We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace to your Saves list
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not 5 star Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

How on earth did this Hotel attain 5 stars? Threadbare rugs, stained carpets, cheap 60s furniture. At £1200 for 3 nights I feel robbed.
There are so many great places to stay at this level but this one was misleading.
The pool area is insufficient for the amount of guests - thus feels cramped. The main entrance lobby has been neglected and is scruffy, I'm trying really hard to find something good to say but can't !!
So disappointed. Won't ever go back. Stay at The Sultana!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    77
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
170
15
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel has everything you need if you are looking for calm, refinement and well being. The food is amazing, the spa is resourceful, the pool area is very quiet with a lot of green and only the birds to hear.

Service is good: if you need anything, just ask.

Room is comfortable and clean with a beautiful and spacious bathroom.

For people who love art the hotel is a gallery itself with numerous moroccan paintings and sculptures.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent venue, big green space with swimming pools, great food and villas. Staff was very helpful, private swimming pool inside villa is remarkable. Nice decoration and totally calm. It is great for honeymoon or romantic event.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Flew out on the Saturday for three nights, airport very busy compared to a Friday, will not make that mistake again. Flight good only just over 3 hours, landed around 5.00pm, car waiting to take us to the hotel. Arrived at the hotel, good welcome and offered Moroccan Tea seated in reception. Met the concierge and booked a few things. Room good, very clean and comfortable bed, the dressing room was small, but a nice open terrace on two sides one overlooking the pool. The air conditioning is a must. A lot of pigeon mess on the terrace – that is a problem, lots of trees and a lot of birds all very nice but comes with a price - needs to be washed down each day but was not. Pool bar has a nice area to sit with shade, snack lunch ok, food service is slow –possibly the kitchen, but go to the bar for drinks to speed things up. The main bar is good for sundown and later drinks, sat outside - watch out for the pigeons sitting on the balconies. The bar staff are very good.
Cour De Lions food very good, staff very good – ate there twice. Casino Brassiere - again the food and staff were very good. Private tour arranged by the concierge very good, did Marrakech then up into the Atlas Mountains, four to five hours, English speaking driver again very good. French language would be an advantage, but we got by and met a lot of very friendly French speaking people – what a breath of fresh air and so different to France.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your Es Saadi Palace Stay experience with the travellers community.
I understand the problem with the Pigeons ... even though we are cleaning at least daily, it is a problem, probably this is also a consequence of our huge and unique Park downtown. We are trying some eco-friendly solutions, at the moments falcons once a week.
All details have been reported the related Heads of Departments for action.

Kind regards and thanks for having stayed with us,

Daniel Penet
General Manager - Es Saadi Palace & Villas - Marrakech

PS : agree with you, a much different (and better ?) place compared to France ... and I am french so you can trust me ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our family of 6 stayed here for 5 nights from the 3rd of May. We were very fortunate to be upgraded on arrival to 2 connecting Ksars. What an experience! Each one set over 2 floors so close to the fabulous pool and with butler service - it certainly made our holiday unforgettable. After exploring the old city and the bustling Souks it was sheer heaven to return to the tranquil Es Saadi. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and their recommendations for eating out were most welcome, even arranging taxis for us.

I cannot recommend thisbeautiful hotel enough. If you're looking for a luxury retreat in a truly magical country then this is the place,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good afternoon Carol W,

So happy that this upgrade for your family into our Ksar has been so appreciated. Many thanks for your beautiful post !

Kind regards from Marrakech

Daniel Penet
General Manager - Es Saadi Palace & Villas - Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here three nights in April. Flight was delayed but the pre-arranged car was waiting and we were soon in the hotel to be ushered straight into the dining room. Room was at the front but quiet. Food in the restaurant was waiter service, good choice of menu (with a vegetarian option each day) and plentiful. We also had lunch one day at the pool bar - again a good light meal. Nothing was too much trouble in this hotel and it well located close to the horse drawn carriages and the open top city tour bus about 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms may have the better view but face the sun. The choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay in April with us ... It is a little bit warmer now, but still enjoyable and nice days and evenings.

All the best from Marrakech,

Daniel Penet
General Manager Es Saadi Palace & Villas - Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I came with 3 girlfriends for a semi bachlorette/hen party. We had 2 adjoining rooms in the Palace (note the Hotel is a different building) and the rooms were truly impressive. great size, great bedding and beautiful styling. If you want the romantic or intense cultural experience of Marrakech this place probably isn't right, but if you want the feel and expectations of a large resort (with the styling of morocco) this place is for you.

We had dinner in the Cour De Lions restaurant which I would recommend fully as the interiors are stunning. I would also recommend a traditional Hamman treatment at the Palace SPA. very hot, but great to prep the skin for some sun.

The other thing nice about this hotel is that due to its size and international flair you are a bit more free to behave liberally and as you would at other European reports. We spent a good amount of time at the pool having cocktails (as we were predominately there for a girls weekend and to get some sun). Although the drinks service was a bit slow, the attitudes of the staff were helpful and positive.

Do learn a bit of french before travelling- we were able to communicate effectively with everyone, but with no french speaker in the group...this sometimes took a few efforts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, Directeur général at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Emma,

Thanks for having picked up the Es Saadi Palace for the ''semi-bachelorette'' celebration ! I am afraid I was travelling at your dates so I missed you, having ''Luxury & Fun'' around the pool as the tone of your comment is happy, easy going and refreshing :-)
We are delivering english lessons for free to our staff ... It has just started, and there are more and more Moroccans who can speak some little english. With the development of flights between UK and Marrakech, it will happen ... so should be easier soon.

Please come back to check ... If I am around, will be happy to support.
Sincerely Yours,

Daniel
General Manager - Es Saadi Palace & Villas - Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Palace, member of Prefered Hotels & Resorts, is exclusively composed of suites, from 70 to 210 m², decorated in Moroccan or contemporary style. Top-level services are provided by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge.Full access to resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing, swimming-pool of 2400m² (including 300m² heated).Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Palace Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.