We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as close as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorador Club Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added Eldorador Club Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eldorador Club Palmeraie
Commune Rurale Al Ouidane, Prefecture Syba | BP 3759 Amerchich, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but not as close as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arrival: I booked this hotel through Expedia, so there was no offer of airport transfer.
The hotel is quite a way from the Airport, so when haggling with your taxi driver, do not pay more than 200 - 240 dirham, they will try to get anything up to 400 dh.

The hotel: It is absolutely beautiful. The lobby is very grand and exotic. It even smells gorgeous. The rooms are gorgeous also, with a nice small balcony. Everything is in FRENCH, there's very little English. Personally this wasn't so bad as I enjoyed the opportunity to practice.

The Staff: lovely, very friendly and smiley. I went at the beginning of December, so the hotel was empty, more staff than guests. The entertainment staff were plucky and enthusiastic seeing as there were more of them than audience. They knew I was there solo and made sure that I was made to feel part of the group during evening events. They weren't too overpowering, they left me alone when I wanted it, but sat down and chatted when I felt like a chat. Maybe it's because there were so few guests, but they made it feel like a very comfortable family. The other guests were pretty much French, but there were a few Dutch as well. All of the staff speak French, some struggled with English.

The Entertainment: The themed nights were so terrible they were hilarious. Very French, much like the Moroccan love child of hi-de-hi and 'allo 'allo. Although the "Moroccan Night" was actually rather good, the unfortunately named "Eldo's Got Talent" simply proved that it doesn't, and the Grand Spectacle of "Star Mania" was just a badly lip-synced Space-Aged French-language Les Miserables - which ended up looking like he live version of a dubbed Chinese Kung-Fu film. Worth going to for the deep belly laughs, but sneak out after about half an hour because the joke gets old really quickly.

The food: I actually found it disappointing, I was expecting exotically spiced (spicy) moroccan food, but I guess I got bland food tailored to French tastes. There was a good choice and food was of a good standard. Some desserts were just heavenly. The wine was cheap but drinkable and the daily cocktail was really nice.

Amenities: the two pools are great with really comfy, double bed sized loungers around the edges. The Spa is really smart, the prices are not cheap, but not expensive either. I had a Hammam with peeling and 50 min massage - this took about 2 hours in all and was very relaxing. 500 dh.

The shuttle bus: This lets you off in the Place de la Liberte, quite a way away from the Place Jemaa el fna (main entrance to the souks). It is at least a 15-20 minute walk, but if you take a "petit taxi" it should cost you no more than 20dh.

Tell the driver, at the time of writing, an old guy called Momo, if you want to go to the Jardin Majorelle, he'll drop you closer.

You can take a taxi from outside the hotel and for 200-300 dh the taxi driver will take you around for a morning or afternoon (or even a day, if you're a good negotiator) and you can go to all the tourist sites - be warned they will take you to places where they get commission from your purchases, so either go with it and buy from their friends or when in the souks just go off and buy your own stuff.

Brief guide to haggling: Ask for price, go in with first offer of around a third, go up slightly and refuse any higher prices (they say 300, you say 100, they say 200, you stick at 120), if they say no, turn around and walk away, guaranteed they will call you back and accept your final price, if they try and put it up again, walk away.

Excursions: Quad-biking, buggy driving or camel riding; I recommend the Quad-biking, it was exhilarating and great fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms have charm, higher numbers are further from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    486
    195
    92
    49
See reviews for
574
343
36
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merelbeke, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are looking for a citytrip Marrakech experience with the advantage of complete relaxation I would certainly recommend this hotel.
Very good service, friendly staff en great food.
Extra plus: free transportation from the hotel to Marrakech serveral times a day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When looking for a place to relax for a few days as a single woman, one of my options was this Club Eldorador. Not having travelled alone for a long while, my only real fear was that I would be hassled into participating in the numerous Club activities; the other potential hassle was solved by having my wedding ring on. All personnel (waiters&cleaning) were extremely friendly, the animators were kindly inviting, but without forcing anyone to join in. The place was even better than indicated by the photos, impeccably clean, and this remained the case when I saw the hotel move from low to high season mode when Toussaints schoolholidays had kicked in during my stay. Also, the efficiency in the restaurant as numerous tables were being occupied by ever changing guests, was an illustration that this place was well-managed. On this scale, the most challenging thing may be to obtain cosiness. There again, they passed the test. The lobby is large and cosy at the same time, but there are numerous other really nice places (lots of cushions! lots of light!) to sit around, if you just want to read a book or watch some activities from a distance. If you’re alone longing for some quiet time or with kids who want some action, this is definitely the place. I was used to ClubMed as a kid (when ClubMed was still very down to earth) and this resembles it, with the added authenticity of being real Morrocan (as opposed to one ClubMed which had the arrogance to have a time zone of their own within the Club, different of the town nearby; maybe they stopped doing that, but that made me stop going altogether). The Morrocean authenticity was aided by the fete du sacrifice (aka fete du mouton), which translated into beautiful 1001night like decorations everywhere, Berber live music, belly dancers, and plenty of Morrocean families in festive attire staying at the hotel to enjoy it.
The only disadvantage of the hotel construction (stone floors) is that any departure or arrival during the night, even with the smoothest rolling material, will echo throughout the building, so light sleepers, take your earplugs; the other potential wake-up call for prayer at sunrise was actually quite damped from where I was. Rooms (and the bathrooms within) were very spacious by the way.
With the free shuttle (approx 30min to actually get downtown), there is definitely an advantage of being outside the Marrakech buzz. The tour de ville (at 190DH) organized by a tour operator within the hotel was OK, but predictably of the 5 places we visited on this tour, 2 were essentially shops (one for spices and herbs; another one with all requisites to re-enact Alladin back home). What was worse, is that the most eye catching architectural treasure –madrasa- was left out; apparently it is part of another tour, so don’t make my mistake, and ask for the specific content of the tour you are taking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a wonderfull vacation. The resort is very good (meals excellent, wines good, brand soda's (so no fake coke's and sprite etc) friendly helpfull staff. We did not have to pay roomtaxes (I think seeing the reviews before it depends on your travel organization. Every hour you could do another activity/sports (zumba classes, trapeze, mountainbiking, arab cooking class etc). On the day of check out you can freely use the facilities including drinks and meals untill you leave. You don't have to wear an all inclusive bracelet thank god. But this resort is excellent for French and Dutch speaking people. The animation is in French and Dutch (Dutch people have their only animation program which was very good). So if you don't speak French there is not much animation (ofcourse sports you can always do). I would also recommend using the Hamman in Marrakech instead of the hotel which costs ofcourse much more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Welcoming and relaxing hotel. All inclusive , with good choice of food and drink. Rooms a good size and service was excellent.. We booked excursions through the hotel, and these proved to be good value and enjoyable. The free shuttle bus from the hotel to marrakech, was useful although the driver did attempt to foist a guide on us on arrival in town. Marracech was an interesting place, mainly as an example of continuos harassment to buy tat, but worth a visit never the less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent seven nights at this hotel and could have stayed longer. We experienced no language problems, as all the staff that we came in contact with could speak English, in fact the Manager walked around the grounds each day asking all his guests whether everything was o.k. The food was of a good quality always with different dishes and the buffet area was kept immaculately clean. The wine was very acceptable and the service was always good.
Our room was spotlessly clean and everything worked well. We enjoyed eating our meals outside especially in the evening as it was very romantic and you could sit there all evening without being disturbed.

Room Tip: We had room 1114 which we had no problems with and it was a short walk from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a French-speaking smoker-friendly resort of perhaps 20 years old, set about 10km from Marrakech town centre.

Some positives:
- 2 good sized pools. One that is for adults only and the other that is open to all (with a small kids pool adjacent). Both have a bar for drinks very close by
- the pool areas were hosed down daily & staff walked around regularly to collect glasses
- you are entitled to a free lunch on the day of check-in or out
- ample supply of free bottled water

Negatives:
- service at the outside tables in the buffet is terrible (but marginally better inside). Dirty tables don't get cleaned for some time so you just have to stack everything up until finally it is cleared or you clear it yourself (often simpler). Water & wine will come eventually (but patience is needed - we were at the end of our main course one evening before either arrived)
- the table linen is grim. It gets a flick with the hand or is turned over. Some have stains that are simply engrained, others are just dirtied with the debris from earlier use. They need desperately to give up using filthy linen and switch to paper or buy more cloths & get a decent launderer
- same applies to towels & bed linen. Old stains & the smell of who-knows-what are common place. One day we got some that looked fairly clean but it was the exception. The pillows were stained and well passed their best too
- we reported the broken shower bracket on day 2 but it was never fixed. You could hold the shower head or do a balancing act on the remnants of the old bracket
- the fridge in the room wasn't working
- if it's been a few years since you did French at school, brush up before you go! There are one or two staff who speak English, but they are few and far between. They are proud French speakers!

Neutral:
- the food was clean but very middle-of-the-road and repetitive. Pasta at lunch became cream coated baked pasta at dinner. The deserts were almost identical daily. The fruit offering at breakfast was surprisingly bad – it was roughly chopped oranges every day
- hold your breath (literally) if you want a smoke-free location. The Argine bar next to reception, the indoor buffet and reception itself are non smoking but elsewhere they puff away constantly
- shame the free wifi is only in reception, it would be great to have it in any of the bars or poolside as others now do. The wifi is easy to connect to, but the internet is variable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldorador Club Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorador Club Palmeraie

Address: Commune Rurale Al Ouidane, Prefecture Syba | BP 3759 Amerchich, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#177 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basically, it is a beautiful 11 hectares gardens resort that is located within the Palm Grooves area called "La Palmeraie" only 20 minutes on a free shuttle bus from the Medina / Jamaa Fna square and Town center. Its an All-inclusive based accommodation, it also has two gorgeous a la carte restaurants, Italian & Moroccan in the All-inc concept. Flying art trapeze all year long for All age: A very unique activity here in Marrakech. Baby Eldo for babies up to 2 yrs old, and Mini Eldo for kidz from 4yrs old up to 12, a studio ado's only for kidz from 13 up to 17 yrs old. Conference rooms are available for any type of events, Three pools, one annimated, a chillout one, and kidz pool. A Night-Club to loose your head out. A smoke free Resort. Basically, it is the place to be this summer with the kidz. Simply Check us on clubpalmeraie,com to find out more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Eldorador Club Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorador Club Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Hotel Eldorador Palmeraie
Eldorador Palmeraie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorador Club Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.