We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable stay in the Medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar EL Grably

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar EL Grably to your Saves list
Riad Dar EL Grably
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Derb El Arsa Riad Zitoun Jdid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #528 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Etterbeek, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable stay in the Medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently enjoyed a long weekend at the El Grably. The riad is extremely well located in a quiet corner of the Medina: easily accessible to the Palais Bahia and Mellah neighborhoods, as well as to the central Jemaa el Fna Square, but a few blocks off the main drag, ensuring a calm and relaxing stay.

The quality of the property is quite good. The building is impeccably clean, the rooms fresh and bedding comfortable, and common areas -- ranging from terraces for sunbathing, a swim in the cool courtyard pool, a massage chair, a quiet lounge with television, and rooftop jacuzzi -- provide for a number of choices for guests to relax. The daily breakfast is substantial and available on command on any of the riad's balconies, terraces, and lounge areas.

The staff and level of service is unparalleled. The owner, Françoise, is a whiz at providing information about local visits, restaurant tips, transportation, and day trips to nearby towns. Her staff is extremely kind and good natured, which was a big help; their attention to detail was quite impressive.

The riad is certainly on the upper end in terms of quality and price, so budget travellers may find their stay a bit costly -- even more so after added costs such as airport transfers, bar service, taxes, and currency conversion are factored in. However, we found the level of service and quality of the property to be worth it.

My only negative reactions were rather minor. The quality of the internet is not good -- even in areas right by the transponders, it was very slow compared to the hotel we stayed in our first night in the city. Further, although the riad is sufficiently large, were it to have been fully booked during our stay, we might have found the common spaces a bit cramped. This might be a detractor if you plan to visit during peak seasons, but was not a problem for us.

Many thanks to Françoise, her beautiful dog Ewok, and gracious staff for a pleasant and restful stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Françoise was very helpful at providing tips on which room would best meet our needs, so I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

While others may have had difficulties finding the riad, we had booked ahead to arrange a transfer directly from the airport. This meant we were lead straight to the front door, and then immediately given maps and an orientation of Marrakesh, which was a huge help - it's actually very easy to get to this riad.

Located within 10 minutes walk north of the main Jamaa El Fna square, and a further 5 minutes further north into the maze-like Souks, this is a well located Riad for exploring the medina (old town) area. It is also very close to the Jewish spice market area, which we found to be better priced than the more tourist-targeted Souks, and within 5 minutes walk of the Bahia Palace, Dar Si Siad and Tiskiwin museum/attractions.

Despite being deep in the Medina area, it was very calm and quiet behind the walls of the riad. Light sleepers shouldn't worry about the noise and hustle & bustle of the area disrupting their sleep - or even their late-morning lie-ins!


We had Bab Ighli suite, which was very large and had a king bed with space for a third person on another bed in the "lounge" area of the suite. The decor is very tasteful, and the rooms are cleaned/freshened up every day, regardless of when you eventually leave!

We had a peek into several of the other rooms, and they all looked well appointed and very comfortable.

There is an indoor heated pool, and jaccuzzi on the roof top, though we didn't use either of these facilities.

The price is very reasonable and the team there do everything to help make sure the stay is special. The team at the Riad, and especially Simo, are fantasic.

They know the area very well, proving to be great guides and they provided many recommendations for places to visit, eat, and get better bargains. The team at the riad would also help us when we needed a scooter ride to the ATM/pharmacy/late night food - talk about going above and beyond!

When we return to Marrakech, I have no doubt we will stay at Riad Dar El Grably again.

Room Tip: Bab Ighli was a spacious room, though WiFi signal was a bit weaker up on the second floor. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoise r, Owner at Riad Dar EL Grably, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Riad ElGrably Marrakech for your stay in Morocco. It has been a pleasure having you with us.

Our goal is to constantly improve the quality of our facilities and service, therefore, I appreciate your taking some time to give us your feedback.

I’d like to thank you for your support and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Riad ElGrably Marrakech in a near future.

Sincerely,
Françoise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is run by a very pleasant French lady. Her staff are very pleasant. The decor is all very tasteful, and the location is superb - on a quiet alleyway but only 5 mins walk from the main square. I wish I had stayed longer!

Room Tip: There's one room on the ground floor right next to the dining area. Don't choose that one if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The riad is located on a quiet street south of the main square. The first time, finding the riad is difficult, welcome to Marrakech. All riads are difficult to find the first time.

I liked the location of the riad essentially in between the main souks and square to the north and the palaces, mellah and tombs to the south.

The riad is very attractive, with mixed contemporary European/Moroccan design theme. The staff was incredibly helpful, with good recommendations as well as one of the most helpful orientation presentations I have seen in Marrakech. The map we were given was so helpful as well as the personal route recommendations.

Breakfast on the roof top terrace was fantastic. The Jacuzzi on the roof was also a pleasant treat considering the winter visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, España
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this Riad, excellent location, top quality service, very confortable, people in the raid were very kind, is always a pleasure to arrive to the riad after walking outside at +46 degrees C and go to the swimming pool. And in the evening head to the jacuzzi and just relax by listening the city. We were traveling with my two kids and we have a very good memories from this trip. Highly recommendable to everybody, also I forgot to mentioned the price was also very reasonable.

Room Tip: There is only 7 rooms so do the reservations ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N6 London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Francoise and her team for all their help during our last few days in Morrocco. The riad is lovely and definitely a good place to rest after hours on the busy streets of Marrakech. The team was very attentive and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N6 London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Francoise and her team for all their help during our last few days in Morrocco. The riad is lovely and definitely a good place to rest after hours on the busy streets of Marrakech. The team was very attentive and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar EL Grably? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar EL Grably

Address: 8 Derb El Arsa Riad Zitoun Jdid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar EL Grably 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar EL Grably reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Grably Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar EL Grably, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.