We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and gastronomic delights above the infecious madness that is Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar EL Grably

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar EL Grably to your Saves list
Riad Dar EL Grably
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Derb El Arsa Riad Zitoun Jdid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #542 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Aveyron
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and gastronomic delights above the infecious madness that is Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Last visited four years ago and thought it excellent. Now it's even better. Under the caring management of Francoise, nothing is too much. This time the food is even more unforgetable and the service just as impeccable.
Throw in a new rooftop spa and it's a little bit of paradise on earth.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just returned from a group holiday and we had an amazing time! It's about a 10 min walk to the square, but it can take longer with browsing and dodging the motor bikes!
The staff were really friendly and I can recommend eating at the Riad one evening if you fancy a break from street food.
It's an oasis of calm from the madness outside and we were really comfy.... Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The suite is lovely, but to get its up on the top floor the stairs are quite steep so may not be ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Most of the B&Bs of Marrakech are behind the doors of the narrow streets. This place is one of them. Make sure you travel light and dont expect the arranged drive to drive you to the door. The owner Francoise may arrange a drive from the airport if you ask her. The rooms are all beautiful. The accessories in the bathroom are also sold in that hotel. The breakfast was all sweet. It was strange not to have olives on the table as we Turkish people do and no cheese :( But it was typical for Morrocco. Francoise is very helpful, I remember she giving the key to the front door, and she can give you a ride if she is going shopping. The owner makes the place good. Be ready to have cats hair on the towels as they sleep on them at the balcony. There is a bathtub at the top, make sure you use it.

Room Tip: The one near the bathtub! Make sure you spend some time at the top balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Very friendly and helpful Riad owner Francoise who provided a map of the old town for us when we arrived, and marked on it places to go and useful tips. Riad itself is beautiful and charming: with a fantastic roof terrace where we had our breakfast each day. Warning for the very steep stairs though :) Our room was great with a beautiful bathroom. Location was quiet, hidden in in some back alleys, but only a few minutes away from the main square once you got your bearings. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My sister and I were very glad we had arranged with Francoise beforehand the transfer from the airport, as it was our first time in Morocco. The driver was very helpful and the car was modern and comfortable. The Riad is absolutely charming, and we were welcomed by Francoise and Simon, who gave us mint tea and a thorough induction into the Riad itself, the surroundings (map provided) and the potential tours we could take. Our room was small but comfortable, with a nice, tiled bathroom. Only two things to point out. There was no wardrobe or drawers, just a rail for clothes, with three coat hangers! However, we quickly arranged for more. There was a large shelf between the bedroom and bathroom, where we put the rest of our clothing. The aircon was quiet and efficient. We were on the second floor and the second set of stairs was very steep and irregular. So if you are infirm, or have dodgy joints, do ask for a room on the first floor. (The advantage of this is that we have come back with much strengthened thigh muscles!!). Just one flight up from our room was the charming roof terrace, from which you have an almost 360 degree view of the storks and satellite dishes of Marrakech. One side is blocked by a rather unsightly, unfinished brick wall, but this was not a problem for us. Unfortunately, the Atlas mountains were largely obscured by cloud, but we made up for that by doing a fantastic day trip to the Ourika falls, in the High Atlas. This was amazing, and was organised by Francoise for €80 for the day. We shared the car with our two new Scottish friends and had an amazing time. We ate our breakfast on the terrace nearly every day. Fresh fruit salad, home-made yoghurt, a selection of three breads, plus honey and jams. And a large flask of real coffee. Occasionally we had cheese or meat as well. Excellent.
The pool was heated to the perfect temperature for us and was just the ticket after a hectic shopping expedition to the souk. The Jacuzzi was lovely, too, although the controls were a tad confusing and, on one occasion, we failed to get it to an acceptably warm temperature.
The walk to Djemaa el Fna square was about 10-15 minutes (don’t believe them when they say it’s 5!). Although the Riad is in a quiet street, at no time did we (2 ladies) feel threatened or unsafe. We visited the Souk, but found it rather claustrophobic in the sense we were hassled all the time and couldn’t just walk through browsing. We ended up not buying anything in the souk, but found many shops very near the Riad, with excellent merchandise and no-pressure attitude from the owners.
Having read the guidebooks, we went prepared with long-sleeved kaftans and long skirts/trousers, but were surprised to see so many other tourists in strappy tops and short shorts. We felt comfortable as long as our knees and shoulders were covered.
We would thoroughly recommend the Riad dar el Grably for its location, very helpful personnel, charm and breakfasts. We didn’t have an evening meal there, but the menus looked appetising. We had two very uninspiring meals whilst in Marrakech – one at the Cafe de France and also on the food stalls in the main square, so wish we had eaten at the Riad. We had a freshly squeezed orange juice at Stall No. 49 on the square. An exceptionally pleasant young man served us and invited me onto his stall to see how it was done.
A final touch was that, on our day of departure, Francoise kindly allowed us to stay in our room, as our flight was not until the late afternoon, as she didn’t have any arriving guests that day. That was greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and the stairs were very steep and irregular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a great 1001 night riad with a good location and great facilities like a nice swimming pool, jacuzzi, the possibility for hamam or massagetreatments and a delicious breakfast. But most of all the service is perfect. We arrived early in the morning and immediately get a breakfast from the house and a good description of Marrakech. On the last day i had food poisoning and the owner and staff did everything to help us, we could stay longer in our room and they get medicin on Sunday for me, very nice. I'll everybody recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

could not fault riad dar el grably (except maybe the price of soft drinks)
transfers both ways on time and polite drivers.
riad owner friendly and helpful with giving map and details.
room very clean and aircon, nicely decorated and peaceful.
pool in courtyard a very welcome relief from the 40 degree heat.
roof terrace with fab views-took breakfast there every morning and caught afew rays on the sun loungers. had evening meal one night on terrace- great food and wine and what a location for a private dinner!
great place to escape and chill on our 10th anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar EL Grably? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar EL Grably

Address: 8 Derb El Arsa Riad Zitoun Jdid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar EL Grably 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar EL Grably reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Grably Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar EL Grably, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.