can go to all the tourist sites - be warned they will take you to places where they get commission from your purchases, so either go with it and buy from their friends or when in the souks just go off and buy your own stuff.

Brief guide to haggling: Ask for price, go in with first offer of around a third, go up slightly and refuse any higher prices (they say 300, you say 100, they say 200, you stick at 120), if they say no, turn around and walk away, guaranteed they will call you back and accept your final price, if they try and put it up again, walk away.

Excursions: Quad-biking, buggy driving or camel riding; I recommend the Quad-biking, it was exhilarating and great fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms have charm, higher numbers are further from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are looking for a citytrip Marrakech experience with the advantage of complete relaxation I would certainly recommend this hotel.
Very good service, friendly staff en great food.
Extra plus: free transportation from the hotel to Marrakech serveral times a day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When looking for a place to relax for a few days as a single woman, one of my options was this Club Eldorador. Not having travelled alone for a long while, my only real fear was that I would be hassled into participating in the numerous Club activities; the other potential hassle was solved by having my wedding ring on. All personnel (waiters&cleaning) were extremely friendly, the animators were kindly inviting, but without forcing anyone to join in. The place was even better than indicated by the photos, impeccably clean, and this remained the case when I saw the hotel move from low to high season mode when Toussaints schoolholidays had kicked in during my stay. Also, the efficiency in the restaurant as numerous tables were being occupied by ever changing guests, was an illustration that this place was well-managed. On this scale, the most challenging thing may be to obtain cosiness. There again, they passed the test. The lobby is large and cosy at the same time, but there are numerous other really nice places (lots of cushions! lots of light!) to sit around, if you just want to read a book or watch some activities from a distance. If you’re alone longing for some quiet time or with kids who want some action, this is definitely the place. I was used to ClubMed as a kid (when ClubMed was still very down to earth) and this resembles it, with the added authenticity of being real Morrocan (as opposed to one ClubMed which had the arrogance to have a time zone of their own within the Club, different of the town nearby; maybe they stopped doing that, but that made me stop going altogether). The Morrocean authenticity was aided by the fete du sacrifice (aka fete du mouton), which translated into beautiful 1001night like decorations everywhere, Berber live music, belly dancers, and plenty of Morrocean families in festive attire staying at the hotel to enjoy it.
The only disadvantage of the hotel construction (stone floors) is that any departure or arrival during the night, even with the smoothest rolling material, will echo throughout the building, so light sleepers, take your earplugs; the other potential wake-up call for prayer at sunrise was actually quite damped from where I was. Rooms (and the bathrooms within) were very spacious by the way.
With the free shuttle (approx 30min to actually get downtown), there is definitely an advantage of being outside the Marrakech buzz. The tour de ville (at 190DH) organized by a tour operator within the hotel was OK, but predictably of the 5 places we visited on this tour, 2 were essentially shops (one for spices and herbs; another one with all requisites to re-enact Alladin back home). What was worse, is that the most eye catching architectural treasure –madrasa- was left out; apparently it is part of another tour, so don’t make my mistake, and ask for the specific content of the tour you are taking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorador Club Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorador Club Palmeraie

Address: Commune Rurale Al Ouidane, Prefecture Syba | BP 3759 Amerchich, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basically, it is a beautiful 11 hectares gardens resort located within the Palm Groove area called "La Palmeraie" only 20 minutes/ 6 Miles on a free shuttle bus from the MEDINA & the sanctuary "Jamaa Fna square" within the town center. Its an All-inclusive based accommodation, it also has two gorgeous a la carte restaurants, Italian & Moroccan in the All-inc concept. Flying art trapeze all year long for All age: A very unique activity here in Marrakech. Baby Eldo for babies up to 2 yrs old, and Mini Eldo for kidz from 4yrs old up to 12, a studio ado's only for kidz from 13 up to 17 yrs old. Conference rooms are available for any type of events, Three pools, one annimated, a chillout one, and kidz pool. A Night-Club to loose your head out. A smoke free Resort. Basically, it is the place to be this summer with the kidz. Simply Check us on clubpalmeraie,com to find out more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Eldorador Club Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorador Club Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Eldorador Palmeraie
Eldorador Palmeraie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorador Club Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.