We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a resort on its own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace

Save Saved
You added Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Ibrahim El Mazini | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More like a resort on its own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Es Saadi Palace is a beautiful facility. They have an outdoor swimming pool, indoor heated swimming pool, "Oriental Thermae" which has dry, steam, aromatherapy sauna rooms and these all can be used free of charge. They also have a Moroccan person playing a guitar of some sort and serve mint tea by the musician all day long. The spa was a bit expensive for us so we didn't use it but it looks beautiful and I'm sure you would have a wonderful time if you want to be pampered. Also, please eat at their restaurant, though very pricey in Morocco (spent about 7000 MAD, about $100) for two dishes for dinner but SO worth it. Have their lamb chop. Hope they never change their chef. It was seriously the best lamb chop I had anywhere in the world! My only "complaint" is that they don't serve free breakfast at the Palace but if you walk 3 blocks, there's a restaurant that serves food all day long at a fairly reasonable price. The Palace is about 15 min walking distance from the Medina and about 20 min walking distance from Majorelle Garden. If you mention that you want to go here from train station, they will charge 100 MAD for what really should cost 10 MAD for a 5 min ride so beware!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    67
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
78
151
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

No transport to meet us at the airport - not a very good start! We did eventually make contact with the hotel to come and meet us - they were "desole" and very apologetic, which was nice, but we still had a two hour wait while our room was made ready! When we finally got into it, however, it was gorgeous. View over the pool and lovely gardens just sensational. As was breakfast the following morning - but it was cleared away much before time and service was surly to say the least. The concierges - both of them - were not particularly helpful either and we did not manage to book any of the trips we had hoped for. Final disappointment was that our bill included items we had not had, or signed for, and when we pointed this out the reaction was hostile to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sally, G,

Thanks for sharing your experience with the travellers community.
I am really sorry to read that the free Palace private car and driver missed you at the airport. This is extremely rare, but should never happen.

Breakfast is served to 10H30 in the Lagon & Jardin on the week days, and 11h00 on the week-ends. Service should be available to the last minute and I will raise your experience to the Food & Beverage Director to make sure that this is what we apply.
I also take seriously that you had items on your invoice that was not signed so I assume it was not charged, and staff has no reason to be hostile about this.

I do not know about what specific trips you were hoping, it may have been reasons whyit was not available to our Concierge as their goal is to provide you what you are expecting as far as it is possible.

I am happy to read about the positive overall impression, particularly the garden and the pool in the heart of the golden triangle of Marrakech. We will make sure your next visit will go with almost perfect service;

Sincerely,

Daniel Penet
General Manager Es Saadi Palace & Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in the Palace for four nights. The hotel and suites are traditional and very spacious with a balcony and table and chairs. The bathroom is gorgeous, slippers, dressing gown, toiletries and hairdryer (in the drawer) provided. Housekeeping did a great job, cleaned in the mornings and changed towels and turned down sheets in the evening. The bed is extremely comfortable with extra soft pillows but we discovered a pillow menu on our last day! All the staff are friendly and helpful and will provide whatever you need; they mostly don't look for tips but are very happy to accept them if offered. The hotel is ideally situated as it's a 10-15 min walk to the square and is close to the main road but the noise didn't bother us or disturb our sleep. The grounds are vast, beautiful and well tended. Pools are lovely surrounded by sunbeds with mattresses and the pool attendant will bring towels - 'baskets' with a canopy, mattress and cushions provide extra comfort and privacy . Lunch time food is good, big portions but pricey. We only had one issue during our stay in that we had no hot water on our second evening. I felt this was not dealt with correctly as once I had reported it there was an element of surprise and was told reception would get back to me. After 30 mins, no call so I inquired again and was told it was the whole palace yet other people were going out all dressed up for dinner. I would expect a 5* hotel to supply hot water and certainly offer an apology for the inconvenience particularly as I had explained we had dinner reservations but the apology never came neither did an offer to use another room. We were offered the spa but I didn't feel having a shower and getting ready in a room with strangers was appropriate. As the hotel was not full I found this disappointing but it didn't spoil our stay. We settled for a cold shower in our room, cancelled our reservation and ate locally at La Table du Marche (5 min walk from hotel) again which is very good and well worth a visit. On the whole we had a very pleasant stay at the Es Saadi Palace and apart from the water, everything else was wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are said to have a pool view but over the restaurant would provide the fullest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Palace offers large rooms complete with sectional couches, small dining table, desk, large comfortable bed and a quaint balcony with lounges. The bathroom was wonderful as the large soaker tub was lovely. I have to say, I just loved the long over-sized robe too! The service was outstanding. All staff were accommodating and eager to ensure your stay was without issue. The food was excellent and the choice of items on the menu sufficient. My favourite was the spa. The treatments and treatment rooms were better than most I've ever had or been in. The facilities, atmosphere and products were first rate along with the technicians. I loved the room of beds as a waiting area in between treatments. Gorgeous gardens. Location was excellent even with the busy road running behind - it is in the middle of the city after all. Would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your ''relaxing and peaceful'' review !
Please come back in a second, we will pamper you in Marrakech ...

Yours

Daniel Penet
General Manager Es Saadi Palace & Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

plusses: fantastic garden, lovely suites with nice Maroccan design, swimming pool stunning, quiet, polite staff, beautiful fitness, excellent spa, free wifi, nice restaurant at the pool, friendly staff, very clean, good advice for trips

room for improvement: overall maintenance, bar rather outdated, billiard not up to standard, tennis court needs overhaul, staff requires more service training, restaurants not 5 star

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel in April. We could not fault it for value - the food, service and facilities were excellent. The fact that it was in such fantastic surroundings - acres of gardens filled with roses leading to the Palace Hotel in which we were made so welcome - both for dinner and drinks if we chose to made the deal even better. The convenience of being able to get to the centre so quickly was an added bonus. Thank you Es Saadi Gardens for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool which was delightful - understand the rooms higher up overlooked the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Es Saadi is rather tired, perhaps because we visited when it was a bit empty. However, I think this just adds to its charm. The staff are phenomenally helpful and friendly, I can't praise them enough. They're always ready with a "bonjour" or an "as-alymalykum" whenever they see you, and are generally brilliant. The restaurants aren't great, although the one by the pool is nice for lunch. I'd recommend going to Extrablatt (just a 5 minute walk away) for dinner instead, or perhaps into the Medina. Definitely stay for the breakfast though; just make sure the birds don't drink your orange juice when you're not looking! All in all, very nice, especially if you get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and Atlas mountains. Oh and, like everywhere in Marrakech, bring earplugs: if you're a light sleeper you risk being woken by either the beautiful song of the birds or the equally beautiful call to prayer!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and Atlas mountain definitely the best, others probably much too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace

Address: Rue Ibrahim El Mazini | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Palace, member of Prefered Hotels & Resorts, is exclusively composed of suites, from 70 to 210 m², decorated in Moroccan or contemporary style. Top-level services are provided by a “golden keys” Chief Concierge.Full access to resort activities: Bars and Restaurants, Spas, Morrocan Diner-Show, Casino de Marrakech, Night Clubbing, swimming-pool of 2400m² (including 300m² heated).Located in the heart of Marrakech, in the “Hivernage” residential area, and surrounded by 20 acres of beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Saadi Palace Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.